Reviews of the Skylane Hotel at Gatwick

Bonehurst Road, Horley, Surrey, RH6 8QF

Book the Gatwick Skylane Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 1159 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£56.00*
room-only
2 miles
from the airport
8/10
customer rating

Check out our reviews before you check in

Check out what our customers have to say about the Skylane Hotel at Gatwick.

Our customers rated Best Western Skylane, on average, 8/10 (1159 reviews).

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 1159

Fantastic service as usual, couldn't fault a thing. Very smooth booking process, check in & check out

Ms Austin, 17 Jan 2020

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Fantastic service as usual, couldn't fault a thing. Very smooth booking process, check in & check out

Ms Austin, 17 Jan 2020

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Everything worked as expected. Bed comfortable.

Mr Christie, 29 Dec 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Nice room at Best Western Skylane. On time shuttle to airport. Prompt pick up from airport.

Herr Stella, 27 Dec 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

The hotel was perfect for our flight the following morning from Gatwick North terminal. The room was clean, the staff very helpful and the breakfast very good. Like all hotels close to Gatwick, used for car parking and stay, it was very functional. Our car parking was perfect and everything ran smoothly. The minibus driver to and from the airport was first class, charming and very friendly. Transfer time was around 10 minutes. So pleased we used this hotel which was recommended to us by our daughter.

Mr Sweeney, 02 Dec 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

We had changed the booking from two people to three but the hotel had no knowledge of this which caused delays. It also meant two of us had to share a double bed, they do actually have triple rooms .....

Ms Lindsay, 01 Dec 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Room shabby and window wouldn’t shut properly. Water pressure in shower awful and only lukewarm. Restaurant food very poor, waitress didn’t speak much English and the woman behind the bar gave me a wine list and then they only had a couple of red wines. She didn’t have any idea how much they were and I felt she made the price for a bottle. No transfer bus at the time we required. Not a good stay.

Mr Larkin, 01 Dec 2019

Best Western Skylane
2 out of 5

Room shabby and window wouldn’t shut properly. Water pressure in shower awful and only lukewarm. Restaurant food very poor, waitress didn’t speak much English and the woman behind the bar gave me a wine list and then they only had a couple of red wines. She didn’t have any idea how much they were and I felt she made the price for a bottle. No transfer bus at the time we required. Not a good stay.

Mr Larkin, 01 Dec 2019

Best Western Skylane
2 out of 5

Excellent price for hotel, parking and the airport lounge. Check in at hotel went smoothly.

Herr Tichkiewitch, 26 Nov 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Hotel really good, nice quiet room. Staff really helpful - particularly when we arrived back from the far East to find our car battery was flat.

Mrs Griffith, 24 Nov 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Yes staff where helpful & friendly

Herr Sabljic, 22 Nov 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Hotel very dated. Given 2x room keys before we finally found a room to get in. Parking was terrible. Transfer bus broke down day of pick up. Reception staff not at front desk - out back eating and came out to greet us still chewing.

Frau Hartmann, 11 Nov 2019

Best Western Skylane
2 out of 5

We were disappointed that when we arrived at the hotel at 3pm we had to wait till 6.45 before we could eat. The pick up and drop off service was very good though.

Herr Kuechenthal, 22 Oct 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

staff at reception not particularly friendly on reception, on arrival, just put it down to him having had a long day at work. the room was adequate for an overnight stay, the transport to airport good there and back, the car was ready for us on return so we were quick to getaway.

Herr H?i, 22 Sep 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Everything went smoothly. The room was good. There was a bar/restaurant attached to the hotel with good food and friendly staff. Transfers to and from airport were organised well.

Herr M?r, 15 Sep 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Hotel needs re-vamping and some tlc. Food ok, but seating could be more comfortable. Transport to and from airport excellent.

Herr Heimes, 14 Sep 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Hotel and location was great, with a shuttle to the airport. Breakfast was ok. Not much on offer but I did go at 8:30 and breakfast finishes at 9:00

Herr Beyer, 06 Sep 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

The Best Western hotel with parking was as described and they arranged return transfer to and from Gatwick with a local taxi firm. All ran smoothly and without delay. Just what we needed and at a very competitive affordable price.

Mr Evans, 25 Aug 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

room was very hot air con broke and having windows opened meant noise for carpark behind during night as people coming and going, but facilities were ok and clean and comfortable, Ate out locally travelled by car to nearest centre, Taxi ordered for us as had large luggage same cost as using the mini bus, taxi company sent wrong size vehicle and blamed us for not telling them but reception they had said we needed a big vehicle due to having a bike, but sent a new one promptly so no delay.

Mrs Hodges, 19 Aug 2019

Best Western Skylane
3 out of 5

Nice hotel, friendly staff and parking was really easy.

Mrs John, 12 Aug 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Comfortable room, coffee making facilities, staff very helpful, restaurant and bar on the ground floor.

Herr Bonse, 28 Jul 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

The hotel was nice. The machines were broken. We had to ask for information about being picked up on the way back

Ms Jewell, 28 Jul 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Best Western Horley is a soulless place with no atmosphere, some staff were helpful, bar staff were disinterested. Bedrooms were clean and comfortable for a night. Absolutely no atmosphere in the bar/ restaurant area, only tables and chairs, no soft furnishings, armchairs or sofas. Univiting, hard and not a relaxing place to be. Bar and food prices were expensive especially the mediocre food. The hotel minibus transfer was cheap but the driver was a frail old man, struggled with larger cases, smelt strongly of body odour, greasy unkempt hair that needed a good cut. His clothes were old and shoddy. Whilst his attitude was professional his outward appearance was poor, smelly and untidy. This was in the morning on both occasions, I dread to think what he would look like at the end of a busy day.

