Reviews of the Skylane Hotel at Gatwick

Bonehurst Road, Horley, Surrey, RH6 8QF

Book the Gatwick Skylane Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 1136 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£79.00*
room-only
2 miles
from the airport
8/10
customer rating

Check out our reviews before you check in

Check out what our customers have to say about the Skylane Hotel at Gatwick.

Our customers rated Best Western Skylane, on average, 8/10 (1136 reviews).

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 1136

Good,reasonably priced hotel and parking was very good with parking at hotel for full period. Waited 25 minutes for transport pickup which could have been better

Frau Di_Modugno, 01 Jul 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

It was fit for purpose / beds very comfy /staff helpful and transfers to Gatwick were good. The breakfast room a little stark and it would be better if breakfast was served until 10. Better control over temperature in the room as it was either too hot/cold.

Herr Friedhelm, 26 Jun 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Everything was excellent! Staff were friendly and efficient . Room was basic but clean. Ideal for an overnight stay for an early flight. Food was very good.

Frau W?, 22 Jun 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Everything went well & staff very helpful. Taxi organised for us - would definitely use again

Herr Jost, 15 Jun 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Everything went well. The hotel was fairly basic but functional and it was inexpensive. I'd be happy to use the same hotel again.

Mr Morris, 04 Jun 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

yes very

Herr Jakob, 20 May 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Very impressed with holiday extras, fabulous service. Have used hotel previously, good standard only grump is cleaning staff try to enter room early and can disturb sleep otherwise great

Mrs Maclucas, 14 May 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

The room was nice but we got no sleep doors where banging all night we would have been less tired if we had drove up to the airport in the early hours

Herr Schaaf, 15 May 2019

Best Western Skylane
1 out of 5

Was quick and easy on check, only down side was the hotel on day of collection we had to wait 10-15 minuets as there was no bell for the desk attendants attention. The room was clean and an amazing size

Mr Gerrist, 14 May 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Facilities were as described. Check in was efficient. Room was clean and comfortable. Need to make people aware the bar does not take cash, only cards. The minibus service to the airport worked very well. The pickup service was not quite so good as it took 30 minutes after calling to be picked up and they took some time to find my car keys when we got back to the hotel. The council were digging up the road immediately outside the hotel which did contribute to the delay on pickup. The car was easily accessible in the front car park and had not suffered any damage when it was moved to the side or rear of the hotel whilst we were away.

Frau Petrick, 11 May 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Nice rooms, quiet, comfy bed, food was good.

Mrs Stringer, 07 May 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Nice clean room, easy to find, good food & excellent service to & from airport.

Miss Kingham, 06 May 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

We're not happy with hotel and the service they provide for airport pickup and drop off. The women on the front desk has no customer service experience at all and was extermely rude and offish. Not a good experience at all.

Frau Palmowski-Sack, 28 Apr 2019

Best Western Skylane
2 out of 5

Very convenient location. Nice room. Excellent transfer to/from the airport.

Herr Pfitzer, 11 Apr 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Hotel nice and comfortable, food good. My only quibble is having to use purple parking - I don't recall an option to park at the hotel but when I got there I found it was possible but too late to cancel the purple parking. Next time I will park at the hotel and use their shuttle service.

Mrs Seaber, 02 Apr 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

The hotel was as described helpful pleasant staff we had dinner and drinks at hotel good and reasnabley priced.As my wife had booked the wrong night your staff and the hoteol resolved the problem very efficeintly.

Mr Mcdonald, 27 Mar 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

I am currently in the process of requesting information from the hotel manager why my vehicle was scratched on both front corners when I collected it from them.

Mr Bishop, 27 Mar 2019

Best Western Skylane
1 out of 5

We found the service easy to use, the staff at the hotel were really helpful when we called with a couple of questions before our stay and the parking and hotel room were ideal. Great, stress-free way to start our holiday!

Miss Rickard, 20 Mar 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

All was good apart from directions not very clear and further from terminal than I thought it would be

Mr Rocke, 19 Mar 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Everything was smooth and hotel staff very helpful

Mr Norris, 06 Mar 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Hotel fine, it was as advertised and travel to Gatwick and return was good. Overall a good package with the parking.

Mr Gray, 04 Mar 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Everything ran smoothly.sraff were very helpful.

Mr Mccarthy, 26 Feb 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Hotel didn't have any atmosphere staff disinterested and not welcoming at all bar was very poor not a very good selection most of the selection was not available and was expensive for the poor quality, which was very dissapoiting after a stressful drive down due to weather and diversions because of road works

Mrs Fakelman, 21 Feb 2019

Best Western Skylane
3 out of 5

No problems a good service

Mr Donovan, 18 Feb 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Yes to all the questions above.

Mr Charlick, 07 Feb 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Shower in room took half an hour to be just luke warm to use and the food in bar was way below average my partner couldn’t eat herd so we ordered dominoes after aswell.

