Reviews of Russ Hill Hotel at Gatwick Airport

Russ Hill, Charlwood, Surrey RH6 0EL

Book the Russ Hill Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 3132 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£74.00*
room-only
£74.00*
including 8 days parking
3 miles
from the airport
7.6/10
customer rating

Guests' reviews of the Gatwick Russ Hill

76% of customers who left a review for the would book again
3132 customers have given an average rating of 4 out of 5

Basic hotel, however friendly staff and good location, I have stayed here many times

Ms Tatham, 23 Jun 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Arrived at the hotel to be told they were unable to check us in due to a "technical issue", so they were sending us to their sister hotel. We offered to wait until the issue was resolved, but is was quite obvious they had over booked and were sending people to a cheaper hotel.

Mr Brown, 21 Jun 2018

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Nice room, nice meals

Mr Randall, 17 Jun 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Good value stay for Gatwick hotel with parking, the room was small without any windows only a skylight, it was perfectly adequate for the pre flight stay.

Mr Ashby, 15 Jun 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Awful place. Have just completed a complaint email to their customer service department. Food was horrendous and inedible. Management unhelpful and didn't seem to care. Couldn't swing a cat in the room. TV like something out of thes. Would never return or recommend. Would rather drive through the night than stay in this terrible place again.

Miss Edwards, 01 Jun 2018

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

All was good beds a little small apart from that all good

Mr Poulton, 31 May 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

All staff excellent, very convenient for the airport at £9 in a taxi, hotel rooms fine for a one night stay. Everything ran smoothly, so no complaints at all.

Mr Thomas, 30 May 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Exelent price good food

Mr Back, 29 May 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Cheap and cheerful is all we needed for a night before you fly and with parking. We have stayed at the Russhill before so we new what to expect and have never had any problems. Only a few minutes in a taxi to the airport. We would stay there again.

Mrs Sykes, 27 May 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The hotel was dirty.
The room freezing cold, damp and smelly.
The bed was small and the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in.
I should preferred to have gotten up at 4am and drive direct to the airport then stay in that hovel.
The shower leaked and so the bedroom floor was all wet.
Luckily we arrived late and left early.

Mr Marshall, 26 May 2018

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

LOVELY PLACE , COULDN'T FAULT IT . FOOD GOOD . STAFF POLITE . ROOMS CLEAN . LOVELY BAR . WOULD STAY AGAIN .

Mr Challice, 22 May 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

No problems with this hotel. Everything was as I expected.

Mr Alan, 22 May 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Facilities fine - although bedroom windowless. Parking was haphazard - but I don't see how it could be better organised - down to individual drivers I guess.

Mr Craik, 12 May 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The hotel and parking at the Russ Hills is more parking with a room.
The rooms are not great, had a skylight (only window) that we had to call reception to open or close. (Couldn’t be bothered) but the bar in the hotel is bizarre, it is only open from 15:00 until 22:30 I stayed here in and it hasn’t changed since then.
Although the pub in the village is fantastic it is not walkable in the dark.
The parking is self park now, but in the dark you cannot see the lines and some people park inconsiderabley.
Don’t forget to factor in £9.30 each way taxi to the airport. Get a card for the return leg from the hotel as onsite Gatwick taxis charge double this.
It’s not brilliant but it’s only for one night and serves a purpose, better than missing a flight.

Mr Hylton, 30 Apr 2018

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

Yes the hotel was comfortable taxi to airport cheap and car stayed where we left it

Mrs Russell, 28 Apr 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Everything was good.and run smoothly thank you

Mr Reilly, 16 Mar 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

No electricity, no hot water

Miss Green, 17 Feb 2018

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

I picked this hotel & parking deal because it was one of the cheapest deals & for money I can’t fault it. The hotel is okay rooms very basic but that’s what i expected. There was a slight mix up with the room, I’d booked a twin room for myself & my son but was initially allocated a double but the reception staff were pleasant enough & changed our room with no fuss & booked our taxi for 6.30 the following morning. Also you park your car yourself & keep your key which I wanted to do. The taxi was very efficient in getting us to & from the airport & my car was absolutely fine on return. If you want a cheap overnight stay with no fills & cheap secure car parking then this will suit.

Miss Andrews, 17 Feb 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Hotel was fine, getting a little tired in places but given throughput of customer not surprisingly. Was getting decorated

Mr Beatson, 15 Feb 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Well ... we stayed on both our outward & return journey. The first night, our bedroom had a window which would not open. On our return, we asked for a room with a window that would open. The man on Reception clearly didn't understand, as the room we were given - - didn't have a window at all! We should have gone straight back and asked for another room, but it was past midnight and we were very tired. How can a hotel bedroom not have a window?

Mr Cockroft, 09 Feb 2018

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

stayed at the russ hill hotel overnight very happy with everything room good food good have stayed before will stay again when flying the next day

Mrs Smith, 07 Feb 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Everything went according to plan with no hold ups or problems.

Mr Johns, 05 Feb 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

It was alright

Mr Clissold, 17 Jan 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Yes very the price was good can’t expect any more

Miss Coulston, 16 Jan 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Yes ok

Mrs Calver, 15 Jan 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Room was extremely small. Food was excellent. Staff friendly

Mr Winchester, 06 Jan 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Staff very helpful, my only issue is the car park, hardly any lighting, I slipped on the wet grass as you can’t see what’s gravel and what’s grass, stepped in a massive puddle, again can’t see it, definitely need to deal with this.

