Customer reviews for the Copthorne Effingham

West Park Road, Copthorne, West Sussex, RH10 3EU

Book The Copthorne Effingham Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 1043 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:

(4 star hotel)
 
£79.00*
room-only
3 miles
from the airport
8/10
customer rating

See what other holidaymakers thought

Our customers rated Copthorne Effingham, on average, 8/10 (1043 reviews).

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 1043

Everything went smoothly. The hotel room was fine, the staff efficient.

Mr Schneider, 04 Jul 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Booking very efficient as booked through Holiday Extras. Car left for week, not moved. Had two breakfasts these were also good. Would use hotel again

Mr Appleton, 03 Jul 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

We had a good nights sleep in a comfortable room and enjoyed a very nice dinner when we arrived. Stayed in the Copthorne Effingham in the past it could do with a bit of a makeover but it was still good value

Herr Jettkant, 28 Jun 2019


5 out of 5

This was a great deal. Check in was simple. Got the last parking spot and my car stayed there for twelve days. Excellent room. Straightforward transfer to Gatwick and good taxi company was on hand on my return. I recommend this hotel if you need parking and are flying early from Gatwick.

Mr Peach, 26 Jun 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Hotel itself is in a sorry state. Staff were nice and friendly. Convenient for airport and transfers were good and on time. Would use again if the price is right.

Mrs Day, 20 Jun 2019


4 out of 5

Excellent service as always ☺ï¸

Mrs Bearman, 19 Jun 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Hotel very clean and comfortable, staff helpful and polite

Ms Rentschler, 11 Jun 2019


4 out of 5

The map of the parking areas were confusing, and when I queried which area my car was parked in, I was told that the car had been moved from where I had left it. The car was still in the same place

Mr Mirotta, 09 Jun 2019

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Staff at the hotel were very friendly

Ms Bopp, 06 Jun 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

All went to plan

Mr Martin, 31 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

All very good

Herr Kerschner, 28 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Hotel near the airport and comfortable with a lovely dinner pre a good nights sleep prior to our flight. Car safe in the grounds.

Mrs Dobson, 22 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Lovely service have used before and will use again. Staff lovely and bar food delicious and well priced.

Ms Fabri, 22 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

5th time we have used the Copthorne Effingham with parking. Staff always polite friendly and very helpful. Room clean and comfortable. Evening meal always well prepared and presented.

Herr Wegener, 19 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

We have enjoyed Copthorne on a previous visit but this time we were very disappointed with our room, no.101, as it was very noisy. The receptionist agreed it and room were noisy. She called the duty manager who offered us a discount only to be told by the receptionist that this was not possible as we had booked through a third party, you! It appears better not to book with a third party such as you which is very disappointing and makes the next questions difficult.

Mr Giles, 16 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
3 out of 5

Excellent choice yet again the copthorne is 5 stars. Have been there many times and will turn. Thanks to all the staff as well.

Mr Bergmann, 15 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Good hotel, easy parking & transfer to airport excellent.

Mr Underdown, 08 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Great rooms but not a great deal of choice on the dinner menu especially for my GF husband. Hotel staff very friendly. Would not book the dinner again but would certainly stay at the hotel.

Herr Paech, 06 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

We arrived deliberately early to use the pool and fitness suite. Despite the website stating it was open it was not. We could not take the meal we planned - and had paid for in advance - in the restaurant as it, too, was closed. Nobody seemed to know what was going on and even the barman, who was in visual contact with the restaurant, could not tell us whether or not it had been open the previous night. It was as if all the staff had been ordered not to say anything. Most of the staff seemed inexperienced (the receptionist did not even know, when asked, if there was a post box in the lobby - there was). This was supposed to be the first day of our holiday and it marked a dismal start. The room itself was comfortable and clean.

Mr Williams, 02 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
2 out of 5

everything was straight forward

Herr Fegler, 01 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

As always staff welcoming and helpful. Facilities exactly what we needed.

Mrs Hogg, 23 Apr 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Perfect in every way.

Herr Thiemer, 16 Apr 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

The hotel and staff where lovely and the parking easy and reasonable. We have used this place a few times and always been pleased . How ever we had breakfast this time and it was very average and the hot food Luke warm not good value for the price you pay

Herr Kirchebner, 11 Apr 2019

Copthorne Effingham
3 out of 5

Although the hotel is slightly somewhat dated and I believe is going through refurbishments the room I was given was lovely. Because time was of the essence I booked the two course meal offered for £16 and was pleasantly surprised as to the quality and service provided and saved me driving out to find somewhere to eat.Checking in was seamless and stress less which is what you need at the start of your holiday thoroughly recommended.