Mr Osborne, 03 Feb 2019

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Great hotel & excellent price. Would have given it a 10 if we were able to get a transfer to the airport. Only limited places for each time slot so book early. We got an Uber which was really easy though so didn't cause any major travel disruption.

Miss Kieran, 02 Feb 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

They were fine the room was nice and clean but they could have had the heating on.

Mrs Brichard, 19 Jan 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Hotel was very basic. Reception staff not very helpful. Also there was a fire alarm at 5am and we went to ground floor and staff didn't know is it a fire or not-none evacuated us, no instructions-just standing there with horrible noise for over 10 min.

Mrs Nedeljkov, 08 Jan 2019

Best Western Skylane
3 out of 5

Everything went as planned and was so quick and easy! Stress free start to my holidays!

Miss Shields, 06 Jan 2019

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Everything went smoothly. Perfectly acceptable room and transfers.

Mr Webb, 28 Dec 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Hotel was clean but basic - not proper toiletries in bathroom, tv not working, not that we had much time to watch. Evening meal ok but when we went for breakfast we were told it was not ready as they were having trouble with chef. Arrived in dribs and drabs. Car park chaotic and when we returned after the chaos of delayed flights reception unwelcoming and miserable.

Mrs Austin, 24 Dec 2018

Best Western Skylane
3 out of 5

Excellent service yet again, very pleased.

Mr Symonds, 20 Dec 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

The hotel and car parking arrangements were exactly what we wanted, and the staff were polite and helpfulm

Mr Colvin, 10 Dec 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Good clean comfortable room, breakfast was ok

Mrs Lawrence, 08 Dec 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

No trouble at any stage. A good start the holiday.

Mr Simkins, 05 Dec 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Ran to plan thanks .

Mr/S Coe, 24 Nov 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Ran to plan thanks .

Mr/S Coe, 23 Nov 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Hotel was excellent Only issue was the pick up on return seemed like communication between hotel and driver was not as good as last year We had to come back separately and intent one of us waiting at airport

Mrs Canepe, 21 Nov 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Ladies in reception were quite good. However, l would like to point out they want your car keys passed to reception by 19.00, reason so they can re-park your car. There was a argument in reception as a couple had arrs ge to go out for a a meal and needed their car and wouldn't be back until near 23.00.

Mrs Rust, 21 Nov 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Nothing more than an average hotel at best. Seems a shortage of staff at this hotel. Most things ok except the long wait to be picked up by their shuttle bus on our return from holiday. Problem being it seems that there is only one bus & driver which means if bus is full,literally you get left behind & have to wait a considerable time for it's return.

Mr Ellis, 04 Nov 2018

Best Western Skylane
2 out of 5

The shuttle service needs to be improved the driver could hardly lift any of the cases onto the van. The hotel restaurant is not as described in your advert as it was cold, no atmosphere with a limited menu choice.

Mr Rees, 02 Nov 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Hotel transport turned up 30 minutes late on a cold night and directions to the hotel were inadequate.

Mr Stubbs, 31 Oct 2018

Best Western Skylane
2 out of 5

Sky Lane LGW is good value even if a little down market. The transfer was efficient and very little waiting on return

Mr Morris, 31 Oct 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Hotel was ok nothing special Watch when you go to pick car up parked so close to other cars have trouble getting into car The transfer back from airport a joke you ring for pickup then you have to wait so long probably quicker to walk

Mr Andrews, 31 Oct 2018

Best Western Skylane
2 out of 5

Found that the accommodation and food was better than anticipated. But not too happy with the way that Cars were parked by Hotel employees. Fortunately no damage sustained to my vehicle, not too happy that Hotel does not take responsibility for damage caused whilst the car is being looked after by them. Took me 20mins to get through to Hotel to request pick up from Gatwick,as line engaged. Will not stay there again.

Mr Beech, 27 Oct 2018

Best Western Skylane
3 out of 5

Hotel was nice except on ground floor which was a bit noisy. Parking very tight but no issues when returning to pick the car up

Mrs Furse, 22 Oct 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

The hotel very nice & comfortable. The main thing that let us down on your part was when we booked we asked for two rooms with walk in showers, but the hotel didn't have any rooms with walk in showers. So that caused us some difficulty with getting in & out of the bath. The shower was a bit difficult to use & couldn't get it hot enough for my liking.It would be a good idea on your part if some one request's that whether you can check first or maybe they can but it on the hotels website. We did try to call the hotel about a week before our stay to check on this but couldn't get an answer from the hotel & by then I'm sure it would have been too late to change hotels & even if had the time wouldn't have wanted the hassle.

Mr Barker, 22 Oct 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

A good hotel stay with parking on site. The room was adequate, clean and quiet. It was further away from Gatwick south terminal than we realised and an early start meant that we needed a taxi both ways - £6 out and £14 back from airport.

Mrs Lloyd, 22 Oct 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Everything worked well. One small negative comment would be thst the breakfast orange juice tasted more like orange squash.

Miss Kemp-Gee, 16 Oct 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 1136

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 15-09-2019, valid as of 16-07-2019