Mrs Hartnett, 28 Dec 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

I stayed at the hotel on 23rd Dec after arriving back from Morocco arrived very late the Hotel had no heating and not hot water Russ Hill with parking at the hotel

Mrs Toft, 26 Dec 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

As smooth as any trip usually goes, very happy with the service, thank you

Mrs Flynn, 14 Dec 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Ideal location at a competitive price. Food was very good and the staff pleasant. Well organised taxi srvice to the airport and back.

Mr Beddows, 14 Dec 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Room was unheated on night before holiday and in return.

Mrs Douglas, 07 Dec 2017

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Only issue was we got there for the 12.30 that’s on paperwork but could only park at that time there was no were to buy a drink had to drive to village

Mr Smith, 03 Dec 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Yes the service was very good and the taxi service to the airport and back was very efficient. Parking was a bit limited but I did manage to find a space.

Mrs Pool, 01 Dec 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The hotel was as expected due to the price, location and gavtbparking was on offer - though still a little basic in terms of decor and upkeep. However with what we wanted it for I was satisfied.
But the significant reason for us staying here was the parking at hotel with transfers. This is where the disaster occurred. We were a party of 19. We were advised by hotel staff on arrival of what type of taxi we would require from the sole company used by the hotel. Therefore hotel staff informed us they would book what we wanted and they would be with us at a set time in the morning. This was a full 2 and a half hours before our flight.
But in the morning the wrongbta is were sent which fundamentally would not fit all of us and luggage in. Drivers were telling me they didn't have the vehicles we needed and company sent more cars. I was told by the drivers and company that I would have to pay the extra money for the additional cars. I was hung up on when making a phone call to taxi office. A driver told me I had no choice but to take it or leave it - not nice when I am faced with having to catch a flight with a large group including babies and a wheelchair user.
Due to delay in matters one driver left so we couldn't use him. Eventually an appropriately sized vehicle was sent but this arrived a full 60 minutes after we were due to leave. I tried desperately to get hotel staff to help but the ultimate response from them was that it is a different company that provides the taxi service. This is not good enough. I stayed at this hotel only because of the parking and transfer. It's one package to me!
The outcome was quite bad for us really. We love made our flight but it was a straight rush from check in all the way through to the departure gate. The disabled wheelchair user in our group could not get the assistance required due to the rush therefore her 61 year old husband had to do it.
In addition members of our group could mount use the lounge passes that they if paid for.
All in all I received horrendous service and I do not accept the response that the taxi issue is down to the taxi company. As said this is booked as a whole package which includes all aspects.

Mr Templeton, 30 Nov 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

all went well, our room was good food
was good taxi was on time there and
back. would we book again yes.

Mr Round, 27 Nov 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Staff very helpful

Mr Squire, 22 Nov 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

everything was great will be back again next time we fly from Gatwick.

Ms Hayward, 19 Nov 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

All was ok apart from the carvery, The roast potatoes & vegetables were bought from frozen, not freshly prepared and the Yorkshire pudding was not home made.

Mrs Wedderburn, 17 Nov 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Horrible little room with no windows; only a sky light where we could not draw the blind (broken). We had to store our luggage in the bathroom as the bedroom was too small.

Mr Saunders, 17 Nov 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Carvery was excellent and very friendly and helpful staff. We felt the room needed an upgrade but the bed was very comfortable.

Mrs Ralph, 15 Nov 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The hotel was awful, we checked into our room which honestly felt like a prison cell, no windows, the room was so cramped we kept tripping over each other and the bed a VERY small double. We thought we'd head to the bar to escape, we asked for a beer and a glass of wine at 10pm to be told the bar had shut and they promptly put down the shutters. Even though there were other customers enjoying a drink. After a long drive this is not an ideal place to stay. I work for a recycling company and we recycle more up to date furniture that the bedroom was furnished with. I certainly wasn't expecting luxury but to be comfortable would have been nice. The only upside is that our car was still in the car park when we returned from holiday.

Miss Beeson, 15 Nov 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

We used the Russ Hill hotel before so we booked again for a night stay before our early flight out. The receptionist was polite and we were given a key to the room in minutes. they also arrange the taxi for the following morning then and there. Room was tidy and has coffee and tea facilities. We went to the pub Half Moon at Charlwood just down the lane for the evening meal. We did use the hotel bar on our return and we were very happy with the service.

Ms North, 14 Nov 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The whole process went very smoothly, the room a little on the small side, but had a good clean bed along with a good shower, what more do you want?

Mr Hunter, 12 Nov 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Very helpful that's why we keep booking with you

Mr Clutts, 08 Nov 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

All good.

Mrs Pearman, 03 Nov 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Hotel was fine for the night but did pay for the carvery which was awful but the pub meals looked good so would do that if used in the future

Mrs Hume, 03 Nov 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Hotel was fine for the night but did pay for the carvery which was awful but the pub meals looked good so would do that if used in the future

Mrs Hume, 03 Nov 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The food was cold and also the bed so so uncomfortable we did not sleep. We complained on the day but nothing to help us. The dinner in the evening was cold and also breakfast.

Miss Ridgley, 31 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

The food was cold and also the bed so so uncomfortable we did not sleep. We complained on the day but nothing to help us. The dinner in the evening was cold and also breakfast.

Miss Ridgley, 31 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 26-08-2018, valid as of 25-06-2018