Reviews of the Gatwick Cambridge Hotel

19 Bonehurst Road, Horley, Surrey, RH6 8PP

Book The Gatwick Cambridge

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 2591 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£61.00*
room-only
£61.00*
including 8 days parking
2 miles
from the airport
8.4/10
customer rating

Close to the top of our customers' lists

If you'd like a second, third, or even a fourth opinion to help you make your decision, then have a read of what Holiday Extras customers have thought about their stay at the Cambridge hotel at Gatwick airport.

Our customers rated , on average, 8/10 (910 reviews).

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 910

Hotel basic but ok for one night. Nothing really around, so would opt elsewhere next time. You also state pick up stop 8 on your instructions, after waiting 50 mins called hotel to ask where they were, should be stop 12, apparently have asked you to amend several times.

Mrs Brennan, 12 Jan 2019

Cambridge
3 out of 5

The whole experience was very easy and the hotel was excellent

Mr Murray, 06 Jan 2019

Cambridge
5 out of 5

Lovely over night stay. Transfer great

Mrs Lowe, 03 Jan 2019

Cambridge
4 out of 5

All went well. Staff good. Food good. Saves the hassle of getting up earlier and driving to another car park and then onto airport. Third time this year been at Hotel Cambridge.

Mr Squirrell, 24 Dec 2018

Cambridge
5 out of 5

Slightly above standard park and stay Gatwick parking. Would stay here again. Cheap Sainsburys for food and drink just down the road. Friendly welcome and prompt pick up and drop off for £6 in total each.

Mr Bowen, 19 Dec 2018

Cambridge
4 out of 5

Hotel with parking @ Cambridge Hotel was excellent value for money. Couldn't be faulted.

Mr Crawford, 14 Dec 2018

Cambridge
5 out of 5

The restaurant/bar didn’t seem appealing, but I intended to snack in room, bathe & sleep, so was fine. No lift to third landing but had little luggage not inconvenienced.

Mr Kent, 10 Dec 2018


5 out of 5

Cambridge hotel. No frills but perfectly good enough. Efficient drop off/pick up. Very good value.

Mrs Bird, 09 Dec 2018

Cambridge
5 out of 5

No, the hotel was so awful that we raised a complaint first through the hotel and then through holiday extras. We still haven’t had a response or partial refund.

Mrs Green, 04 Dec 2018

Cambridge
1 out of 5

Staff weren’t very friendly, carpark was a bit of a dump - did the job though and very reasonably priced.

Miss Haycraft, 04 Dec 2018


3 out of 5

The hotel was satisfactory and the staff where good , but on my return I called the hotel from my pick up point and had to wait 25 minutes in the rain , whilst the weather was not there fault the time the driver took was and he offered no apology , the return journey took only 9 minutes which made me more frustrated and the receptionist at the hotel didn’t really offer much simperfy although she did apologise , over all it was exactly what I ordered .

Mr Darby, 30 Nov 2018

Cambridge
4 out of 5

All went according to plan

Mr Mcgregor, 26 Nov 2018

Cambridge
5 out of 5

Phoned up Holiday extra and the lady could of not been more helpful if she tried found the Cambridge Hotel For us as we was flying out of London Gatwick to stay over night. The price was reasonable and included parking while we was away and breakfast we go to the hotel the lady receptionist offered this different rooms which was a lot better I could not do enough to help us transport to the airport was exceptional and on Arrival back phoned them up and was waiting ready for us to fetch the car will deafly use holiday extra again

Mr White, 24 Nov 2018

Cambridge
5 out of 5

All good thank you

Mr Spriggs, 22 Nov 2018

Cambridge
5 out of 5

Hotel as described, booking was easy online with all documentation sent through promptly. Staff at the hotel were helpful and friendly, good service in the restaurant

Mrs Stead, 20 Nov 2018

Cambridge
5 out of 5

Cannot complain. Room comfortable, transfers to and from very prompt. We will certainly use this service again

Miss Longman, 14 Nov 2018

Cambridge
5 out of 5

No real issues with both the accommodation and the breakfast which were both fine. The transfer from hotel to airport was very good and we feel that the hotel is ideal for our needs when we fly from Gatwick.

