Reviews of the Skylane Hotel at Gatwick

Bonehurst Road, Horley, Surrey, RH6 8QF

Book the Gatwick Skylane Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 1148 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:
£54.00*
room-only

within walking distance
8/10
customer rating

Check out our reviews before you check in

Check out what our customers have to say about the Skylane Hotel at Gatwick.

Our customers rated Best Western Skylane, on average, 8/10 (1148 reviews).

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 1148

Hotel very dated. Given 2x room keys before we finally found a room to get in. Parking was terrible. Transfer bus broke down day of pick up. Reception staff not at front desk - out back eating and came out to greet us still chewing.

Frau Hartmann, 11 Nov 2019

Best Western Skylane
2 out of 5

We were disappointed that when we arrived at the hotel at 3pm we had to wait till 6.45 before we could eat. The pick up and drop off service was very good though.

Herr Kuechenthal, 22 Oct 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

staff at reception not particularly friendly on reception, on arrival, just put it down to him having had a long day at work. the room was adequate for an overnight stay, the transport to airport good there and back, the car was ready for us on return so we were quick to getaway.

Herr H?i, 22 Sep 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Everything went smoothly. The room was good. There was a bar/restaurant attached to the hotel with good food and friendly staff. Transfers to and from airport were organised well.

Herr M?r, 15 Sep 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Hotel needs re-vamping and some tlc. Food ok, but seating could be more comfortable. Transport to and from airport excellent.

Herr Heimes, 14 Sep 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Hotel and location was great, with a shuttle to the airport. Breakfast was ok. Not much on offer but I did go at 8:30 and breakfast finishes at 9:00

Herr Beyer, 06 Sep 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

The Best Western hotel with parking was as described and they arranged return transfer to and from Gatwick with a local taxi firm. All ran smoothly and without delay. Just what we needed and at a very competitive affordable price.

Mr Evans, 25 Aug 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

room was very hot air con broke and having windows opened meant noise for carpark behind during night as people coming and going, but facilities were ok and clean and comfortable, Ate out locally travelled by car to nearest centre, Taxi ordered for us as had large luggage same cost as using the mini bus, taxi company sent wrong size vehicle and blamed us for not telling them but reception they had said we needed a big vehicle due to having a bike, but sent a new one promptly so no delay.

Mrs Hodges, 19 Aug 2019

Best Western Skylane
3 out of 5

Nice hotel, friendly staff and parking was really easy.

Mrs John, 12 Aug 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Comfortable room, coffee making facilities, staff very helpful, restaurant and bar on the ground floor.

Herr Bonse, 28 Jul 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

The hotel was nice. The machines were broken. We had to ask for information about being picked up on the way back

Ms Jewell, 28 Jul 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Best Western Horley is a soulless place with no atmosphere, some staff were helpful, bar staff were disinterested. Bedrooms were clean and comfortable for a night. Absolutely no atmosphere in the bar/ restaurant area, only tables and chairs, no soft furnishings, armchairs or sofas. Univiting, hard and not a relaxing place to be. Bar and food prices were expensive especially the mediocre food. The hotel minibus transfer was cheap but the driver was a frail old man, struggled with larger cases, smelt strongly of body odour, greasy unkempt hair that needed a good cut. His clothes were old and shoddy. Whilst his attitude was professional his outward appearance was poor, smelly and untidy. This was in the morning on both occasions, I dread to think what he would look like at the end of a busy day.

Mr Van Der Land, 18 Jul 2019

Best Western Skylane
1 out of 5

Good,reasonably priced hotel and parking was very good with parking at hotel for full period. Waited 25 minutes for transport pickup which could have been better

Frau Di_Modugno, 01 Jul 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

It was fit for purpose / beds very comfy /staff helpful and transfers to Gatwick were good. The breakfast room a little stark and it would be better if breakfast was served until 10. Better control over temperature in the room as it was either too hot/cold.

Herr Friedhelm, 26 Jun 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Everything was excellent! Staff were friendly and efficient . Room was basic but clean. Ideal for an overnight stay for an early flight. Food was very good.

Frau W?, 22 Jun 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Everything went well & staff very helpful. Taxi organised for us - would definitely use again

Herr Jost, 15 Jun 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Everything went well. The hotel was fairly basic but functional and it was inexpensive. I'd be happy to use the same hotel again.

Mr Morris, 04 Jun 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

yes very

Herr Jakob, 20 May 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Very impressed with holiday extras, fabulous service. Have used hotel previously, good standard only grump is cleaning staff try to enter room early and can disturb sleep otherwise great

Mrs Maclucas, 14 May 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

The room was nice but we got no sleep doors where banging all night we would have been less tired if we had drove up to the airport in the early hours

Herr Schaaf, 15 May 2019

Best Western Skylane
1 out of 5

Was quick and easy on check, only down side was the hotel on day of collection we had to wait 10-15 minuets as there was no bell for the desk attendants attention. The room was clean and an amazing size

Mr Gerrist, 14 May 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Facilities were as described. Check in was efficient. Room was clean and comfortable. Need to make people aware the bar does not take cash, only cards. The minibus service to the airport worked very well. The pickup service was not quite so good as it took 30 minutes after calling to be picked up and they took some time to find my car keys when we got back to the hotel. The council were digging up the road immediately outside the hotel which did contribute to the delay on pickup. The car was easily accessible in the front car park and had not suffered any damage when it was moved to the side or rear of the hotel whilst we were away.

