Reviews of Russ Hill Hotel at Gatwick Airport

Russ Hill, Charlwood, Surrey RH6 0EL

Book the Russ Hill Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 1601 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£37.00*
room-only
£64.00*
including 8 days parking
3 miles
from the airport
8/10
customer rating

Guests' reviews of the Gatwick Russ Hill

Our customers rated Russ Hill, on average, 8/10 (1601 reviews).

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 1601

Hotel. Can book in at 14.00 but bar not open until 16.00

Frau Ankenbrand, 19 Jul 2019

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Inside room had no ventilation, uncomfortably hot.

Ms Herbert, 17 Jul 2019

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Hotel was very busy and had trouble parking for just the one night seemed more interested in long stay parking. The room was overly small and very hot. Definitely a budget room but you get what you pay for

Mr Abel, 09 Jul 2019

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Staff very helpful, evening meal was lovely and had a great nights sleep. Have used this hotel at least 6 times now and every time the same

Mr Snitch, 08 Jul 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Everything went smoothly and the parking at the hotel was fine. However, the room at the hotel could have been better - very airless with no opening window and extremely uncomfortable pillows. We would book a hotel and parking option again but not this particular one.

Mr Clark, 05 Jul 2019

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

The parking is fine but the hotel is horrible! Very dated, dirty and basic! The staff seemed unbothered and not terribly helpful - they’d rather point then get up and show you. Not sure I’d book again - think I’d rather pay a little extra to sleep somewhere nicer

Mr Cure%20e%20couto, 03 Jul 2019

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

needs refurbishing.bit of a dump

Mr Horton, 22 Jun 2019

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

Everything went very smoothly, staff Brilliant, We were going to Lake Garda and one Italian guy( sorry can’t remember your name) gave us a good few recommendations of great places to visit. Very friendly , food good, Rooms ok for a night or two!!! Taxi transfers good!! Would definitely recommend

Mr Jaenel, 21 Jun 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Everything was good except they booked the departure taxi for the wrong time It was sorted quickly and only was about 15 minutes later than we planned

Herr Bruckart, 20 Jun 2019

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Basic hotel, clean. Family Room had twin beds and a double - reasonabley spacious. Convenient that the car is parked on site so you can drop things back to the car. The buffet dinner was rather mediocre - the bar menu looked like it would have been a better option! Taxi transfer both ways worked well. A shame the taxis aren't allowed to drop you to your car - only to the hotel entrance. Would definitely do again for an early flight. Improvement on last time many years ago when it was really loud and no hot water...

Herr Formaro, 10 Jun 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Everything run smoothly. We arrived and parked our car. A taxi was ordered which took about 20 minutes. Then we stayed in the hotel on our return. The room smelt a little musty but was clean and comfortable.

Mr Nehls, 08 Jun 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Hotel is tired and needs an update, but we use it because of its convenience as a hotel to leave the car safely while away on holiday

Mr Dey, 05 Jun 2019

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The hotel was excellent although bed a bit hard

Frau Wilhelm, 05 Jun 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Yes all went smoothly, very pleased with the service and value for money.

Herr Begau, 01 Jun 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Good price good food

Mr Wiegel, 26 May 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Everything went smoothly. Staff were helpful. Facilities were fine,

Herr Fueller, 26 May 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Taxi was a long time coming in spite of being prebooked. It was not pleasant waiting at Gatwick around 2 am for at least 30 minutes.

Ms Sienkiewicz, 26 May 2019

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

Everything went as booked. Taxi worked even though we were very late from the airport. Breakfast was of a better than expected standard. Basic rooms but perfectly adequate for one night. Would use again.

Mrs Cruickshank, 23 May 2019

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

We have used this hotel on several occasions and found it to be very close to Gatwick airport, very reasonably priced and comfortable. The parking facilities are adequate and very easy to use. The facilities were as described and the staff very helpful.

Frau Schultz, 23 May 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The room was nice, the staff helpful and the food was good

Mrs Brown, 14 May 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Location easy to find. Good three course meal for a very fair price. Room small and dated but clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Car park good. All in all a really good deal.

Mrs Saunders, 14 May 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Very good price for 2 rooms and parking for one car for 10 nights. The hotel is not if very high standard but we were not expecting it since we paid around £50/room.

Mr Moroianu, 13 May 2019

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Staff friendly and helpful comfortable beds and quiet good food and plenty of it would book again so convenient to airport and car safe and secure would recommend to friends thank you

Ms Schindler, 09 May 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Great deal on hotel and parking for the week, started the holiday even earlier for us. Thanks.

Herr Kasch, 23 Apr 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The hotel was very nice,everything went smoothly,taxi to and from the hotel to the airport on time and easy to find at the airport

Mr Calvert, 01 Apr 2019

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Everything was good

Mr Coles, 30 Mar 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The parking was very full, it took time and patience to find a space and skill to squeeze into it. Room comfortable, food fine and staff helpful.