Mr Demmon, 31 Mar 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Everythig went smoothly and we were really pleased with the qualilty of the evening meal we booked at the Copthorne.

Mr Towler, 24 Mar 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Staff were helpful but the hotel needs a refurb

Mr Davies, 18 Mar 2019

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Amazing staff, everything went as planned great value for money will definitely use again

Mrs Smith, 03 Mar 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Everything went smoothly very good service

Mr Goodall, 16 Feb 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Not up to the standards of copthorne London Gatwick Overpriced coffee at £4.40 Very dingy and old fashioned,uncomfortable mattresses Place needs a whole makeover The only plus I could find was nice white fluffy towels

Mrs Bennett, 07 Feb 2019

Copthorne Effingham
2 out of 5

Everything was exactly as we thought it would be. Our room was clean and very comfortable. Our car was well looked after while we were away.

Mrs Moyies, 29 Dec 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Hotel staff were very helpful, especially when our car wouldn’t start when we got back. Also, the recommended taxi company were very quick and friendly

Mrs Brown, 26 Dec 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Good value..nice bar and not far from the airport £13.50 taxi fare when you book through the hotel

Mr Clayes, 16 Nov 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

It was a great hotel all the staff were friendly and always helpful great location

Miss Salmon, 16 Nov 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

happy use again

Mr Theobald, 01 Nov 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Good hotel. No problems.

Mrs Osborne, 18 Oct 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Good hotel. No problems.

Mrs Osborne, 17 Oct 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

great overnight stay with parking for 10 days, great price great room and only 10 mins from Gatwick

Mr Kelly, 16 Oct 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Our second visit and will definitely book again. Booked three course dinner with stay so rather limited menu, would rather have paid supplement for the a la carte. Still very good food. Car failed to start on return, staff very helpful got me going in no time.

Mr Peake, 08 Oct 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

No hiccups. Very smooth. Would prefer not to have to leave key with hotel.

Mr Lough, 05 Oct 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Nice hotel. Good evening meal package

Mrs Connolly, 04 Oct 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

We stayed the night before travelling at the Effingham Park Hotel, Copthorne. The room was spacious, food both dinner and breakfast were good. Taxi was arranged for us by the staff for the following morning. Picking up the car at the end of the holiday was easy too.

Mr Robinson, 03 Oct 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Everything went like clockwork, would definitely book again.

Mrs Silk, 29 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Bar staff had no idea what they were doing or could talk English, we asked for a Rose’ spritzer and had literally a shot of wine too with lemonade and she charged us £8 I said I’m not paying that for a mouthful of wine, so I asked for the rest of the wine which she gave me a full glass separately?? No idea. When you add the extra for a meal you have no idea what you can have, it was a selected menu of 3-4 things none of which I could eat. Kind of pointless paying for a meal you have no idea what your having

Mr Croucher, 26 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Everything fine and worked smoothly

Mr Stobbs, 24 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Everything was fine

Mr Watkins, 23 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

It was ideal for one night on our return from holidays,it would also have been ideal for one night before going on holidays with the car parking.It was also very close to your parking site on the East Grinstead road I.e. very convenient. We arrived late at night so didn't have any time to enjoy the hotel itself - the staff were very obliging, and after parking my car ( almost midnight) they kept the bar open so we could have a drink. The room itself was large and comfortable- a family room- and I would have no problem recommending to anyone for a one night stay before or after traveling.

Mr Davis, 23 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

The keys to my vehicle were lost and it took over an hour on return to the hotel to find them. Not at all impressed with how they took care of my property!

Mr Smith, 22 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
2 out of 5

We have used the hotel many times now and are always pleased with everthing

Mr Stokes, 22 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Hotel was clean and comfortable and near to the airport. My only concern was not to park my car anywhere near the golf course fairways, as any damage sustained while the car is parked is at owners own risk. The shuttle service to the airport went well at a cost of £5 each. I have to say the hotel advises that there is no shuttle service back so on return journey took taxi as advised by hotel staff at £13 per trip. That was actually £18. All in all happy with our stay and wouldn’t have any problem using this hotel again.

Mr Rogers, 21 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Price was cheap. However, hotel had no knowledge of my booking when I arrived - had to wait around 45 mins to get checked in, not ideal when you have a flight to catch the next morning. Wouldn’t use again not a chance !

Mr Mcavoy, 16 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
1 out of 5

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 1043

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 15-09-2019, valid as of 15-07-2019