Reviews for the Copthorne Hotel Gatwick

Copthorne Way, Copthorne, West Sussex, RH10 3PG

Book the Gatwick Copthorne Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 297 guests

Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(4 star hotel)
 
£74.00*
room-only
4 miles
from the airport
8.2/10
customer rating

Guests give their thoughts...

We're absolutely sure that you'll have a great time at the Copthorne hotel at Gatwick airport, but why not take some time to see what Holiday Extras customers felt about their stay at this leafy, country hotel.

Our customers rated , on average, 8/10 (71 reviews).

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 71

Hotel staff were very helpful, especially when our car wouldn’t start when we got back. Also, the recommended taxi company were very quick and friendly

Mrs Brown, 26 Dec 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

I have stayed here on many occasions as well as others near Gatwick. The Copthorne is the best in my view as it is not clinical and staff are always helpful. I would use this hotel in preference to any of the others nearby. We stayed as a mature couple with an adult son. The family room had an almost separate area which allowed some privacy

Miss Miller, 25 Nov 2018

Copthorne with parking at the hotel
5 out of 5

Good value..nice bar and not far from the airport £13.50 taxi fare when you book through the hotel

Mr Clayes, 16 Nov 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

It was a great hotel all the staff were friendly and always helpful great location

Miss Salmon, 16 Nov 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

We booked dinner in with the package went down at 8.30 and was told the chef had gone home so we had to have the bar menu which would have been cheaper if we paid on the night! The guy did lay up a table for us in the bar area so we didn’t have to eat on our laps. Wouldn’t prebook a meal again!

Mrs Stevens, 13 Nov 2018

Copthorne with parking at the hotel
4 out of 5

Stayed st the Copthorne Gatwick again. Just cannot fault the hotel. Received nicely clear instructions regarding parking. Excellent room, they upgraded us nice late evening meal and a couple of drinks with very good staff. Set us up for a great holiday

Mr Henry, 10 Nov 2018

Copthorne with parking at the hotel
5 out of 5

happy use again

Mr Theobald, 01 Nov 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Convenient location , Not in the middle of airport more pleasant to be in country side.

Mr Khodjasteh Pey, 24 Oct 2018

Copthorne with parking at the hotel
5 out of 5

Good hotel. No problems.

Mrs Osborne, 18 Oct 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Good hotel. No problems.

Mrs Osborne, 17 Oct 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

great overnight stay with parking for 10 days, great price great room and only 10 mins from Gatwick

Mr Kelly, 16 Oct 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Our second visit and will definitely book again. Booked three course dinner with stay so rather limited menu, would rather have paid supplement for the a la carte. Still very good food. Car failed to start on return, staff very helpful got me going in no time.

Mr Peake, 08 Oct 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Used this hotel many times for holiday parking,good location,comfortable clean hotel.

Mr Hardie, 06 Oct 2018

Copthorne with parking at the hotel
5 out of 5

Everything as described and helpful staff. Clearer parking directions would help.

Mr Saunders, 06 Oct 2018

Copthorne with parking at the hotel
5 out of 5

No hiccups. Very smooth. Would prefer not to have to leave key with hotel.

Mr Lough, 05 Oct 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Nice hotel. Good evening meal package

Mrs Connolly, 04 Oct 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

We stayed the night before travelling at the Effingham Park Hotel, Copthorne. The room was spacious, food both dinner and breakfast were good. Taxi was arranged for us by the staff for the following morning. Picking up the car at the end of the holiday was easy too.

Mr Robinson, 03 Oct 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Everything went like clockwork, would definitely book again.

Mrs Silk, 29 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

We stayed at The Coprhorne Gatwick Hotel with parking included. Very good value for money and less stressful than having to drive to the airport early morning for our flight. The hotel was very good, we enjoyed a lovely meal, comfortable room and only a 10 min taxi ride to the airport. Would definitely use again for the right price!

