Reviews of Russ Hill Hotel at Gatwick Airport

Russ Hill, Charlwood, Surrey RH6 0EL

Book the Russ Hill Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 3275 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£49.00*
room-only
£49.00*
including 8 days parking
3 miles
from the airport
7.6/10
customer rating

Guests' reviews of the Gatwick Russ Hill

76% of customers who left a review for the would book again
3275 customers have given an average rating of 4 out of 5

Hotel was idealm for flying from gatwick, staff brilliant.
Taxi transfer very easy.

Mrs Cox, 12 Oct 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

All very good. Food was fine, staff friendly. Only complaint was that there wasn't a window in the room.

Mr Randall, 04 Oct 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

staff gave us a room without a window but quickly changed it when we complained

Mr Newman, 04 Oct 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

all ran smoothly

Mr Jones, 02 Oct 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Hotel needs updating, there was a security light that flashed outside our frosted,unable to open window all night. The emergency exit light was so bright in the room it lit everything up the room was too warm. The parking was unorganised people were parking anywhere they could. The staff were very busy, food was good. Taxi to airport very good. Taxi drivers very helpful. Wouldn't stay here again

Mr Howell, 20 Sep 2018

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Facilities etc good but parking very tight

Mrs Martin, 15 Sep 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

I read some bad reviews and was really worried about staying here.
I had nothing to worry about.
There was 8 of us all together staying, check in was quick, reception staff was very helpful.
We had two family rooms which were large and clean, was basic but everything you needed. We ate in the bar and the food was lovely and good value for money. I would definitely recommend this hotel

Miss Short, 13 Sep 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Very convenient for Gatwick. Food was good and room clean and adequate for one night stay.

Miss Webling, 03 Sep 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Long wait at reception on arrival and staff seemed a little disorganised, the room was very basic but just for one night was adequate. The food in the bar was very good. Overall the whole package was very good value for money.

Mrs Eldridge, 26 Aug 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Pleasant and friendly staff, food was fine, very disappointed with the room very small and no windows or daylight very claustrophobic.

Mrs Gilbert, 25 Aug 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Car park excellent, unfortunately never had the chance to stay in the hotel as flight was delayed for 17 hours. Would book again if flying from Gatwick

Miss Hemming, 29 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Hotel very convenient for Gatwick and staff fantastic; friendly and helpful. However... the restaurant food is overpriced and disappointing and the rooms, having no ventilation, hotter than hell. Fans are provided, fortunately and did give a little relief.

Mrs O'neill, 26 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

I booked in may I paid in may for 2 rooms
When second room occupants arrived they where told no room at the inn
By the time something got sorted it was 2am in morning
Complete waste of time

Mr Costin, 25 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Would never stay at russ hill hotel! Was awful there was no windows that opened and no air con was left with a tiny fan! Receptionists we're so rude and not welcoming at all or helpful when it come to hotel parking!!!

Miss Evans, 24 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Held up on route & consequently arrived later than expected. Could not find anywhere to park on arrival so was told told to park on the grass in the end! On checking in to the hotel was then told the restaurant was closed and the bar would close at 10pm! Just enough time for a quick drink but no food except a sandwich. I'm just glad I didn't pre - book a meal like I had intended. Not really sure if I would book this hotel again.

Mr Munn, 22 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Some of the rooms are more like prison cells ......we changed rooms

Mr Guy, 22 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The room was ok but we all struggled to sleep with the constant sound of plains landing.
The food was shocking to be honest. Everything felt like it had been cooked the day before.
One thing I would like add is that it would be nice to have some sort of tea and coffee machine available 24/7 for those flying out at funny times.
Overall would I use a similar service to this again? Yes I would but I would stay well clear of this hotel.

Mr Morley, 20 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Hotel was perfectly acceptable for what we needed. Parking was in hotel grounds and you don't leave the keys with them so your vehicle is not touched or moved ( happens with one other I stayed at)

Mr Pleass, 12 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Very convenient and relaxing hotel. Friendly staff. Very busy as you would expect for the time of year and location. Parking simple, check in smooth. Room ad expect3d. Basic, bit clean with everything you need for an overnight stay. Buffet/ carvery very nice, and we'll stocked bar. Taxi arrived on time. Highly recommend.

Mr Strickland, 08 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Helpful pleasant staff, lovely evening meal and great selection for breakfast. When collecting my car on return journey, quick efficient staff in bar restaurant provided good fish and chips to spur me on my journey north.

Ms Hall, 05 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

we have stayed in many riu hotels before and always enjoyed our stays but we found the riu helios paradise in Bulgaria a disappointment. the staff were friendly but not very motivated. The food was not great mostly tepid rather than hot.

Mr Young, 05 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

All highly satisfactory, and everyone very helpful, but on our return from holiday the taxi firm was very busy and we had a wait of approx. 50 minutes to be taken back from the airport (Gatwick) to collect our car (Russ Hill Hotel)

Mr Stazicker, 02 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The staff were really helpful , but the room was awful ,no windows, just a sky light, really hot even with a fan supplied.Tv did not work, but it was changed .

Mr Ellis, 01 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Hotel in lovely setting and parking very convenient. Food was fine, room adequate albeit a little small and could not open window. WiFi only in public areas.