Frau Petrick, 11 May 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Nice rooms, quiet, comfy bed, food was good.

Mrs Stringer, 07 May 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Nice clean room, easy to find, good food & excellent service to & from airport.

Miss Kingham, 06 May 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

We're not happy with hotel and the service they provide for airport pickup and drop off. The women on the front desk has no customer service experience at all and was extermely rude and offish. Not a good experience at all.

Frau Palmowski-Sack, 28 Apr 2019

Best Western Skylane
2 out of 5

Very convenient location. Nice room. Excellent transfer to/from the airport.

Herr Pfitzer, 11 Apr 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Hotel nice and comfortable, food good. My only quibble is having to use purple parking - I don't recall an option to park at the hotel but when I got there I found it was possible but too late to cancel the purple parking. Next time I will park at the hotel and use their shuttle service.

Mrs Seaber, 02 Apr 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

The hotel was as described helpful pleasant staff we had dinner and drinks at hotel good and reasnabley priced.As my wife had booked the wrong night your staff and the hoteol resolved the problem very efficeintly.

Mr Mcdonald, 27 Mar 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

I am currently in the process of requesting information from the hotel manager why my vehicle was scratched on both front corners when I collected it from them.

Mr Bishop, 27 Mar 2019

Best Western Skylane
1 out of 5

We found the service easy to use, the staff at the hotel were really helpful when we called with a couple of questions before our stay and the parking and hotel room were ideal. Great, stress-free way to start our holiday!

Miss Rickard, 20 Mar 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

All was good apart from directions not very clear and further from terminal than I thought it would be

Mr Rocke, 19 Mar 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Everything was smooth and hotel staff very helpful

Mr Norris, 06 Mar 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Hotel fine, it was as advertised and travel to Gatwick and return was good. Overall a good package with the parking.

Mr Gray, 04 Mar 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Everything ran smoothly.sraff were very helpful.

Mr Mccarthy, 26 Feb 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Hotel didn't have any atmosphere staff disinterested and not welcoming at all bar was very poor not a very good selection most of the selection was not available and was expensive for the poor quality, which was very dissapoiting after a stressful drive down due to weather and diversions because of road works

Mrs Fakelman, 21 Feb 2019

Best Western Skylane
3 out of 5

No problems a good service

Mr Donovan, 18 Feb 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Yes to all the questions above.

Mr Charlick, 07 Feb 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Shower in room took half an hour to be just luke warm to use and the food in bar was way below average my partner couldn’t eat herd so we ordered dominoes after aswell.

Mr Osborne, 03 Feb 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Great hotel & excellent price. Would have given it a 10 if we were able to get a transfer to the airport. Only limited places for each time slot so book early. We got an Uber which was really easy though so didn't cause any major travel disruption.

Miss Kieran, 02 Feb 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

They were fine the room was nice and clean but they could have had the heating on.

Mrs Brichard, 19 Jan 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Hotel was very basic. Reception staff not very helpful. Also there was a fire alarm at 5am and we went to ground floor and staff didn't know is it a fire or not-none evacuated us, no instructions-just standing there with horrible noise for over 10 min.

Mrs Nedeljkov, 08 Jan 2019

Best Western Skylane
3 out of 5

Everything went as planned and was so quick and easy! Stress free start to my holidays!

Miss Shields, 06 Jan 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Everything went smoothly. Perfectly acceptable room and transfers.

Mr Webb, 28 Dec 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Hotel was clean but basic - not proper toiletries in bathroom, tv not working, not that we had much time to watch. Evening meal ok but when we went for breakfast we were told it was not ready as they were having trouble with chef. Arrived in dribs and drabs. Car park chaotic and when we returned after the chaos of delayed flights reception unwelcoming and miserable.

Mrs Austin, 24 Dec 2018

Best Western Skylane
3 out of 5

Excellent service yet again, very pleased.

Mr Symonds, 20 Dec 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

The hotel and car parking arrangements were exactly what we wanted, and the staff were polite and helpfulm

Mr Colvin, 10 Dec 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Good clean comfortable room, breakfast was ok

Mrs Lawrence, 08 Dec 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

No trouble at any stage. A good start the holiday.

Mr Simkins, 05 Dec 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Ran to plan thanks .

Mr/S Coe, 24 Nov 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Ran to plan thanks .

Mr/S Coe, 23 Nov 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 1148

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 19-01-2020, valid as of 14-11-2019