Customer reviews for the Copthorne Effingham

West Park Road, Copthorne, West Sussex, RH10 3EU

Book The Copthorne Effingham Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 1075 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:

(4 star hotel)
 
£48.00*
room-only
3 miles
from the airport
82 1075 8/10
customer rating

See what other holidaymakers thought

Our customers rated Copthorne Effingham, on average, 8/10 (1075 reviews).

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 1075

Good hotel convenient for Gatwick airport which includes parking. Stayed many times before.

Mr Andrews, 16 Mar 2020

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Good hotel convenient for Gatwick airport which includes parking. Stayed many times before.

Mr Andrews, 16 Mar 2020

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Always try and stay here, rooms are dated but always clean.

Herr Jentzen, 14 Mar 2020

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Always try and stay here, rooms are dated but always clean.

Mr Gregan, 14 Mar 2020

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

The hotel was as expected but I was very upset with your position on the airport lounges and wont be using your firm again.

Mr Barker, 11 Mar 2020

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Hotel rooms fine. Pre booked meal £16.50 for two courses (understood by pre Booking with you saved £5) we we told we could only have a meal for two up to £35 = saving £1 each. There was not enough to have a choice of starter and main from the main menu without paying an additional amount. Also there were six of us but could Not amalgamate the six orders as one only had one course.

Mrs Harte, 06 Mar 2020

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Hotel was disgusting. Strong smell of cigarettes throughout, communal areas very poor

Mr Winters, 28 Feb 2020

Copthorne Effingham
1 out of 5

Hotel was disgusting. Strong smell of cigarettes throughout, communal areas very poor

Mr Winters, 28 Feb 2020

Copthorne Effingham
1 out of 5

Excellent for the night before flying and safe storage of the car. The hotel is really ageing but the place is spotlessly clean and the staff superb.

Mr Dziupa, 23 Feb 2020

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Excellent for the night before flying and safe storage of the car. The hotel is really ageing but the place is spotlessly clean and the staff superb.

Mr Dziupa, 23 Feb 2020

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

staff very friendly .everything ran smooth but hotel room was very dated and shabby

Mr Mothershaw, 20 Feb 2020

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Pre booked restaurant and when arrived it was shut and we were offered bar food. Not what we expected or wanted.

Mrs Bates, 07 Feb 2020


2 out of 5

The hotel with parking was very good value for money, the food was good and everything went very smoothly

Mr Siddall, 29 Jan 2020

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

The hotel with parking was very good value for money, the food was good and everything went very smoothly

Mr Siddall, 29 Jan 2020

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

We booked a two course evening meal in the restaurant booked for 19.30 on arrival in the afternoon we were told that is where the meal would be, when we came down at 19.15 it appeared to be closed so we sat in the bar area waiting for 19.30 it did not open at 19.30 on investigation we found a sign behind a menu board saying it was closed. I asked at the bar how l stood with my voucher for 35 pound's he said we could have a bar meal which we did eating of a low table ,very uncomfortable and not 35 pound's worth. Not a good start to our holiday. When we returned 2 weeks later restaurant was still closed. Should not offered if it's not available!!

Herr Herbst, 29 Jan 2020

Copthorne Effingham
3 out of 5

Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was adequate although cold (the radiator wouldn't work). Reception was advised and they set up a fan heater for us. Public areas were clean.

Mr Goddard, 25 Nov 2019


5 out of 5

Book regularly here from you , upgraded our room this time 😊 lovely and clean , good bedding and mattress , nice and peaceful room . Staff attentive and fresh pizzas to die for .

Mrs Bearman, 15 Nov 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Easy to book. Easy to find. Excellent dinner and on return.

Mr Sailer, 05 Nov 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Nearly missed our flight because no one gave us our early morning call told us the phone was not working did come and knock on the door had to get a taxi just made it no one was bothered about us

Mr Brown, 20 Oct 2019


2 out of 5

Nice clean and spacious room. Check in was easy, as was collecting car keys on our return.

Frau Merkenelioglu, 23 Sep 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Easy and no hassle service

Herr Hoefs, 21 Sep 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

everything was excellent no problems or stress at aany time

Mr Pinsch, 20 Sep 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

The hotel was a dump tbh the rooms need updating they look like they have not been touched since the 70’s

Mr Pultermann, 16 Sep 2019

Copthorne Effingham
1 out of 5

This is the third time we have used the hotel and the staff and facilities were as very pleasant and as expected. This time we upgraded the room and the extra space in the room together with the other little extras were worth the £20 more.

