Reviews for the Copthorne Hotel Gatwick

Copthorne Way, Copthorne, West Sussex, RH10 3PG

Book the Gatwick Copthorne Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 1956 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(4 star hotel)
 
£74.00*
room-only
4 miles
from the airport
8/10
customer rating

Guests give their thoughts...

We're absolutely sure that you'll have a great time at the Copthorne hotel at Gatwick airport, but why not take some time to see what Holiday Extras customers felt about their stay at this leafy, country hotel.

Our customers rated Copthorne, on average, 8/10 (1956 reviews).

Viewing reviews 101 - 150 of 1956

Lovely hotel with parking

Mrs Nolan, 26 Sep 2018

Copthorne
5 out of 5

Bar staff had no idea what they were doing or could talk English, we asked for a Rose’ spritzer and had literally a shot of wine too with lemonade and she charged us £8 I said I’m not paying that for a mouthful of wine, so I asked for the rest of the wine which she gave me a full glass separately?? No idea. When you add the extra for a meal you have no idea what you can have, it was a selected menu of 3-4 things none of which I could eat. Kind of pointless paying for a meal you have no idea what your having

Mr Croucher, 26 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Everything fine and worked smoothly

Mr Stobbs, 24 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Everything was fine

Mr Watkins, 23 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

It was ideal for one night on our return from holidays,it would also have been ideal for one night before going on holidays with the car parking.It was also very close to your parking site on the East Grinstead road I.e. very convenient. We arrived late at night so didn't have any time to enjoy the hotel itself - the staff were very obliging, and after parking my car ( almost midnight) they kept the bar open so we could have a drink. The room itself was large and comfortable- a family room- and I would have no problem recommending to anyone for a one night stay before or after traveling.

Mr Davis, 23 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Got to hotel they had no record of my booking in all fairness they sorted that out ,on entering room noticed a strange odour probably from where overflow not correctly fitted to bath on return from trip getting the taxi absolutely hopeless we were actually picked up by wrong taxi who did take us to hotel

Mr Davies, 23 Sep 2018

Copthorne
3 out of 5

The keys to my vehicle were lost and it took over an hour on return to the hotel to find them. Not at all impressed with how they took care of my property!

Mr Smith, 22 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
2 out of 5

We have used the hotel many times now and are always pleased with everthing

Mr Stokes, 22 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Hotel was clean and comfortable and near to the airport. My only concern was not to park my car anywhere near the golf course fairways, as any damage sustained while the car is parked is at owners own risk. The shuttle service to the airport went well at a cost of £5 each. I have to say the hotel advises that there is no shuttle service back so on return journey took taxi as advised by hotel staff at £13 per trip. That was actually £18. All in all happy with our stay and wouldn’t have any problem using this hotel again.

Mr Rogers, 21 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Stayed at the Copthorne. We have done this for a few years now. Terrible experience in the pub restaurant next door...Thr Swan. We aleays dine the night before we fly. 4 meals ordered ..one was ok.....one did mot arrive at all......one was cold and one not the right order. The youmg lad who took the order struggled with his english amd I felt sorry for him It was his first time solo on the desk.There were also isues over 8pds for a mrdium glass of wine.....Sav.Blanc. We got a refund on the food but wrote off the wime as a bsd experiemce . .

Mr Wanstall, 18 Sep 2018

Copthorne
2 out of 5

during our overnight stay we had no issue it was really restful, however on our return when picking up my car the receptionist asked me to provide some information as follows, I presented my ticked for the return of my car keys, I had only picked up my car a few days before our holiday so could not remember all the registration, i was asked for the registration and I replied with the last 3 digits which the receptionist replied "NO" can't you remember your registration - this I consider an insult and most defiantly the wrong way to address the customer, especially when I know the digits were correct, then I was asked to identify the car colour and make along with my surname which were all correct. can I suggest that your desk staff are trained a little better in public relations and their attitude to customers.

Mr Morris, 17 Sep 2018

Copthorne
5 out of 5

Price was cheap. However, hotel had no knowledge of my booking when I arrived - had to wait around 45 mins to get checked in, not ideal when you have a flight to catch the next morning. Wouldn’t use again not a chance !

