Reviews of the Skylane Hotel at Gatwick

Bonehurst Road, Horley, Surrey, RH6 8QF

Book the Gatwick Skylane Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 634 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£54.00*
room-only
2 miles
from the airport
8/10
customer rating

Check out our reviews before you check in

Check out what our customers have to say about the Skylane Hotel at Gatwick.

Our customers rated , on average, 8/10 (165 reviews).

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 165

Everything went as planned and was so quick and easy! Stress free start to my holidays!

Miss Shields, 06 Jan 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Everything went smoothly. Perfectly acceptable room and transfers.

Mr Webb, 28 Dec 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Hotel was clean but basic - not proper toiletries in bathroom, tv not working, not that we had much time to watch. Evening meal ok but when we went for breakfast we were told it was not ready as they were having trouble with chef. Arrived in dribs and drabs. Car park chaotic and when we returned after the chaos of delayed flights reception unwelcoming and miserable.

Mrs Austin, 24 Dec 2018

Best Western Skylane
3 out of 5

Excellent service yet again, very pleased.

Mr Symonds, 20 Dec 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

The hotel and car parking arrangements were exactly what we wanted, and the staff were polite and helpfulm

Mr Colvin, 10 Dec 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Good clean comfortable room, breakfast was ok

Mrs Lawrence, 08 Dec 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

No trouble at any stage. A good start the holiday.

Mr Simkins, 05 Dec 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Ran to plan thanks .

Mr/S Coe, 24 Nov 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Ran to plan thanks .

Mr/S Coe, 23 Nov 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Hotel was excellent Only issue was the pick up on return seemed like communication between hotel and driver was not as good as last year We had to come back separately and intent one of us waiting at airport

Mrs Canepe, 21 Nov 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Ladies in reception were quite good. However, l would like to point out they want your car keys passed to reception by 19.00, reason so they can re-park your car. There was a argument in reception as a couple had arrs ge to go out for a a meal and needed their car and wouldn't be back until near 23.00.

Mrs Rust, 21 Nov 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Nothing more than an average hotel at best. Seems a shortage of staff at this hotel. Most things ok except the long wait to be picked up by their shuttle bus on our return from holiday. Problem being it seems that there is only one bus & driver which means if bus is full,literally you get left behind & have to wait a considerable time for it's return.

Mr Ellis, 04 Nov 2018

Best Western Skylane
2 out of 5

The shuttle service needs to be improved the driver could hardly lift any of the cases onto the van. The hotel restaurant is not as described in your advert as it was cold, no atmosphere with a limited menu choice.

Mr Rees, 02 Nov 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Hotel transport turned up 30 minutes late on a cold night and directions to the hotel were inadequate.

Mr Stubbs, 31 Oct 2018

Best Western Skylane
2 out of 5

Sky Lane LGW is good value even if a little down market. The transfer was efficient and very little waiting on return

Mr Morris, 31 Oct 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Hotel was ok nothing special Watch when you go to pick car up parked so close to other cars have trouble getting into car The transfer back from airport a joke you ring for pickup then you have to wait so long probably quicker to walk

Mr Andrews, 31 Oct 2018

Best Western Skylane
2 out of 5

Found that the accommodation and food was better than anticipated. But not too happy with the way that Cars were parked by Hotel employees. Fortunately no damage sustained to my vehicle, not too happy that Hotel does not take responsibility for damage caused whilst the car is being looked after by them. Took me 20mins to get through to Hotel to request pick up from Gatwick,as line engaged. Will not stay there again.

Mr Beech, 27 Oct 2018

Best Western Skylane
3 out of 5

Hotel was nice except on ground floor which was a bit noisy. Parking very tight but no issues when returning to pick the car up

Mrs Furse, 22 Oct 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

The hotel very nice & comfortable. The main thing that let us down on your part was when we booked we asked for two rooms with walk in showers, but the hotel didn't have any rooms with walk in showers. So that caused us some difficulty with getting in & out of the bath. The shower was a bit difficult to use & couldn't get it hot enough for my liking.It would be a good idea on your part if some one request's that whether you can check first or maybe they can but it on the hotels website. We did try to call the hotel about a week before our stay to check on this but couldn't get an answer from the hotel & by then I'm sure it would have been too late to change hotels & even if had the time wouldn't have wanted the hassle.

Mr Barker, 22 Oct 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

A good hotel stay with parking on site. The room was adequate, clean and quiet. It was further away from Gatwick south terminal than we realised and an early start meant that we needed a taxi both ways - £6 out and £14 back from airport.

Mrs Lloyd, 22 Oct 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Everything worked well. One small negative comment would be thst the breakfast orange juice tasted more like orange squash.

Miss Kemp-Gee, 16 Oct 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Hotel was comfortable and location good for our transfer to the North Terminal at Gatwick. Transfer bus was not too expensive.

Mrs Gale, 15 Oct 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Yes, we have stayed here three times now, no complaints at all, car was well look after, as we were, staying again next year

Mrs Edmunds, 11 Oct 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Stayed here before but frustrated when tried to phone hotel in return to arrange pick up & phone not answered despite trying several times

Miss Linter, 08 Oct 2018

Best Western Skylane
3 out of 5

Good room clean but car was taken away over night so we could not use it. Probably would not stay there again because car was removed on arrival

Mrs Bateson, 07 Oct 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

When we stir to collect the car they did not where it was in car park. The hotel is a bit run down with public toilets not working. Not worth the 3 star rating

Mr Humphries, 06 Oct 2018

Best Western Skylane
2 out of 5

We have booked the stay, park and fly option on a number of occasions and it usually works really well. However, this time it was a bit disappointing. Our room was clean and comfortable and the restaurant served basic pub food. Unfortunately the transfers were a bit haphazard, once the minibus is booked they book taxis but these were late. On the way back we called as instructed but no-one answered so we ended up missing the shuttle and then had to wait 40 minutes. On a positive note the parking was fine and the car was waiting for us when we arrived back.

