Birmingham Coventry Hill Reviews

Rye Hill, Allesley, Coventry, West Midlands, CV5 9PH

Book The Britannia Coventry Hill

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!


(3 star hotel)
 
£59.00*
room-only
£118.00*
including 8 days parking
7 miles
from the airport
7/10
customer rating

Customer feedback

Our customers rated Coventry Hill, on average, 7/10 (182 reviews).

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 182

The hotel was cheap to stay in and leave the car.The staff were not great.To ring for a taxi was a stupid system,ended up ringing on my mobile.The room was okay but the bar area was awful.The outside of the hotel and the car park need a major over haul.Would not stay there again

Mr Ellis, 05 Jun 2019

Coventry Hill
2 out of 5

Clean friendly staff and comfortable room.

Ms Bayer, 24 May 2019

Coventry Hill
5 out of 5

Hotel was OK for a night just so we was near the airport. Needs upgrading but we didn't really care as not there long enough too care!

Ms Moss-Gotheridge, 12 Feb 2019

Coventry Hill
4 out of 5

I have made a complaint about the hotel and I'm awaiting on a response.

Miss Rees, 31 Oct 2018

Coventry Hill
2 out of 5

The Coverntry hotel is a scruffy place, we would not sty there again.

Mr Warburton, 07 Oct 2018

Coventry Hill
5 out of 5

Hotel although clean was very old & dated. Breakfast was not good at all we did not like anything very cheap products, We were not happy to leave our car in one of the car parks as it did not look very secure. So we moved it nearer the hotel under a light were it was I’m happy to stay ok when we collected it.

Mr Hinson, 30 Sep 2018

Coventry Hill
3 out of 5

Always book my holiday extras with "holiday extras",

Mr Williams, 24 Sep 2018

Coventry Hill
4 out of 5

Will be staying at Coventry Hill again. Cost an extra £50 to get to airport and back.

Mr Stone, 22 Sep 2018

Coventry Hill
2 out of 5

Hotel in need of refurbishment and over priced

Mrs Goddard, 16 Sep 2018

Coventry Hill
4 out of 5

We booked 1 night stay and leave the car for following 14 nights, all simple to book online. On arrival at hotel we were not enthused by the dated & drab 70’s concrete look of the hotel exterior but once we drove around the car park we were even more dismayed to see it was full of smashed glass and not a CCTV camera or sign of any security anywhere. We did check in which was fine & inside of hotel although very dated appeared clean & pleasant and staff polite. The room was very basic but adequate for what we had paid however we did not stay the night as we really had hoped for a better start to our family holiday in nicer surroundings, we subsequently vacated the room and stayed across the road in superior Best Western hotel. We did then return the car to park for our holiday & upon entering the car park were horrified to find newly smashed glass, crow bar & hammer strewn across the car park! With a plane to catch we had no option but to ‘shoehorn’ our car into, the only space we could find, as near to the hotel entrance as possible in the vain hope that we may be lucky enough to come back and find our car still waiting for us! Please note there are approximately 8 car spaces immediately out front of hotel (I guess employees use these?!) and the main car park is up a separate ramp and totally void of anyone/anything overlooking hence why cars are easily vandalised or stolen!! We actually informed receptionist of glass/hammer/crowbar in the car park & they were totally unaware and called the police. We had a dread the whole 2 weeks away of what may await us upon our return...either vandalised car or no car at all but felt very fortunate and relieved when we found our car intact upon our return, I do feel that this was only due to the fact we managed to get the solitary space in front of the hotel entrance. Overall this hotel is not fit t leave your car securely in and should not be advertised as such. I have used holiday extras many times before but will definitely explore other options next year.

Mrs Mcelholm, 08 Sep 2018

Coventry Hill
1 out of 5

The parking aspect was fine. The hotel was horrific. The room was dirty, carpets thread bare, beds hard, the bathroom tiles were cracked and stained and the air vent was filthy and full of dust. The receptionist in the evening was rude and un interested and couldn't give us the local knowledge we required. The wifi and breakfast charges were extortionate. Will never stay there again.

Miss Fitch, 12 Jul 2018

Coventry Hill
1 out of 5

Staff all very helpful and friendly comfortable nights sleep.The hotel is located not to far from the airport, however it is very tired and could do with a revamp that said it did what we wanted it to do and would use it again.

