Customer reviews for the Copthorne Effingham

West Park Road, Copthorne, West Sussex, RH10 3EU

Book The Copthorne Effingham Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 1060 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:

(4 star hotel)
 
£38.00*
room-only
3 miles
from the airport
8/10
customer rating

See what other holidaymakers thought

Our customers rated Copthorne Effingham, on average, 8/10 (1060 reviews).

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 1060

Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was adequate although cold (the radiator wouldn't work). Reception was advised and they set up a fan heater for us. Public areas were clean.

Mr Goddard, 25 Nov 2019


5 out of 5

Book regularly here from you , upgraded our room this time 😊 lovely and clean , good bedding and mattress , nice and peaceful room . Staff attentive and fresh pizzas to die for .

Mrs Bearman, 15 Nov 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Easy to book. Easy to find. Excellent dinner and on return.

Mr Sailer, 05 Nov 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Nearly missed our flight because no one gave us our early morning call told us the phone was not working did come and knock on the door had to get a taxi just made it no one was bothered about us

Mr Brown, 20 Oct 2019


2 out of 5

Nice clean and spacious room. Check in was easy, as was collecting car keys on our return.

Frau Merkenelioglu, 23 Sep 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Easy and no hassle service

Herr Hoefs, 21 Sep 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

everything was excellent no problems or stress at aany time

Mr Pinsch, 20 Sep 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

The hotel was a dump tbh the rooms need updating they look like they have not been touched since the 70’s

Mr Pultermann, 16 Sep 2019

Copthorne Effingham
1 out of 5

This is the third time we have used the hotel and the staff and facilities were as very pleasant and as expected. This time we upgraded the room and the extra space in the room together with the other little extras were worth the £20 more.

Frau Krause, 15 Sep 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Everything went very smoothly. The facilities were good, and we would consider doing the same should we again have an overnight requirement prior to flying from Gatwick. Staff very helpful.

Herr Hermann, 14 Aug 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Nice hotel, good location near Gatwick. Plenty of parking and shuttle available to airport. Only grumble was that it was very warm in the room with no air con.

Herr Jourdain, 11 Aug 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Staff very helpful as we asked to change rooms. Always plenty of parking, and food good. Have used several times.

Mr Scherre, 10 Aug 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Yes, all of the above. Water and more substantial biscuits in the room would have been a comfort when arriving in the small hours after a delayed flight. Breakfast was very good room comfortable.

Frau Pechtold, 10 Aug 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Comfortable hotel. Great dinner and service. Bought long term parking which was relatively cheap.

Herr Hengst, 31 Jul 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Easy to check in however the room was so hot, there were two fans in the cupboard both of which didn't work and it felt quite unclean in there. The taxi the hotel provided was also shockingly bad, they took 40minutes to get to the airport when its a 15minute journey. Would not recommend.

Herr Riekert, 30 Jul 2019

Copthorne Effingham
1 out of 5

Staff helpful but hotel is very tired. Rooms were big with a balcony and had air conditioning. However we witnessed two large rats run across the balcony so were put off sitting there.

Frau Pieron, 20 Jul 2019

Copthorne Effingham
2 out of 5

Hotel was lovely walking distance to a pub. Good shuttle service ran once an hour however did get full quickly and no shuttle service returning to hotel however Gatwick is so busy I can understand why this is.

Ms Kasper, 18 Jul 2019


5 out of 5

Everything went smoothly. The hotel room was fine, the staff efficient.

Mr Schneider, 04 Jul 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Booking very efficient as booked through Holiday Extras. Car left for week, not moved. Had two breakfasts these were also good. Would use hotel again

Mr Appleton, 03 Jul 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

We had a good nights sleep in a comfortable room and enjoyed a very nice dinner when we arrived. Stayed in the Copthorne Effingham in the past it could do with a bit of a makeover but it was still good value

Herr Jettkant, 28 Jun 2019


5 out of 5

This was a great deal. Check in was simple. Got the last parking spot and my car stayed there for twelve days. Excellent room. Straightforward transfer to Gatwick and good taxi company was on hand on my return. I recommend this hotel if you need parking and are flying early from Gatwick.

Mr Peach, 26 Jun 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Hotel itself is in a sorry state. Staff were nice and friendly. Convenient for airport and transfers were good and on time. Would use again if the price is right.