Mr Thow, 13 Nov 2018

Cambridge
5 out of 5

There were essentially two issues which should be improved. Firstly, in England, we do not expect someone who takes your case in order to show you to your room, to stand stubbornly and expect a tip! He didn't get one. Secondly we stayed in a room in the lodgings behind the main hotel building where the bed needs a new mattress. Otherwise everything was fine.

Mrs Rodrigues, 08 Nov 2018

Cambridge
4 out of 5

Everything was good as described. Hotel to airport transfer was smooth. Good value for money.

Mr Studley, 04 Nov 2018

Cambridge
5 out of 5

Hotel and room was as our expectations. Transportation was fine however due to a flight delay we collected our car in the early hours and told 'it's down the right hand side of hotel car park somewhere'carpark was poorly lit and eventualy found at the very rear. No lift cases had to be carried up a down from second floor .if you dont mind these thing it may be ok. However we would look for a different hotel first.

Mr Frost, 02 Nov 2018


4 out of 5

The hotel/parking package almost met our expectations, however some members of the hotel staff appeared uninterested (not rude) and unhelpful. The arrangements to secure a 'chitty' for the pre-paid breakfast seemed positively archaic.

Mr Watson, 02 Nov 2018


4 out of 5

Lovely hotel, much better than thd Acorn Hotel which we have stayed at a few times. Had a meal in the restaurant which was very good. The only negative was the bed in the room which was a standard double, which when you are used to a king size bed is a bit small, but for 1 night was ok as we must have had a family room as there was a bunk bed in the room too so my husband slept in the bottom bunk. We will definately use this hotel again.

Mrs Sawyer, 31 Oct 2018

Cambridge
4 out of 5

everything went to plan

Mr Martin, 29 Oct 2018

Cambridge
5 out of 5

Good hotel for price. Parking as described. Bar a bit bland and not welcoming. Staff friendly. Would stay again

Mr Hammond, 29 Oct 2018

Cambridge
4 out of 5

Location near to airport, good nights sleep, very nice room and clean, already booked again for March

Mrs Nunn, 28 Oct 2018


5 out of 5

Parking at the hotel was easy, room was good, Breakfast was fantastic

Mrs Durrant, 28 Oct 2018


5 out of 5

It was our 5th stay at the Cambridge hotel and we’ve never had any problems

Mrs Williamson, 27 Oct 2018

Cambridge
5 out of 5

The hotel can only be described as something like faulty towers. Most of the staff do not speak English let alone understand the language. The food is reasonable but no veggie option on the set menu so that was a chore trying to sort out food for my husband . The pick ups and drop off are haphazard so make sure you leave plenty of time to get to the airport . On arrival back in the Uk at 06:00am in the morning after a nine hour flight you are left waiting more than 1/2 for a pick up. You call the hotel when you are at the bus stop and struggle to understand what is being said. The first mini bus arrives and cannot fit your family in and the family that did go in had to put a child on there knee as it was overloaded . Needless to say I won’t be using this facility at any cost .

Mrs Greathead, 25 Oct 2018

Cambridge
2 out of 5

Everything went to plan

Mr Martin, 21 Oct 2018

Cambridge
5 out of 5

Hotel Very Good, Transport Very Good, It took over five minutes for my telephone call requesting pick up from Gatwick to be answered, I tried both numbers provided. The time was 15.25 Monday afternoon

Mr Asher, 18 Oct 2018

Cambridge
4 out of 5

Hotel was a bit 'faulty towers'. Very basic room. Boiling hot - had to sleep with the window open. Pick up took much longer than the 20 mins quoted

Miss Evans, 15 Oct 2018

Cambridge
2 out of 5

Parking space very poor. Too many cars packed in. Watched people have trouble getting out of spaces when collecting their cars. Not clear where to park when you arrive without blocking others in. Male staff not very polite.