Mrs Fogg, 16 Jun 2018

Coventry Hill
4 out of 5

Good location, nice and clean very reasonably priced

Mrs Bowen, 04 Jun 2018

Coventry Hill
5 out of 5

Coventry Hill Hotel very scruffy & we were told to leave the car near reception as some left there the week before had been broken in to!!

Mr Mcclements, 26 May 2018

Coventry Hill
1 out of 5

Booked before and on return from holiday, on first night transferred to another hotel as overbooked( we were happy with this as upgraded). On return the hotel had a different date booked but accommodated us, this hotel is looking tired, rooms are adequate for overnight, comfortable bed, clean but very small TV. Staff cheerful and helpful

Mrs Corbett, 14 May 2018

Coventry Hill
4 out of 5

yes thank you

Mr Robinson, 22 Mar 2018

Coventry Hill
5 out of 5

Hotel room clean and tidy comfortable bed wished we had a bar meal looked better than the carvery

Mr Martin, 20 Mar 2018

Coventry Hill
4 out of 5

Hotel was out the best could do with some serious updating and staff not helpful

Mrs Andrew, 01 Feb 2018

Coventry Hill
4 out of 5

Went to hotel it got cancelled and had to ring to sort it out also when got back off hols had to pay another £7 cos car was book in until the 3rd dec instead of the 4thdec

Mr Kirkwood, 15 Dec 2017

Coventry Hill
2 out of 5

arrived and they had no booking for me or for two other couples I then paid another £69 for a rebook and that didnt appear on the system either. eventually found my first booking at £80. check in was 35 mins. I had stayed there before with a free transfer to the airport now its £25 each way. far too expensive poor receptionist was having a terrible time. she received no help from the back office. but she did cope really well with a system that was not working well.

Mrs Armstrong, 07 Dec 2017

Coventry Hill
2 out of 5

Place is a dump and we were overcharged for the transfer taxi

Mr Jones, 01 Dec 2017

Coventry Hill
1 out of 5

extremely basic hotel very rusty bath, badly ripped sofas in public areas.bedroom carpet very badly stained and dirty.. unable to check in nor leave luggage with reception/porter area to find somewhere for a coffee. reluctant to provide a coffee. No snack/sandwich facilities apart from a vending machine for crisps or chocolate. not helpful staff.

Ms Wilson, 22 Nov 2017

Coventry Hill
1 out of 5

The hotel wasn't very good,lift broken and alarm going off all night. The council used this hotel to house people before they found them proper accommodation so was very noisy and wasn't really somewhere that I wanted my kids as didn't seem very safe

Miss Wragg, 06 Nov 2017

Coventry Hill
2 out of 5

Had my car stolen from the car park, security was none existent and hotel couldn't care less I have emailed the hotel and had no response from them

Mr Barraclough, 05 Nov 2017

Coventry Hill
1 out of 5

Taxis from hotel to Airport £25 each way , would not use again because of this . Could do with a free shuttle or subsidised one at least

Mr Fox, 22 Oct 2017

Coventry Hill
2 out of 5

Hotel was great other than toilets in the bar/restaurant areas were downstairs, not great for disabled guests.

Mr Toop, 18 Oct 2017

Coventry Hill
4 out of 5

Everything was spot on from start to finish

Mr Stanger, 15 Oct 2017

Coventry Hill
5 out of 5

The hotel was a little bit difficult to find but once we got there the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a bit dated but was very clean and the food in the restaurant was excellent. My only complaint is that the cost of a taxi to the airport wasn't the £20 quoted but £26 each way.

Mrs Jones, 13 Oct 2017

Coventry Hill
5 out of 5

the staff, and meal were satisfactory and the organising of taxi but the double glassing was very poor. The hotel in next to a very busy road so it was not a good nights rest.

Mrs Fleming, 12 Oct 2017

Coventry Hill
3 out of 5

The staff were good, the hotel was very tired in need of a lot of doing up, I was surprised we had to book our own taxi other Britannia hotels we have stayed at did this for us, they also got our wake up call wrong.