Mr Davies, 30 Jun 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The Russ HillVery good value for Money, the room was small and tired but clean and comfortable. Arriving at 2am is never ideal but the staff were welcoming and efficient finding us a convent ground floor room. The airport transfers were excellent with polite and helpful drivers. Breakfast is very good, plentiful, good variety and very relaxed.

Mr Mitchell, 29 Jun 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Stayed at Russ Hill Hotel for one night and parked car up for a week whilst on holiday. Hotel under re-furbishment but comfortable. Breakfast ok but expensive.

Mr Satterley, 25 Jun 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Everything was great from the moment we parked our car to when we picked it up in two weeks. It was exactly as you described it. The front desk lady was very helpful, the transfers to and from the airport very reasonable and the parking was ok. We liked the fact that we did not have to give our keys in and that we could just come from the airport and open our vehicle and drive away home. An excellent service.

Mr Russell, 24 Jun 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Basic hotel, however friendly staff and good location, I have stayed here many times

Ms Tatham, 23 Jun 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Arrived at the hotel to be told they were unable to check us in due to a "technical issue", so they were sending us to their sister hotel. We offered to wait until the issue was resolved, but is was quite obvious they had over booked and were sending people to a cheaper hotel.

Mr Brown, 21 Jun 2018

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Nice room, nice meals

Mr Randall, 17 Jun 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Good value stay for Gatwick hotel with parking, the room was small without any windows only a skylight, it was perfectly adequate for the pre flight stay.

Mr Ashby, 15 Jun 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Awful place. Have just completed a complaint email to their customer service department. Food was horrendous and inedible. Management unhelpful and didn't seem to care. Couldn't swing a cat in the room. TV like something out of thes. Would never return or recommend. Would rather drive through the night than stay in this terrible place again.

Miss Edwards, 01 Jun 2018

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

All was good beds a little small apart from that all good

Mr Poulton, 31 May 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

All staff excellent, very convenient for the airport at £9 in a taxi, hotel rooms fine for a one night stay. Everything ran smoothly, so no complaints at all.

Mr Thomas, 30 May 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Exelent price good food

Mr Back, 29 May 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Cheap and cheerful is all we needed for a night before you fly and with parking. We have stayed at the Russhill before so we new what to expect and have never had any problems. Only a few minutes in a taxi to the airport. We would stay there again.

Mrs Sykes, 27 May 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The hotel was dirty.
The room freezing cold, damp and smelly.
The bed was small and the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in.
I should preferred to have gotten up at 4am and drive direct to the airport then stay in that hovel.
The shower leaked and so the bedroom floor was all wet.
Luckily we arrived late and left early.

Mr Marshall, 26 May 2018

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

LOVELY PLACE , COULDN'T FAULT IT . FOOD GOOD . STAFF POLITE . ROOMS CLEAN . LOVELY BAR . WOULD STAY AGAIN .

Mr Challice, 22 May 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

No problems with this hotel. Everything was as I expected.

Mr Alan, 22 May 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Facilities fine - although bedroom windowless. Parking was haphazard - but I don't see how it could be better organised - down to individual drivers I guess.

Mr Craik, 12 May 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The hotel and parking at the Russ Hills is more parking with a room.
The rooms are not great, had a skylight (only window) that we had to call reception to open or close. (Couldn’t be bothered) but the bar in the hotel is bizarre, it is only open from 15:00 until 22:30 I stayed here in and it hasn’t changed since then.
Although the pub in the village is fantastic it is not walkable in the dark.
The parking is self park now, but in the dark you cannot see the lines and some people park inconsiderabley.
Don’t forget to factor in £9.30 each way taxi to the airport. Get a card for the return leg from the hotel as onsite Gatwick taxis charge double this.
It’s not brilliant but it’s only for one night and serves a purpose, better than missing a flight.

Mr Hylton, 30 Apr 2018

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

Yes the hotel was comfortable taxi to airport cheap and car stayed where we left it

Mrs Russell, 28 Apr 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Everything was good.and run smoothly thank you

Mr Reilly, 16 Mar 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

No electricity, no hot water

Miss Green, 17 Feb 2018

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

I picked this hotel & parking deal because it was one of the cheapest deals & for money I can’t fault it. The hotel is okay rooms very basic but that’s what i expected. There was a slight mix up with the room, I’d booked a twin room for myself & my son but was initially allocated a double but the reception staff were pleasant enough & changed our room with no fuss & booked our taxi for 6.30 the following morning. Also you park your car yourself & keep your key which I wanted to do. The taxi was very efficient in getting us to & from the airport & my car was absolutely fine on return. If you want a cheap overnight stay with no fills & cheap secure car parking then this will suit.

Miss Andrews, 17 Feb 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Hotel was fine, getting a little tired in places but given throughput of customer not surprisingly. Was getting decorated

Mr Beatson, 15 Feb 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Well ... we stayed on both our outward & return journey. The first night, our bedroom had a window which would not open. On our return, we asked for a room with a window that would open. The man on Reception clearly didn't understand, as the room we were given - - didn't have a window at all! We should have gone straight back and asked for another room, but it was past midnight and we were very tired. How can a hotel bedroom not have a window?

Mr Cockroft, 09 Feb 2018

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

stayed at the russ hill hotel overnight very happy with everything room good food good have stayed before will stay again when flying the next day

Mrs Smith, 07 Feb 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Everything went according to plan with no hold ups or problems.

Mr Johns, 05 Feb 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 23-12-2018, valid as of 18-10-2018