Ms Dickson, 02 Oct 2018

Best Western Skylane
3 out of 5

Hotel and parking was good for the price. The only thing that let it down was the bar and restaurant. It was sterile and not very inviting.

Mrs Crump, 29 Sep 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

We did have a problem with on line booking. I made it clear that we wanted to stay from Sept 12th - 20th inclusive, but for some reason the web site decided I wanted to sleep over on 11th and Fly on the 12th. Eventually sorted this out by phoning. Hotel was great and parking service efficient.

Mr Hampton, 27 Sep 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Nothing wrong with hotel and facilities but parking arrangements are dreadful. Too many cars crammed in. My car had been damaged when they moved it but they don't appear to be interested. I now have to pay just over £430 for repairs incurred whilst car in their care. Add £120 for cost of original booking and it's a very expensive overnight stay. Don't leave your car there.

Mr Wills, 27 Sep 2018

Best Western Skylane
1 out of 5

Hotel was clean and easy to find. Facilities were ok but restaurant was a bit chaotic and lack of staff meant queuing up for drinks for ages. Was given the bill for meal and asked to vacate table before we got our food

Mr Getliff, 26 Sep 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

The hotel and parking were great. We had also paid for a meal at the restaurant which did not go well. We had to wait nearly to hour for the meal and then when it arrived it was a big let down. We would stop at the hotel again but not eat at the restaurant.

Mr Cairns, 24 Sep 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Hotel poor

Dr Turton, 23 Sep 2018

Best Western Skylane
3 out of 5

You can't get any sleep at this hotel due to NOISE levels and on return it the took the hotel 5 phonecalls to get them to answer

Mr Organ, 21 Sep 2018

Best Western Skylane
2 out of 5

We have stayed in the Best Western Skylane before. The staff were very helpful and helped provide the taxi for our early morning flight with no problems. A restaurant is in the hotel and again the food was very good. The car came back as we left it, so in all I would recommend Best Western to anyone.

Mr Warner, 15 Sep 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Parking very chaotic and full when we arrived, had to abandon car and hotel staff moved it later. At ~10pm no food available but we were allowed to ring out for takeaway delivery which was good. Taxi requested for 4am but only one driver doing all the trips so we were delayed ~20minutes. Hotel take forever to answer the phone. When we rang for shuttle bus for return to hotel we were told it was just leaving and would take ~15minutes. The couple already waiting had waited over 40minutes and we waited ~25 until it arrived. Prices have gone up to £3 a person not £2 as advertised but that’s still better than a taxi. Overall room was clean, staff ok, but parking very chaotic.

Mrs Ilott, 05 Sep 2018

Best Western Skylane
3 out of 5

really easy and straightforward. No surpises when paying for taxi, it was the exact amount shown on web site

Mr Place, 03 Sep 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

all went to plan ,hotel was very good ,with mini buss transport to and from the airport.i would use this hotel again .

Mr Giles, 28 Aug 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Staff ok, room ok. There seems to be only one driver, which could lead to longer waiting times both ways.

Mrs Walter, 28 Aug 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Car was moved by the hotel I was no made clear of this. Hotel was noisy Car was muddy upon return - no doubt parked on the grass verge as the other cars were when I arrived. Too many cars for the car park, they were crammed in like sardines. I have photos of this. Profit over service

Mr Smith, 27 Aug 2018

Best Western Skylane
1 out of 5

Everything was as described. Going the evening before and staying in an hotel took a lot of stress out of going to the airport. Being able to leave the car there made it perfect

Mrs Mitchell, 24 Aug 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

I had booked parking at the hotel but when we checked in we were told that we would have to park in the summer special car park at Gatwick instead. This wasn't a major problem and it saved us the cost of a taxi/shuttle bus to the airport and back but it did mean that we had to get up earlier to allow time to wait for the car park bus and to travel to the terminal. As our flight was at 6:05 in the morning this was a bit annoying and I had specifically booked a package including parking at the hotel to save time getting to the airport. We also had to work out how to get to the car park from the hotel as the directions we were given were from the M23.

Miss Harland, 22 Aug 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

we have used holiday extras for years, some hotels are better than others, but in the main we’ve been very happy, we wouldn’t keep coming back if we weren’t

Mr Torrison, 21 Aug 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Went smoothly and good room but bar/restaurant was closed

Mr Jones, 13 Aug 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Easy to find, helpful friendly staff, comfy bed and good breakfast. Transfers to and from the airport were great. Would definitely recommend for overnight stay and holiday parking.

Mrs Heaton, 11 Aug 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Dirty hotel, no return shuttle as stated online.

Miss Burke, 05 Aug 2018

Best Western Skylane
1 out of 5

The hotel was pleasant and the room comfortable and well equipped. As our flight wasn't particularly early we had breakfast at the hotel and it was very good. We went to the airport by taxi at a cost of £3 per head which is very reasonable. On our return I rang the hotel and the bus arrived 15 minutes later. picking up the key was very quick and we were soon on our way home.

Mr Heading, 05 Aug 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Very basic accommodation. Reception staff not very friendly and on our return we were not able to get a drink from anything but a vending machine. On the good side the restaurant staff were friendly and the food was good. The hotel was also clean but dated. About right for the price we paid so I may have been harsh in rating it 4 maybe should be a 6.

Mr Newman, 29 Jul 2018

Best Western Skylane
2 out of 5

E erythema went smoothly, no problems whatsoever

Mr Jones, 23 Jul 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 165

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 17-03-2019, valid as of 16-01-2019