Mr Smith, 11 Oct 2017

Coventry Hill
4 out of 5

The hotel could be beautiful, but it has been let down badly by the decor which is tired and very dated and there was a constant knocking from the radiator all night, the people who own this building should be ashamed of themselves, they have let down the staff who work there who are lovely and do the best they can with what they have to work with. I won't bother to raise a complaint i doubt the owners would bother to listen they are an utter disgrace and should not be allowed anywhere near the tourist industry.

Mr Bannard, 11 Oct 2017

Coventry Hill
1 out of 5

Pleasant stay.

Miss Johnson, 05 Oct 2017

Coventry Hill
5 out of 5

Hotel was clean & better than I expected after reading reviews. Parking worked well but we had to pay much more than the expected £20 for taxis, £25 on outward journey & £30 on our return journey from the airport

Mrs Thomas, 05 Oct 2017

Coventry Hill
4 out of 5

Hotel was fine but the cost for the taxi is £27 not £20 and has been £27 since according to the taxi drivers.

Mrs Ledger, 28 Sep 2017

Coventry Hill
3 out of 5

Hotel a bit tired but served its purpose. Carpark full of pot holes Saw that the hotel was overbooked so this would put me off booking again as people were redirected to a partner hotel. When you book places like this it's to make for an easier journey so to cause added inconvenience isn't great.

Mrs White, 27 Sep 2017

Coventry Hill
2 out of 5

I drove all the way from Swansea to Coventry, I arrived at the hotel at 9 pm with my 2 year old daughter, my fiancé and friends only to be told there was no space in the hotel. Even though I had hotel booking confirmation confirming I had paid £170 for 2 rooms. The Coventry hill hotel then sent us to a hotel in the city centre at 10pm which was very unpleasant with horrible rooms. Coventry city centre is no place to take a 2 year old at 10 pm. It was a very distressing experience and the staff were not helpful at all at the Coventry hill hotel.

Mr Almit, 27 Sep 2017

Coventry Hill
1 out of 5

It was the most dirty disgusting hotel I have visited.

Mrs Kingston, 15 Sep 2017

Coventry Hill
1 out of 5

Dirty rooms the bar didn't open till 5 the number they give for a taxi is expensive

Mr Phillips, 13 Sep 2017

Coventry Hill
1 out of 5

We paid for the carvery meal in the evening and it wasn't on and the food was a choice of 3 meals that were not up to scratch

Miss White, 08 Sep 2017

Coventry Hill
1 out of 5

Hotel was terrible, very very dirty, old, dampness, not looked after at all! Will never return! Absolutely disgraceful

Mr Reilly, 31 Jul 2017

Coventry Hill
1 out of 5

Hotel in need of a great deal of updating, very scruffy everywhere even carpark. Was worried car would be gone when we got back.

Mrs Cains, 19 Jul 2017

Coventry Hill
1 out of 5

Staff very helpful, but no buffet meal on but thay soon fead me, room was ok but outside needs a tiedy up.

Mr Brook, 09 Jul 2017

Coventry Hill
4 out of 5

Yes Hotel and staff very. Good.

Mr Dunnell, 30 Jun 2017

Coventry Hill
4 out of 5

Hotel is very dated. First room was dirty and TV didn't work. Second room was better. Taxi transfer was actually £29 each way, we were told it was £20

Miss Norman, 30 Jun 2017

Coventry Hill
1 out of 5

Hotel ok parking ok but£ for taxi in the morning and then£ back in the afternoon come On

Mr Fern, 22 Jun 2017

Coventry Hill
2 out of 5

Outside the hotel required the paths etc to be weeded because it gave a poor impression on our approach, but the hotel was clean and adequate. Staff were pleasant and helpful

Mr Salvidge, 18 Jun 2017

Coventry Hill
4 out of 5

A basic hotel but adequate for the night before you fly. Not far from the airport for easy transfer.

Mr Williams, 13 Jun 2017

Coventry Hill
4 out of 5

Room was damp, hotel desperately requires updating

Mr Weller, 13 Jun 2017

Coventry Hill
1 out of 5

Very good value for money staff friendly and helpful.

Mr King, 07 Jun 2017

Coventry Hill
4 out of 5

The hotel was adequate. The hotel could do with a refurbished, the staff were friendly and professional the only thing is that the hotel was a little out dated.

Mr Newman, 28 May 2017

Coventry Hill
3 out of 5

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 182

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 17-11-2019, valid as of 17-09-2019