Mr Van Der Land, 18 Jul 2019

Best Western Skylane
1 out of 5

Good,reasonably priced hotel and parking was very good with parking at hotel for full period. Waited 25 minutes for transport pickup which could have been better

Frau Di_Modugno, 01 Jul 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

It was fit for purpose / beds very comfy /staff helpful and transfers to Gatwick were good. The breakfast room a little stark and it would be better if breakfast was served until 10. Better control over temperature in the room as it was either too hot/cold.

Herr Friedhelm, 26 Jun 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Everything was excellent! Staff were friendly and efficient . Room was basic but clean. Ideal for an overnight stay for an early flight. Food was very good.

Frau W?, 22 Jun 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Everything went well & staff very helpful. Taxi organised for us - would definitely use again

Herr Jost, 15 Jun 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Everything went well. The hotel was fairly basic but functional and it was inexpensive. I'd be happy to use the same hotel again.

Mr Morris, 04 Jun 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

yes very

Herr Jakob, 20 May 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Very impressed with holiday extras, fabulous service. Have used hotel previously, good standard only grump is cleaning staff try to enter room early and can disturb sleep otherwise great

Mrs Maclucas, 14 May 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

The room was nice but we got no sleep doors where banging all night we would have been less tired if we had drove up to the airport in the early hours

Herr Schaaf, 15 May 2019

Best Western Skylane
1 out of 5

Was quick and easy on check, only down side was the hotel on day of collection we had to wait 10-15 minuets as there was no bell for the desk attendants attention. The room was clean and an amazing size

Mr Gerrist, 14 May 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Facilities were as described. Check in was efficient. Room was clean and comfortable. Need to make people aware the bar does not take cash, only cards. The minibus service to the airport worked very well. The pickup service was not quite so good as it took 30 minutes after calling to be picked up and they took some time to find my car keys when we got back to the hotel. The council were digging up the road immediately outside the hotel which did contribute to the delay on pickup. The car was easily accessible in the front car park and had not suffered any damage when it was moved to the side or rear of the hotel whilst we were away.

Frau Petrick, 11 May 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Nice rooms, quiet, comfy bed, food was good.

Mrs Stringer, 07 May 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Nice clean room, easy to find, good food & excellent service to & from airport.

Miss Kingham, 06 May 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

We're not happy with hotel and the service they provide for airport pickup and drop off. The women on the front desk has no customer service experience at all and was extermely rude and offish. Not a good experience at all.

Frau Palmowski-Sack, 28 Apr 2019

Best Western Skylane
2 out of 5

Very convenient location. Nice room. Excellent transfer to/from the airport.

Herr Pfitzer, 11 Apr 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Hotel nice and comfortable, food good. My only quibble is having to use purple parking - I don't recall an option to park at the hotel but when I got there I found it was possible but too late to cancel the purple parking. Next time I will park at the hotel and use their shuttle service.

Mrs Seaber, 02 Apr 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

The hotel was as described helpful pleasant staff we had dinner and drinks at hotel good and reasnabley priced.As my wife had booked the wrong night your staff and the hoteol resolved the problem very efficeintly.

Mr Mcdonald, 27 Mar 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

I am currently in the process of requesting information from the hotel manager why my vehicle was scratched on both front corners when I collected it from them.

Mr Bishop, 27 Mar 2019

Best Western Skylane
1 out of 5

We found the service easy to use, the staff at the hotel were really helpful when we called with a couple of questions before our stay and the parking and hotel room were ideal. Great, stress-free way to start our holiday!

Miss Rickard, 20 Mar 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

All was good apart from directions not very clear and further from terminal than I thought it would be

Mr Rocke, 19 Mar 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Everything was smooth and hotel staff very helpful

Mr Norris, 06 Mar 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Hotel fine, it was as advertised and travel to Gatwick and return was good. Overall a good package with the parking.

Mr Gray, 04 Mar 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Everything ran smoothly.sraff were very helpful.

Mr Mccarthy, 26 Feb 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Hotel didn't have any atmosphere staff disinterested and not welcoming at all bar was very poor not a very good selection most of the selection was not available and was expensive for the poor quality, which was very dissapoiting after a stressful drive down due to weather and diversions because of road works

Mrs Fakelman, 21 Feb 2019

Best Western Skylane
3 out of 5

No problems a good service

Mr Donovan, 18 Feb 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Yes to all the questions above.

Mr Charlick, 07 Feb 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Shower in room took half an hour to be just luke warm to use and the food in bar was way below average my partner couldn’t eat herd so we ordered dominoes after aswell.

Mr Osborne, 03 Feb 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Great hotel & excellent price. Would have given it a 10 if we were able to get a transfer to the airport. Only limited places for each time slot so book early. We got an Uber which was really easy though so didn't cause any major travel disruption.

Miss Kieran, 02 Feb 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 1159

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 29-03-2020, valid as of 24-01-2020