Reviews of the Skylane Hotel at Gatwick

Bonehurst Road, Horley, Surrey, RH6 8QF

Book the Gatwick Skylane Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 1165 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£56.00*
room-only
2 miles
from the airport
80 1165 8/10
customer rating

Check out our reviews before you check in

Check out what our customers have to say about the Skylane Hotel at Gatwick.

Our customers rated Best Western Skylane, on average, 8/10 (1165 reviews).

Viewing reviews 101 - 150 of 1165

we have used holiday extras for years, some hotels are better than others, but in the main we’ve been very happy, we wouldn’t keep coming back if we weren’t

Mr Torrison, 21 Aug 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Went smoothly and good room but bar/restaurant was closed

Mr Jones, 13 Aug 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Easy to find, helpful friendly staff, comfy bed and good breakfast. Transfers to and from the airport were great. Would definitely recommend for overnight stay and holiday parking.

Mrs Heaton, 11 Aug 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Dirty hotel, no return shuttle as stated online.

Miss Burke, 05 Aug 2018

Best Western Skylane
1 out of 5

The hotel was pleasant and the room comfortable and well equipped. As our flight wasn't particularly early we had breakfast at the hotel and it was very good. We went to the airport by taxi at a cost of £3 per head which is very reasonable. On our return I rang the hotel and the bus arrived 15 minutes later. picking up the key was very quick and we were soon on our way home.

Mr Heading, 05 Aug 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Very basic accommodation. Reception staff not very friendly and on our return we were not able to get a drink from anything but a vending machine. On the good side the restaurant staff were friendly and the food was good. The hotel was also clean but dated. About right for the price we paid so I may have been harsh in rating it 4 maybe should be a 6.

Mr Newman, 29 Jul 2018

Best Western Skylane
2 out of 5

E erythema went smoothly, no problems whatsoever

Mr Jones, 23 Jul 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

All worked well - bit muddly at reception when we arrived but we managed. We paid for the return fare to Gatwick to to save paying when we returned but there was no receipt (I did ask, but was told there wasn’t one) so I was a bit concerned that we had no proof of our payment as it was a cash transaction.

Mrs Macleod, 12 Jul 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

The room in the hotel we stayed at was good. The staff were helpful mainly, but were under considerable pressure. The food was poor. The parking was OK but the pick up from Gatwick was slow as we had to phone then wait for pickup.

Mr Page, 11 Jul 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Hotel rooms large and confortable. Paid for return shuttle to and from airport. On day of returne rang hotel to be informed that shuttle was off road and had to get a taxi. On discussion hotel finaly agreed to pay for taxi which cost £6.80 even though we had already paid £12 for return and no offer of refunding difference was made ☹ï¸

Mr Turner, 07 Jul 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Staff were busy but very helpful. We had to switch rooms as the first was very damp but was done quickly. I left a jacket behind which I was able to collect on my return. Car park was extremely full on arrival

Mr Hart, 07 Jul 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Hotel comfy, well located. Reception team available and helpful. Parking space difficult to find on arrival but was assisted at the hotel and though we had to wait about 35 minutes for the shuttle bus on return at the airport, this was advertised to us when we called and the car was readily available and accessible for a quick getaway on return to the hotel. We have already booked a stay and parking for our next trip

Mr Kendrick, 06 Jul 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Requested upgraded seats x 2 but only got standard with zero communication

Mr Basher, 06 Jul 2018

Best Western Skylane
3 out of 5

Best western at gatwick was of good standard at an excellant price and car parking remains on property.there is a restaurant and bar attached to hotel. All you need for an overnight stay

Mr Fenwick, 03 Jul 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Quality of hotel poor. Receptionist service was also awful, asleep in back room when on 24-hour service - failed to pass on messages. Car parking extremely tight and hard to even park car on arrival

Mr Milburn, 01 Jul 2018

Best Western Skylane
1 out of 5

Hotel and car parking worked well. Pick up and return in 12 mins. Car was ready to go. A bit dusty but otherwise fine. Hotel was basic clean with eating facilities. Would definitely recommend.