Mrs Howard, 12 Oct 2018


3 out of 5

Had no problems but make the system able to book hotel before/parking and hotel stay after on one booking as an option so you don't have to make 2 bookings with different order no.

Mr Mcdermott, 10 Oct 2018

Cambridge
5 out of 5

Easy to find hotel very near Gatwick. Very comfortable and well provided rooms. Staff friendly and helpful. lovely restaurant and good meals. Shuttle to and from airport very quick (10 - 15 minutes) and cheap (£3 each way)

Mrs Davis, 08 Oct 2018

Cambridge
5 out of 5

hotel fine. Car OK but dirty on outside. Would be better if they were hosed down.

Ms Popplewell, 08 Oct 2018

Cambridge
4 out of 5

The transfer to and from the airport is very good. The staff were very helpful. We have stayed at the hotel once before and the breakfast had Impoved and we enjoyed it. The rooms are quaint but comfortable and clean. The only thing that marred our stay was that someone triggered the fire alarm by smoking in their room at 4.30am, but the staff responded quickly. We parked for two weeks and stayed in the hotel after our return and our car was ready and waiting close to our room the next morning.

Mr Garner, 06 Oct 2018

Cambridge
4 out of 5

Excellent service,nice room and the knowledge that the car was safe for the fortnight.transport to and from the airport very organised and on time.will certainly use holiday extras again.

Mr Clarke, 05 Oct 2018

Cambridge
5 out of 5

Having stayed at The Cambridge several times before, I know what to expect. The dining is a great experience with wonderful food. The accommadation is basic but comfortable. Staff are polite and caring.

Ms Robinson, 04 Oct 2018


4 out of 5

The hotel was much better than expected however the transfer back to collect our car at the end of the holiday took over 1/2 hour to arrive after informing them we were at the pick up point

Mrs Conisbee, 01 Oct 2018

Cambridge
4 out of 5

Yes, most things went well. Facilities were fine for a budget hotel for an overnight stay, except the heating could have been switched on, as the rooms were ~17 deg C. The 2 reception staff seemed overwhelmed and stressed at the time of check-in.

Mr Tandon, 29 Sep 2018

Cambridge
4 out of 5

Our whole experience went very smoothly, the staff were friendly and as this is our fourth time using your services we knew all ould go well, thank you.

Mrs Skelly, 23 Sep 2018

Cambridge
5 out of 5

Excellent park and stay provided by Cambridge Hotel at Gatwick. Have used this service before and will use again I the future.

Mr Ramachandran, 22 Sep 2018

Cambridge
5 out of 5

very helpful

Mrs Lester, 21 Sep 2018

Cambridge
5 out of 5

Everything was straightforward. The staff at the hotel were friendly, the food I had was nice and my room was comfortable and clean. Unfortunately, I asked for a morning wake-up call as back up in case my phone alarm didn’t go off and I did not get that. However, my phone alarm did so that was ok. The taxi to the airport was excellent. Although rather dirty, the car was fine when I got back.

Mr Palmer, 20 Sep 2018

Cambridge
5 out of 5

Booking easy, clearly explained. Hassle free. Accommodation and parking excellent. Transfer excellent both ways. Thank you.

Mrs Turner, 20 Sep 2018

Cambridge
5 out of 5

everything went well as expected have used Cambridge Hotel before. The 3course meal was very nice would do it again

Mrs Brown, 20 Sep 2018

Cambridge
5 out of 5

Reception staff were miserable and unhelpful when we arrived at first and arriving back in the uk i tried phoning the hotel only to be cut off twice it took me 5 times to get threw to reception. I wouldn’t stay there again not a place to stay at the start of a holiday.

Mr Maloney, 16 Sep 2018

Cambridge
1 out of 5

Excellent staff and we have stayed before a d will again

Mrs Gardner, 13 Sep 2018

Cambridge
5 out of 5

It took over 40 minutes to collect us from the airport. After nearly 9 hours of travelling and in cancer recovery, this is unacceptable for a published 20 minute service.

Mr Moss, 12 Sep 2018

Cambridge
1 out of 5

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 910

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 24-03-2019, valid as of 17-01-2019