Mr Mcavoy, 16 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
1 out of 5

Through Holiday Extras my husband and I have used the Copthorne Effingham Park for a one night stay and one or two weeks parking, once or twice a year for about twenty years. A good start to our holidays whenever we fly from Gatwick. We are happy with the service especially the car parking facility. The hotel is dated but comfortable and we hope to continue using it for many years to come.

Mrs Proctor, 05 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

We asked for adjacent rooms for our daughter her husband and 6 year son who would be arriving in the evening. No one advised us that this was not possible as family rooms were on the first floor only and that there were no lifts to the first floor which caused problems with their luggage and lack of staff to help. Otherwise the hotel was very satisfactory. Regarding car parking, the car was not moved to a secure area as they advised and was left in their general car park. This was not satisfactory.

Mrs Ward, 02 Sep 2018

Copthorne
5 out of 5

Room was spacious and comfortable. £13.50 taxi each way to Gatwick for 4 people and 3 cases. Was about 10 mins journey. Very easy. Didn’t use the restaurant or bar area so can’t comment on that but the staff we did deal with where pleasant and efficient. Only minor thing was the pool was closed due to a problem and the pool was one of the main reasons we chose this hotel.

Mr Clifton, 02 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Stayed at the Copthorne Effingham twice in a month. Once with husband and again with a friend before flights.. The hotel was lovely, well kept, peaceful and welcoming. We opted for the 3 course evening meal as part of the package and could not fault the food.. excellent meal of very high standard and presentation was terrific.. will definitely use again.

Mrs Phillipps, 29 Aug 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Hotel nice 15 pounds each way for the taxi for 4 and was around 10 mins . Food price was ok drinks a little expensive and room good . Well worth the price

Mr Rogers, 26 Aug 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

We booked with the Cambridge hotel and immediately after booking we phoned the hotel as per the details on the confirmation and instead of receding hospitality we were faced with rudeness and arrogance, in fact the hotel blamed holiday extras for everything dismissed my reason for calling and put the phone down on me. Thankfully I have booked with holiday extras previously so I knew who to blame. I phoned holiday extras and you sorted out the hotel with professionalism and transferred us from the hotel to the copthorne effingham who were great.

Miss Gregory, 24 Aug 2018

Copthorne Effingham
1 out of 5

Good service, friendly staff who were very helpful Secure parking environment only 10-15 mins from Gatwick. Did not use shuttle bus as need to leave very early but staff ordered a taxi which was at a reasonable rate.

Mr Harris, 22 Aug 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Hotel and room were adequate, and transfer to and from airport by cab easy. Evening meal in restaurant & breakfast good (not much choice in pub). However, Holiday Extras charged full adult price for breakfast for a child (which hotel didn't) so despite querying it this option was not offered at time of booking by HE.

Mr Green, 22 Aug 2018

Copthorne
2 out of 5

Great hotel, lovely staff. Food in restaurant was excellent and good value. Parking very easy and straightforward. Pick up and drop off great. Shuttle service reliable, punctual and good value.

Mr Nash, 21 Aug 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Room was a bit tired but functional staff very friendly and helpful. Food was very good as was the service. Arranging a taxi was easy and very convenient. The return taxi was however extremely dirty inside

Mr Gordon, 16 Aug 2018

Copthorne with parking at the hotel
4 out of 5

comfortable room helpful staff and evening meal and breakfast excellent

Mrs Paterson, 12 Aug 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Hotel, staff, and location very good. We had included a pre-paid evening meal deal but unfortunately the Brasserie was closed. The pub facility only had very limited seating so we were unable to get a table. The more formal dining restaurant was available but we did not was this particular dining experience. We were able to get a table in the hotel bar area but the menu was very limited.

Mrs Hanson, 12 Aug 2018

Copthorne
4 out of 5

Lovely hotel. Had a nice meal and impressed there was an ice machine near our room.

Mr Head, 05 Aug 2018

Copthorne with parking at the hotel
5 out of 5

Hotel was first class. Had delayed flight so didn’t arrive until much later than expected and hotel extended our check out time free of charge to allow us to sleep for a good 3 hours before having to drive home.