Mr Mullaney, 28 Jun 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Breakfast room was very drab and the choices for breakfast was very limited for the price we paid. That said everything else ran smoothly.

Miss Green, 28 Jun 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Customer service at the hotel was shocking! Charged us for the shuttle bus return but don’t actually offer one, when I phoned the hotel to a request this he was not helpful and just said I’ll get you a taxi. Didn’t advise the taxi company or where he will meet at all. Very bad experience and would never stay there again.

Miss Scrimshaw, 27 Jun 2018

Best Western Skylane
1 out of 5

You need to remove thus hotel from your site They have no interest to providing any care for clients On arrival they disputed the number of days parking we had booked and paid for despite me having a copy of our booking confirmation On returning to collect the car. It took them an hour to arrange for a prepaid taxi to collect us. I had to make 3 calls to them. Very slow to answer. They hung up on me and couldn’t give a dam. There attitude to both me and my wife was shocking. I will never use them and again and will never recommend. They will be getting negative feedback on tripadviser and I will also be calling Best Western headoffice to complaint directly

Mr Warren, 24 Jun 2018

Best Western Skylane
1 out of 5

Parking was limited when we arrived. Accommodation was basic and overall the decor throughout the hotel needs a refresh.

Ms Jaber, 22 Jun 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Great hotel to stay if your flying from Gatwick

Mr Scott, 12 Jun 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Unable to eat at hotel during the day, taxi late to airport and long wait for return pick up. Room fine but wouldn't recommend.

Mrs Humphrey, 11 Jun 2018

Best Western Skylane
1 out of 5

All was fine considering our late arrival back.Breakfast could be done with being a little later but the staff went out of there way to ensure all the food items were there.Would book again .

Mr Graham, 10 Jun 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Hotel ok but our plane was cancelled so we arrived a day late.they charged for two extra days parking.one I agree to but we had to pay a full days parking when we arrived at the hotel at 6.30 in the morning.i think we should have been half a day.considering I go to this hotel 4/5 times a year.also we booked a room for our return which we did not need but could not get a refund.

Mrs Lewis, 10 Jun 2018

Best Western Skylane
3 out of 5

Everything went smoothly

Mrs Spooner, 07 Jun 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

On return the wing mirrors on my car had been manually folded in, however the mirrors are the auto folding type. As a result the mirrors would not re locate at the drive position as by moving manually the mirrors had lost the home position. Reported to night manager who saw the problem but unable to offer assistance. The issue has now been resolved, power to mirror circuit needed to be reomoved to allow system to reset. Contacted hotel manager who initially claimed it was a manufacturing defect on the vehicle and then subsequently claimed their drivers do not touch any wing mirrors and do not manually fold them in. Interestingly the people we travelled with who also stayed found their mirrors were manually folded in on their vehicle on return, but luckily theirs folded out again OK.

Mr Marshall, 06 Jun 2018

Best Western Skylane
1 out of 5

Easy to find hotel. Great service at check in. Lovely clean hotel with comfy beds and choice of pillows. Delicious buffet breakfast. Shuttle bus quick. We landed early hours of the morning so we were unable to use the shuttle on return but the hotel gave us a taxi telephone number and the taxi charged us the same price as the shuttle as was there within 5 minutes. Second time we have used this hotel and parking and we have already booked it again for our next trip.

Mrs Cushing, 01 Jun 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

A bit chaotic at the hotel, nowhere obvious to park and the hotel staff seemed a bit overwhelmed with it all. The parking area seemed overcrowded leaving us with the impression that we would come back to damaged cars.

