Reviews of Russ Hill Hotel at Gatwick Airport

Russ Hill, Charlwood, Surrey RH6 0EL

Book the Russ Hill Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 220 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£37.00*
room-only
£74.00*
including 8 days parking
3 miles
from the airport
8/10
customer rating

Guests' reviews of the Gatwick Russ Hill

Our customers rated Russ Hill, on average, 8/10 (1584 reviews).

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 1584

Unfortunately the booking was mixed up and the car parking wasn't booked correctly, it was booked onto our stay the night we got home rather than the night before we flew. When we got back I had booked breakfast but the hotel said it wasn't on the booking so refused to give it to us and I couldn't call customer services as it wasn't open. Mishaps all round :-( I did email on my return and am still awaiting Holiday Extras reply and a week has already passed!

Mrs Kemp, 16 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

We were given a ground floor room with no windows only a skylight that did not open and could not be reached. In this hot weather it was not acceptable. I did not complain as it was only for the night but would definitely warn people not to go there

Mrs Barton, 11 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Hotel was good value for money but would not recommend the food. We had the soup and the carvery, both were not edible.

Mrs Culver, 28 Jun 2018

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

Good pub and restaurant. Good service. Room ok but a little dull.

Mr Wright, 18 May 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Hotel was dirty and very old. Bed was very uncomfortable and room was not sound proof. Could hear everyone walking past in the corridor so could not sleep.

Miss Bastable, 02 May 2018

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Restaurant shut at pm ,we only got threre atpm so had to exist on nuts till morning!

Mrs Ellard, 20 Jan 2018

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

Brilliant stay

Mr Witty, 11 Dec 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Staff ok, rooms basic... been treated better else where

Mr Sones, 08 Dec 2017

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Beds were horrible, one of the male staff was rude and ignorant, woken up at half 8 in the morning with hoovering, we had just got in at 2 from a flight, corriders were full and i mean full of just bed sheets lying about everywhere, not tidily or anything, there was a window on the roof right above our bed and we couldnt shut it so felt really uncomfortable, we werent made to feel at ease at all, although the food at the pub was amazing i cannot fault that, there was no sauce left, asked the staff and there was non. Poor poor effort from the hotel and we wont be back unfortunatly

Mr Cunningham, 25 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

This hotel needs serious room refurbishment, awful squeaky beds, tiles missing from bathroom, no fridge, antiquated TV. The car park after a 5 hour drive is a trial to find a space, it's cheap but would not book here again.

Mrs Wilson, 25 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Building was rather old & could do with a refurb but room was clean, tidy & comfortable.

Mr Mckinnon, 05 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

room so small that the bed was up against the wall meaning one person had to climb over the other to get in and out of bed, bathroom very small and the floor tiles were loose, small gap to get in and out of shower, badly in need of improvement unable to turn on the radiator

Mr Carter, 03 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

The hotel was absolutely disgusting!!

Mrs Palmer, 01 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Staff were extremely helpful. The single room was adequate but I was very disappointed with there only being one sachet of coffee and one of tea. The room was stuffy with NO opening windows

Mrs Anstey, 15 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The hotel needs to improve their food, it was very bland really. I would not eat at your hotel again unless otherwise it has been improved.

Mrs Bridgman, 28 Aug 2017

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

We like being there as it is convenient and no waiting for the car on our return but the rooms are very sad and need a good overhaul. We also stayed on the way back and asked for a better room with a window but it was very down at heel. Food and staff great

Mrs Brown, 07 Aug 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Terrible experience as booked on line with holiday extra and they took my money. Arrived at hotel and they didn't have a room so at very late night scary experience of being stranded middle of no where.

Ms Yasanjlie, 06 Aug 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

We have stayed at the Russ Hill several times but had a bad experience this time. We booked rooms at both the beginning and the end of our holiday and specifically told the receptionist on our initial visit that we would be arriving back at the end of our holiday early in the morning- 3am!! I specifically explained this and told them not to assume that we were a 'no show' and give the room to someone else. This is exactly what happened. We arrived back at 3am, to no room and were told the reception was closed. We had to wait in the lobby for an hour before a room was eventually found. We had our extremely unhappy and tired month old child with us and are definitely not impressed. A couple in a similar situation to ours eventually stormed out and decided to drive home. Had we had a car with us, we would probably have done the same.

Mr Fell, 31 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

We had a room which was dirty with dirty bed linen and was like a cell with no windows which meant the room was far too warm. We would not stay here ever again.

Mr Wilson, 19 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Room terrible

Mr Prysky, 09 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

No, l would'nt book here again, the windows don't lock, we were on the ground floor and when we complained we we're told it wasn't a problem because they had security cameras, all fine and good but who wants to be dealing with the police for a potential break-in when your trying to get to the airport to catch a flight? The staff were not very pleasant and the fan we were given because the air-conditioning was'nt working rattled all the time we had it on. No, l would'nt go there again!