Mrs Hurley, 01 Aug 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Pleasant arrival staff , we were given a room which was already vacated and had to be given another one . Breakfast was nice and fresh. Location could have been a bit nearer airport but taxi available as bus hourly ? Overall ok.

Mr Jonest, 26 Jul 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

We always use Holiday Extras to book our hotel and parking prior to flying out on holiday. It is quick and straightforward to book and the website is easy to navigate. We stayed for one night at the Copthorne Gatwick with 18 nights parking.

Mrs Bourne, 22 Jul 2018

Copthorne
5 out of 5

Lovely hotel and we were upgraded to a club room by the receptionist which was a nice touch.

Mrs Butler, 21 Jul 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Copthorne Effingham is clean enough (just). In serious need of refurbishment !! Do not stay on a Friday or Saturday night. It gets noisy from the wedding venue attached.

Mr Fort, 20 Jul 2018

Copthorne Effingham
2 out of 5

Everything was very smooth. Wold use the hotel again.

Mr Dan, 18 Jul 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Rooms were dated . Very hot , as no air con ! Uncomfortable in the hot weather we had:-(

Mrs Kerley, 18 Jul 2018

Copthorne Effingham
2 out of 5

Will be coming to see you directly face to face soon for better one to one advice as I have used holiday extras regularly thank you

Mr Regan, 14 Jul 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Very noisy prom night outside our room not told at reception no sleep may as well of stayed at home in Colchester

Mr Paley, 15 Jul 2018

Copthorne Effingham
2 out of 5

Check in was quick and easy. Hotel was easy to find. Facilities at the hotel where brilliant and got the holiday off to a great start. Car was easy to find on return

Miss Farrall, 11 Jul 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Everything was just as it should. We only stayed the night to go to the airport in the morning and all went smoothly.

Mr Huxter, 10 Jul 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Excellent hotel and parking combined, the hotel food the night before was really good. Would recommend for sure.

Mr Moss, 09 Jul 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

All good as we have previously used this hotel with parking

Mr Davies, 09 Jul 2018

Copthorne
5 out of 5

All good

Mr Keegan, 07 Jul 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Copthorne hotel is clean and tidy with good facilities, transfers to airport is easy by taxi arranged by hotel. Have used this hotel several times with no problems.

Mr Barber, 04 Jul 2018

Copthorne with parking at the hotel
5 out of 5

All good. Friendly staff and a nice three course meal. Felt happy leaving the car for a week.

Mrs Merritt, 03 Jul 2018

Copthorne
5 out of 5

Stayed at the cophorne before our flight from gatwick. Hotel had everything we needed, great parking, food was okay, took 10 mins to get to Gatwick, just make sure the reception books the bus as we waited 45 mins for one to come. Good gym on site too

Miss Harvey, 03 Jul 2018

Copthorne
5 out of 5

The hotel was conveniently located with helpful staff. I had a lovely room and the surroundings were quiet. I eat in the sports bar where I found the menu varied and the food of good quality. The only negative was that you had to get a taxi back from the airport to the hotel as no shuttle bus was provided and this was rather expensive.

Ms Thompson, 30 Jun 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

All good - easy no hassle - happy

Mr Potter, 30 Jun 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Our experience was good. We will most probably do the same again.

Mr Stone, 01 Jul 2018

Copthorne
4 out of 5

Hotel needs to get some new beds! Very saggy and squeaky other than that very good, with plenty of toiletries supplied and prebooked meal adequate Shuttle service very punctual Return taxi efficient as well.

Mr Barker, 26 Jun 2018

Copthorne
5 out of 5

Everything went smothly

Mr Foy, 26 Jun 2018

Copthorne with parking at the hotel
4 out of 5

Copthorne (Gatwick) Hotel is excellent. Friendly and efficient. Easy for Gatwick Airport. Satisfied.

Mr Godfrey, 25 Jun 2018

Copthorne with parking at the hotel
5 out of 5

Staff and room at Copthorn Effinghm was brilliant and the Evening meal was superb .. Thank You !!

Mr Hill, 22 Jun 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

hotel and parking good

Mr Sargent, 23 Jun 2018

Copthorne
5 out of 5

Viewing reviews 101 - 150 of 1956

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 17-11-2019, valid as of 15-09-2019