Frau Krause, 15 Sep 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Everything went very smoothly. The facilities were good, and we would consider doing the same should we again have an overnight requirement prior to flying from Gatwick. Staff very helpful.

Herr Hermann, 14 Aug 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Nice hotel, good location near Gatwick. Plenty of parking and shuttle available to airport. Only grumble was that it was very warm in the room with no air con.

Herr Jourdain, 11 Aug 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Staff very helpful as we asked to change rooms. Always plenty of parking, and food good. Have used several times.

Mr Scherre, 10 Aug 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Yes, all of the above. Water and more substantial biscuits in the room would have been a comfort when arriving in the small hours after a delayed flight. Breakfast was very good room comfortable.

Frau Pechtold, 10 Aug 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Comfortable hotel. Great dinner and service. Bought long term parking which was relatively cheap.

Herr Hengst, 31 Jul 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Easy to check in however the room was so hot, there were two fans in the cupboard both of which didn't work and it felt quite unclean in there. The taxi the hotel provided was also shockingly bad, they took 40minutes to get to the airport when its a 15minute journey. Would not recommend.

Herr Riekert, 30 Jul 2019

Copthorne Effingham
1 out of 5

Staff helpful but hotel is very tired. Rooms were big with a balcony and had air conditioning. However we witnessed two large rats run across the balcony so were put off sitting there.

Frau Pieron, 20 Jul 2019

Copthorne Effingham
2 out of 5

Hotel was lovely walking distance to a pub. Good shuttle service ran once an hour however did get full quickly and no shuttle service returning to hotel however Gatwick is so busy I can understand why this is.

Ms Kasper, 18 Jul 2019


5 out of 5

Everything went smoothly. The hotel room was fine, the staff efficient.

Mr Schneider, 04 Jul 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Booking very efficient as booked through Holiday Extras. Car left for week, not moved. Had two breakfasts these were also good. Would use hotel again

Mr Appleton, 03 Jul 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

We had a good nights sleep in a comfortable room and enjoyed a very nice dinner when we arrived. Stayed in the Copthorne Effingham in the past it could do with a bit of a makeover but it was still good value

Herr Jettkant, 28 Jun 2019


5 out of 5

This was a great deal. Check in was simple. Got the last parking spot and my car stayed there for twelve days. Excellent room. Straightforward transfer to Gatwick and good taxi company was on hand on my return. I recommend this hotel if you need parking and are flying early from Gatwick.

Mr Peach, 26 Jun 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Hotel itself is in a sorry state. Staff were nice and friendly. Convenient for airport and transfers were good and on time. Would use again if the price is right.

Mrs Day, 20 Jun 2019


4 out of 5

Excellent service as always ☺ï¸

Mrs Bearman, 19 Jun 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Hotel very clean and comfortable, staff helpful and polite

Ms Rentschler, 11 Jun 2019


4 out of 5

The map of the parking areas were confusing, and when I queried which area my car was parked in, I was told that the car had been moved from where I had left it. The car was still in the same place

Mr Mirotta, 09 Jun 2019

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Staff at the hotel were very friendly

Ms Bopp, 06 Jun 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

All went to plan

Mr Martin, 31 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

All very good

Herr Kerschner, 28 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Hotel near the airport and comfortable with a lovely dinner pre a good nights sleep prior to our flight. Car safe in the grounds.

Mrs Dobson, 22 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Lovely service have used before and will use again. Staff lovely and bar food delicious and well priced.

Ms Fabri, 22 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

5th time we have used the Copthorne Effingham with parking. Staff always polite friendly and very helpful. Room clean and comfortable. Evening meal always well prepared and presented.

Herr Wegener, 19 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

We have enjoyed Copthorne on a previous visit but this time we were very disappointed with our room, no.101, as it was very noisy. The receptionist agreed it and room were noisy. She called the duty manager who offered us a discount only to be told by the receptionist that this was not possible as we had booked through a third party, you! It appears better not to book with a third party such as you which is very disappointing and makes the next questions difficult.

Mr Giles, 16 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
3 out of 5

Excellent choice yet again the copthorne is 5 stars. Have been there many times and will turn. Thanks to all the staff as well.

Mr Bergmann, 15 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Good hotel, easy parking & transfer to airport excellent.

Mr Underdown, 08 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Great rooms but not a great deal of choice on the dinner menu especially for my GF husband. Hotel staff very friendly. Would not book the dinner again but would certainly stay at the hotel.

Herr Paech, 06 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 1075

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 31-05-2020, valid as of 01-04-2020