Mrs Moss, 29 Sep 2018

Copthorne with parking at the hotel
4 out of 5

Lovely hotel with parking

Mrs Nolan, 26 Sep 2018

Copthorne with parking at the hotel
5 out of 5

Bar staff had no idea what they were doing or could talk English, we asked for a Rose’ spritzer and had literally a shot of wine too with lemonade and she charged us £8 I said I’m not paying that for a mouthful of wine, so I asked for the rest of the wine which she gave me a full glass separately?? No idea. When you add the extra for a meal you have no idea what you can have, it was a selected menu of 3-4 things none of which I could eat. Kind of pointless paying for a meal you have no idea what your having

Mr Croucher, 26 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Everything fine and worked smoothly

Mr Stobbs, 24 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Everything was fine

Mr Watkins, 23 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

It was ideal for one night on our return from holidays,it would also have been ideal for one night before going on holidays with the car parking.It was also very close to your parking site on the East Grinstead road I.e. very convenient. We arrived late at night so didn't have any time to enjoy the hotel itself - the staff were very obliging, and after parking my car ( almost midnight) they kept the bar open so we could have a drink. The room itself was large and comfortable- a family room- and I would have no problem recommending to anyone for a one night stay before or after traveling.

Mr Davis, 23 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Got to hotel they had no record of my booking in all fairness they sorted that out ,on entering room noticed a strange odour probably from where overflow not correctly fitted to bath on return from trip getting the taxi absolutely hopeless we were actually picked up by wrong taxi who did take us to hotel

Mr Davies, 23 Sep 2018

Copthorne with parking at the hotel
3 out of 5

The keys to my vehicle were lost and it took over an hour on return to the hotel to find them. Not at all impressed with how they took care of my property!

Mr Smith, 22 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
2 out of 5

We have used the hotel many times now and are always pleased with everthing

Mr Stokes, 22 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Hotel was clean and comfortable and near to the airport. My only concern was not to park my car anywhere near the golf course fairways, as any damage sustained while the car is parked is at owners own risk. The shuttle service to the airport went well at a cost of £5 each. I have to say the hotel advises that there is no shuttle service back so on return journey took taxi as advised by hotel staff at £13 per trip. That was actually £18. All in all happy with our stay and wouldn’t have any problem using this hotel again.

Mr Rogers, 21 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Stayed at the Copthorne. We have done this for a few years now. Terrible experience in the pub restaurant next door...Thr Swan. We aleays dine the night before we fly. 4 meals ordered ..one was ok.....one did mot arrive at all......one was cold and one not the right order. The youmg lad who took the order struggled with his english amd I felt sorry for him It was his first time solo on the desk.There were also isues over 8pds for a mrdium glass of wine.....Sav.Blanc. We got a refund on the food but wrote off the wime as a bsd experiemce . .

Mr Wanstall, 18 Sep 2018

Copthorne with parking at the hotel
2 out of 5

during our overnight stay we had no issue it was really restful, however on our return when picking up my car the receptionist asked me to provide some information as follows, I presented my ticked for the return of my car keys, I had only picked up my car a few days before our holiday so could not remember all the registration, i was asked for the registration and I replied with the last 3 digits which the receptionist replied "NO" can't you remember your registration - this I consider an insult and most defiantly the wrong way to address the customer, especially when I know the digits were correct, then I was asked to identify the car colour and make along with my surname which were all correct. can I suggest that your desk staff are trained a little better in public relations and their attitude to customers.

Mr Morris, 17 Sep 2018

Copthorne with parking at the hotel
5 out of 5

Price was cheap. However, hotel had no knowledge of my booking when I arrived - had to wait around 45 mins to get checked in, not ideal when you have a flight to catch the next morning. Wouldn’t use again not a chance !

Mr Mcavoy, 16 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
1 out of 5

Through Holiday Extras my husband and I have used the Copthorne Effingham Park for a one night stay and one or two weeks parking, once or twice a year for about twenty years. A good start to our holidays whenever we fly from Gatwick. We are happy with the service especially the car parking facility. The hotel is dated but comfortable and we hope to continue using it for many years to come.

Mrs Proctor, 05 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

We asked for adjacent rooms for our daughter her husband and 6 year son who would be arriving in the evening. No one advised us that this was not possible as family rooms were on the first floor only and that there were no lifts to the first floor which caused problems with their luggage and lack of staff to help. Otherwise the hotel was very satisfactory. Regarding car parking, the car was not moved to a secure area as they advised and was left in their general car park. This was not satisfactory.