Mrs Day, 20 Jun 2019


4 out of 5

Excellent service as always ☺ï¸

Mrs Bearman, 19 Jun 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Hotel very clean and comfortable, staff helpful and polite

Ms Rentschler, 11 Jun 2019


4 out of 5

The map of the parking areas were confusing, and when I queried which area my car was parked in, I was told that the car had been moved from where I had left it. The car was still in the same place

Mr Mirotta, 09 Jun 2019

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Staff at the hotel were very friendly

Ms Bopp, 06 Jun 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

All went to plan

Mr Martin, 31 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

All very good

Herr Kerschner, 28 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Hotel near the airport and comfortable with a lovely dinner pre a good nights sleep prior to our flight. Car safe in the grounds.

Mrs Dobson, 22 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Lovely service have used before and will use again. Staff lovely and bar food delicious and well priced.

Ms Fabri, 22 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

5th time we have used the Copthorne Effingham with parking. Staff always polite friendly and very helpful. Room clean and comfortable. Evening meal always well prepared and presented.

Herr Wegener, 19 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

We have enjoyed Copthorne on a previous visit but this time we were very disappointed with our room, no.101, as it was very noisy. The receptionist agreed it and room were noisy. She called the duty manager who offered us a discount only to be told by the receptionist that this was not possible as we had booked through a third party, you! It appears better not to book with a third party such as you which is very disappointing and makes the next questions difficult.

Mr Giles, 16 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
3 out of 5

Excellent choice yet again the copthorne is 5 stars. Have been there many times and will turn. Thanks to all the staff as well.

Mr Bergmann, 15 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Good hotel, easy parking & transfer to airport excellent.

Mr Underdown, 08 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Great rooms but not a great deal of choice on the dinner menu especially for my GF husband. Hotel staff very friendly. Would not book the dinner again but would certainly stay at the hotel.

Herr Paech, 06 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

We arrived deliberately early to use the pool and fitness suite. Despite the website stating it was open it was not. We could not take the meal we planned - and had paid for in advance - in the restaurant as it, too, was closed. Nobody seemed to know what was going on and even the barman, who was in visual contact with the restaurant, could not tell us whether or not it had been open the previous night. It was as if all the staff had been ordered not to say anything. Most of the staff seemed inexperienced (the receptionist did not even know, when asked, if there was a post box in the lobby - there was). This was supposed to be the first day of our holiday and it marked a dismal start. The room itself was comfortable and clean.

Mr Williams, 02 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
2 out of 5

everything was straight forward

Herr Fegler, 01 May 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

As always staff welcoming and helpful. Facilities exactly what we needed.

Mrs Hogg, 23 Apr 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Perfect in every way.

Herr Thiemer, 16 Apr 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

The hotel and staff where lovely and the parking easy and reasonable. We have used this place a few times and always been pleased . How ever we had breakfast this time and it was very average and the hot food Luke warm not good value for the price you pay

Herr Kirchebner, 11 Apr 2019

Copthorne Effingham
3 out of 5

Although the hotel is slightly somewhat dated and I believe is going through refurbishments the room I was given was lovely. Because time was of the essence I booked the two course meal offered for £16 and was pleasantly surprised as to the quality and service provided and saved me driving out to find somewhere to eat.Checking in was seamless and stress less which is what you need at the start of your holiday thoroughly recommended.

Mr Demmon, 31 Mar 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Everythig went smoothly and we were really pleased with the qualilty of the evening meal we booked at the Copthorne.

Mr Towler, 24 Mar 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Staff were helpful but the hotel needs a refurb

Mr Davies, 18 Mar 2019

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Amazing staff, everything went as planned great value for money will definitely use again

Mrs Smith, 03 Mar 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Everything went smoothly very good service

Mr Goodall, 16 Feb 2019

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Not up to the standards of copthorne London Gatwick Overpriced coffee at £4.40 Very dingy and old fashioned,uncomfortable mattresses Place needs a whole makeover The only plus I could find was nice white fluffy towels

Mrs Bennett, 07 Feb 2019

Copthorne Effingham
2 out of 5

Everything was exactly as we thought it would be. Our room was clean and very comfortable. Our car was well looked after while we were away.

Mrs Moyies, 29 Dec 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Hotel staff were very helpful, especially when our car wouldn’t start when we got back. Also, the recommended taxi company were very quick and friendly

Mrs Brown, 26 Dec 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Good value..nice bar and not far from the airport £13.50 taxi fare when you book through the hotel

Mr Clayes, 16 Nov 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

It was a great hotel all the staff were friendly and always helpful great location

Miss Salmon, 16 Nov 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 1060

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 16-02-2020, valid as of 14-12-2019