Ms Butler, 07 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Cheap cheerful and perfect

Mr Rust, 05 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Hotel room was tiny dirty, no space to get changed food was awful, room was very dated and in need of replacing, only booked due to believing that the rooms would look like the pictures on the website but very disappointed

Mr Hollis, 03 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

This hotel was awful. The rooms were old and unloved. There was mildew on the window frames and the bathroom was dark and needed re-tiling. We would not recommend this hotel even to those on a budget. Premier inn would be much nicer

Mrs Harper, 30 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Food good, staff very helpful when I requested a room upgrade, always clean and comfortable.

Mrs Pamplin, 01 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

You need to redecorate, staff were helpful

Miss Murphy, 11 Jan 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Staff very helpful and friendly, we have stayed many times at the Russ Hill, Restaurant food is never very hot ,this is the reason we don't book food every time we stay.

Mr Fleet, 26 Nov 2016

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Everything went smoothly and the single room was clean tidy. The staff were friendly but the room needs refurbishing.

Mrs Sargent, 22 Oct 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

I enjoyed my one night stay at Russ Hill and would recommend to all although my single room needed updating. I booked accommodation only with overnight parking and all went smoothly and the staff were friendly. Thank you

Mrs Sargent, 19 Oct 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Staff very helpful. Shower a bit rickety. restaurant good

Dr Webb, 04 Oct 2016

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Very helpful staff.As the hotel was not busy I was given a double room, on the ground floor, which I appreciated very much. The taxi they ordered for me arrived early & the driver was also most helpful & I arrived at Gatwick in plenty of time to check in . This was the first time I had used your hotel & I would not hesitate to use it again or to recommend it. J.R. Swain

Mrs Swain, 19 Sep 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Plenty of parking, staff helpful and food good

Mr Hall, 08 Sep 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Everything was fine, I thought the hotel was good value for what I paid and in a good location. Second time I have stayed her and would stay there again.

Mr Tinson, 22 Aug 2016

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

I had tried to book a room plus three days parking, but on arrival it turned out I had just booked the room. This may have been my fault when booking, but perhaps the website needs to make this clearer. I just paid the extra for parking, and all was well.

Mr Mumford, 15 Aug 2016

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Nothing wrong with holiday extra just a terrible hotel. Grim and grimy with a 4 am fire alarm

Mr Doyle, 13 Aug 2016

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

By the time we arrived at the the hotel there were no parking spaces left. I took an hour and a half driving around to find a space.

Miss Hutt, 31 Jul 2016

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Basic hotel room with clean bathroom. Walls very thin between rooms therefore a lot of noise could be heard.

Mrs Williams, 14 Jul 2016

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Only thing I did,nth like was a room with just a sky light next time I stay I will ask for a room with a window,

Mrs Fletcher, 10 Jul 2016

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Holiday extras, as always, provided an excellent service. I cannot rate your staff highly enough. The hotel was good value for money and our 2 stays at the begginning and end of our holiday were reasonably trouble free. But the hotel has many teething problems to resolve to bring it up to the standard expected of a 3 star hotel. For example, one room had been flooded the day before and had that awful damp smell. I would only recommend this hotel to people whose greatest need is for economy rather than comford.

Mrs Hardware, 09 Jul 2016

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

A pleasant hotel for a pre flight stop over

Mr Holmes, 30 Jun 2016

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Although I booked a single room it was way too small. Staff and food good

Mr Sheppard, 22 Jun 2016

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

Everything was fine

Mrs Bowtell, 20 Jun 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Very pleasant stay. The staff were really nice and helpful. Everything went as planned.

Dr Deweltz, 19 Jun 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Nice hotel,staff polite & welcoming. Rooms comfortable,food very good,a very nice selection. Was happy with our stay and would return in the future.

Mrs Davey, 15 Jun 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Lovely hotel, convenient location for Gatwick Airport, nice bar, good food, comfortable rooms, have stayed here a few times in the past and will not hesitate to stay again.

Mrs Hathaway, 06 Mar 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Every thing was great thank you.

Mrs Roberts, 25 Feb 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Booked this hotel via holiday extras from my hotel in Malta.we were flying in quite late an decided it would be better to wake refreshed and face the long drive back to Devon. Hotel was clean and quite basic in the rooms.tea/ coffee was provided very minimal though.shampoo/soap/shower gel was via a soap dispenser. Would use again but make sure I had provision for tea/coffee etc and toiletries.did not really have much interaction with staff at all

Mrs Duckett, 24 Feb 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The beds are really uncomfortable.

Mr Ireland, 21 Feb 2016

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

The room was in good shape and the staff were fine. They went out of their way to try to find me an outlet converter.Shower was good with a full size tub. WiFi DOES NOT work in the rooms and the lobby looks like a bus station with people there using their phones. The hotel is far away from ANYTHING. So be ready to take a cab back into the village or hang around the lobby

Mr Lalonde, 18 Feb 2016

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The room was very big but decor could do with a little updating but fitted our need. Staff very helpful.

Miss Barrett, 12 Nov 2015

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 1584

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 28-07-2019, valid as of 25-05-2019