Mrs Ward, 02 Sep 2018

Copthorne with parking at the hotel
5 out of 5

Room was spacious and comfortable. £13.50 taxi each way to Gatwick for 4 people and 3 cases. Was about 10 mins journey. Very easy. Didn’t use the restaurant or bar area so can’t comment on that but the staff we did deal with where pleasant and efficient. Only minor thing was the pool was closed due to a problem and the pool was one of the main reasons we chose this hotel.

Mr Clifton, 02 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Stayed at the Copthorne Effingham twice in a month. Once with husband and again with a friend before flights.. The hotel was lovely, well kept, peaceful and welcoming. We opted for the 3 course evening meal as part of the package and could not fault the food.. excellent meal of very high standard and presentation was terrific.. will definitely use again.

Mrs Phillipps, 29 Aug 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Hotel nice 15 pounds each way for the taxi for 4 and was around 10 mins . Food price was ok drinks a little expensive and room good . Well worth the price

Mr Rogers, 26 Aug 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

We booked with the Cambridge hotel and immediately after booking we phoned the hotel as per the details on the confirmation and instead of receding hospitality we were faced with rudeness and arrogance, in fact the hotel blamed holiday extras for everything dismissed my reason for calling and put the phone down on me. Thankfully I have booked with holiday extras previously so I knew who to blame. I phoned holiday extras and you sorted out the hotel with professionalism and transferred us from the hotel to the copthorne effingham who were great.

Miss Gregory, 24 Aug 2018

Copthorne Effingham
1 out of 5

Good service, friendly staff who were very helpful Secure parking environment only 10-15 mins from Gatwick. Did not use shuttle bus as need to leave very early but staff ordered a taxi which was at a reasonable rate.

Mr Harris, 22 Aug 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Hotel and room were adequate, and transfer to and from airport by cab easy. Evening meal in restaurant & breakfast good (not much choice in pub). However, Holiday Extras charged full adult price for breakfast for a child (which hotel didn't) so despite querying it this option was not offered at time of booking by HE.

Mr Green, 22 Aug 2018

Copthorne with parking at the hotel
2 out of 5

Great hotel, lovely staff. Food in restaurant was excellent and good value. Parking very easy and straightforward. Pick up and drop off great. Shuttle service reliable, punctual and good value.

Mr Nash, 21 Aug 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Room was a bit tired but functional staff very friendly and helpful. Food was very good as was the service. Arranging a taxi was easy and very convenient. The return taxi was however extremely dirty inside

Mr Gordon, 16 Aug 2018

Copthorne with parking at the hotel
4 out of 5

comfortable room helpful staff and evening meal and breakfast excellent

Mrs Paterson, 12 Aug 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Hotel, staff, and location very good. We had included a pre-paid evening meal deal but unfortunately the Brasserie was closed. The pub facility only had very limited seating so we were unable to get a table. The more formal dining restaurant was available but we did not was this particular dining experience. We were able to get a table in the hotel bar area but the menu was very limited.

Mrs Hanson, 12 Aug 2018

Copthorne with parking at the hotel
4 out of 5

Lovely hotel. Had a nice meal and impressed there was an ice machine near our room.

Mr Head, 05 Aug 2018

Copthorne with parking at the hotel
5 out of 5

Hotel was first class. Had delayed flight so didn’t arrive until much later than expected and hotel extended our check out time free of charge to allow us to sleep for a good 3 hours before having to drive home.

Mrs Hurley, 01 Aug 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Pleasant arrival staff , we were given a room which was already vacated and had to be given another one . Breakfast was nice and fresh. Location could have been a bit nearer airport but taxi available as bus hourly ? Overall ok.

Mr Jonest, 26 Jul 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

We always use Holiday Extras to book our hotel and parking prior to flying out on holiday. It is quick and straightforward to book and the website is easy to navigate. We stayed for one night at the Copthorne Gatwick with 18 nights parking.

Mrs Bourne, 22 Jul 2018

Copthorne with parking at the hotel
5 out of 5

Lovely hotel and we were upgraded to a club room by the receptionist which was a nice touch.

Mrs Butler, 21 Jul 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Copthorne Effingham is clean enough (just). In serious need of refurbishment !! Do not stay on a Friday or Saturday night. It gets noisy from the wedding venue attached.

Mr Fort, 20 Jul 2018

Copthorne Effingham
2 out of 5

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 71

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 24-03-2019, valid as of 21-01-2019