Mrs Appleby, 25 Mar 2019

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Stay was fine Very good Customer Service provided. Restaurant was fine as booked the course meal only problem they had run out of sweet and only had one replacement. Car parking was fine.

Mr/S Giltinane, 23 Mar 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

I have only given The Russ Hill Hotel a rating of 3 as the bed was the most uncomfortable bed we have EVER slept in. My husband didn’t sleep at all! The room was cold when we arrived. We wouldn’t do this again. We would rather get up early and travel first thing to get our early morning flight.

Mrs Craig, 19 Mar 2019

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Yes everything was well would really go there again Russ hill

Mr Prosser, 19 Mar 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Yes hotel was good, basic but all facilities are there.. Car parking was also acceptable bonus of leaving you car where you parked it and taking keys with you. I would definitely stay at Russ Hill hotel again.

Miss Birch, 18 Mar 2019

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

All good, can't say anything bad.

Mr Aston, 13 Mar 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Excellent hotel for overnight stay with parking well recommend .

Miss Lanham, 13 Mar 2019

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Everything was just perfect

Miss Kubat, 12 Mar 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

It was clean tidy and the hotel very good value for money we arrived a little late to try the food yes I would stop there again.

Mr Malkin, 06 Mar 2019

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Stayed at Russ hill house for a night before our flight- parked the car, chilled out, ordered the taxi for the next morning, staff friendly and helpful, bar snacks and drinks reasonably priced, rooms comfy. Would definitely use the hotel and parking again.

Mrs Condon, 03 Mar 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Hotel was good even if a little bit further out from the airport , although room was freezing when we arrived it soon warmed up. A decent sized bed, as well as two full sized single beds all very comfortable. Driveway up to the hotel and the car park could use some work as lots of potholes. Check in was quick and easy with staff even booking the taxi for the following morning. Would use this hotel and parking again.

Mrs Pellett, 03 Mar 2019

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Pretty much as described- you get what you pay for and 3 stars is just about right. Booked 2 dinners but didn't know the restaurant closed at 9. We arrived in time 8pm, but a number if guests arrived after 9pm so paid for a meal they could not access.

Mrs Maeers, 02 Mar 2019

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

Very pleased with everything

Mrs Cunniffe, 01 Mar 2019

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

We stayed overnight and parked for 2 weeks very reasonable , room very clean , very polite staff they arranged for a taxi which was very clean, smart and polite drivers to take us to Gatwick North the next day £9 for party of 4 plus cases. We returned today we phoned the number the hotel gave us to get a return taxi they were there as soon as we got outside the terminal. Will defiantly us them again

Mr White, 25 Feb 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Hotel well situated with all we needed, however hotel did not have our details on their system

Mr Gaskarth, 23 Feb 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Lovely hotel and really good service. No issues with parking and really good rate for the package.

Mr Balasuriya, 22 Feb 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Reception staff weren't very welcoming but not unpleasant. Bar staff were chatty and the bar food was good. We stayed the night before and the night after our holiday. The 1st room we had was noisy from other guests getting early flights. The 2nd room was further to the back of the hotel and was a lot quiter. Both rooms were a bit tired looking. Taxi service was excellent.

Mr Kent, 09 Feb 2019

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Parking was fine. Hotel staff were good. The bathroom in the room was very small, beds were uncomfortable, room was clean though. The people in the neighbouring room were very noisy from 1am to 4am so we didn't get much sleep. The staff on reception did ask them to keep the noise down but they didn't take much notice. The hotel and parking were good value for money overall.

Miss Coleman, 07 Feb 2019

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

Smooth as always

Mr Freestone, 21 Jan 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Yes,we were very satisfied with everything

Mrs Selley, 13 Jan 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Hotel was fine close to airport. Arrived early as unsure of traffic girl on reception was abrupt to the point of rude, left and returned later, the 2 guys on reception at acheckin were helpful. Car park was disorganised no bays marked people parked all over, some cars were blocked in.

Miss Pinn, 06 Jan 2019

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

Great stopover night before flight. Taxi service amazing.

Mrs Kelly, 03 Jan 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Probably the worst hotel we ever stayed in, but for £52 a night in Gatwick you can’t expect much so if you want cheap this is a “good†place. The bed in our room was broken, very squeaky, so we moved it to the side of the wall and had mattress on the floor, which was ok. Buffet dinner was excellent (for the price charged).

Mr Hurinek, 03 Jan 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Everything went smoothly, our room was on the ground floor. The evening dinner was a buffet style with plenty of choice, and the breakfast was also good with plenty of variety. The taxi we had to and from the airport was very reasonable at £9 each way, I would definitely stay there again, and would recommend it to friends. It was cheaper to stay there than pay for two weeks parking at Meet and Greet!

Mrs Aspinall, 29 Dec 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 1601

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 22-09-2019, valid as of 22-07-2019