Mr Boland, 02 Jun 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Staff very good . Basic no frills hotel but adequate for overnight sleep . Good breakfast and short shuttle journey to north terminal gatwick airport and to leave the car there at hotel for duration parked up . The gentleman that ran people to and from the airport was very civil and gracious . Would recommend Best Western Skyline

Mrs Watson, 01 Jun 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

They were better than expected

Mrs Nichol, 30 May 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Excellent service; all went according to plan even though the flight home was delayed, the car was ready and waiting.

Mr Forrow, 29 May 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Every went like clockwork, was as described and wasgreat value. Roll on next trip!

Mr Ellis, 27 May 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

We stayed in the hotel for 1 night before we traveled. It was fine for a 1 night crash over. Tea and coffee in the room, staff friendly enough, could do with an update. It served its purpose, we would stay again but wouldn't stay other than as a 1 night stop.

Miss Louis, 23 May 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Terrible welcome Upon return advised we had got the wrong date for return but all paperwork showed we had got it correct Shuttle bus driver on return was to put it politely extremely rude. Shuttle bus outbound was late hotel ordered a taxi for us at no cost Public toilets dirty

Mr Hussey, 16 May 2018

Best Western Skylane
1 out of 5

Staff were very helpful and car was ready in front of hotel when we came home.

Mrs Frith, 09 May 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Hotel was just about ok but the shuttle service was very poor... took over an hour for the minibus to collect us from the airport to bring us back to hotel and car... need more minibuses

Mr Morton, 07 May 2018

Best Western Skylane
2 out of 5

Excellent service

Mr Senior, 29 Apr 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

perfectly and will stay here again

Mr Speechley, 28 Apr 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Rear car park was being resurficed when we arrived ,so parking was a wee bit tight. This is now complete so much more room for cars.Apart from this , it was excellent value for money. Taxi was booked for 3am. for early departure and arrived on time. Room was clean and staff friendly and very helpful, but don't rely on your early mourning wake up call!

Ms Millin, 28 Apr 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

a great service

Miss Stephens, 18 Apr 2018

Best Western Skylane
4 out of 5

Staff helpful with check in and out although don't know why have to fill in forms when you already have print out of booking and they have details. However they booked taxi for us and everything went well.

Mrs Tubridy, 16 Apr 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Paid for breakfast but service did not start until and we had to leave at. There was nothing to give the children to eat. I asked if they could have some fruit and was told no as service did not start until

Mr Moore, 13 Apr 2018

Best Western Skylane
3 out of 5

Hotel renovated since our last stay. Excellent standard. Very comfortable room and bed. Well decorated. Staff helpful and pleasant. Provided one guest with extra blanket. Could do with another pillow on beds. Shame room was cold on arrival.

Mrs Lowe, 20 Mar 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Stayed at this hotel before and as last time everything went smoothly. Friendly helpful staff, clean rooms and convenient transfers to and from airport. Will definitely book again.

Mr Sanderson, 19 Mar 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Helpful staff comfy rooms

Mr Mckenna, 16 Mar 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

While process was excellent from start to finish

Mr Mclaughlin, 20 Feb 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Very helpful staff at Holiday Extras. Everything went smoothly with our bookings - hotel and car parking before our flight and hotel on return.

Mr Stephens, 15 Feb 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Park & Stay worked well - car park a bit uneven - hotel room OK for one night probably would not stay any longer if used on future when Flying from Gatwick.

Mr Lentell, 14 Feb 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

There was plenty of parking available at the hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was excellent. Very amiable person took us to the airport and collected us on our return in the hotel mini bus. The wait after phoning the Hotel to say we had returned and required picking up was minimal. We will definitely use this hotel every time we fly from Gatwick in the future. Far less hassle than going on a hoppa bus and struggling with luggage.

Mrs Squire, 11 Feb 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Very good had to order taxi as transfare wasn’t running

Mr Anderton, 03 Feb 2018

Best Western Skylane
5 out of 5

Viewing reviews 101 - 150 of 1165

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 26-04-2020, valid as of 25-02-2020