Reviews of the Thistle Hotel Heathrow

Bath Road, Longford, West Drayton, Middlesex, UB7 0EQ

Book the Heathrow Thistle Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 333 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£53.10*
room-only
1 miles
from the airport
8.2/10
customer rating

Our customers make it plane and clear

Our customers rated , on average, 8/10 (72 reviews).

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 72

Great hotel in a fantastic area with easy access to the terminal via the Pod

Ms Doyle, 05 Jan 2019

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

The only thing that I felt had let the hotel down was there was no lift to the top floor. otherwise all was good. nice hotel, great location and the POD Parking was a bonus

Mrs Teasdale, 05 Jan 2019

Thistle T5
4 out of 5

Hotel good, parking was good when we eventually found a space. A large function was taking place so parking spaces were in short supply.

Mr Targett, 04 Jan 2019

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

Great service and excellent booking system. Simple to cancel or amend bookings. I have used HE for over at least 7 trips and found it perfect each time.

Mr Bailey, 02 Jan 2019

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

I was really disappointed as the reception was probably the most painful experience I have ever experienced, I had travelled for hours and just wanted to rest up. The table service in the restaurant was slow and the food wasn't the best. My room had corridor doors outside and the clanking of the magnets throughout the night kept me awake, with an early flight i barely slept. i mentioned it at reception the next morning and she said that there had been a number of complaints. When I flew back to the UK I then had to join another Q at reception to have my parking validated probably stood there for 25 mins and when I got to the desk no apology. I had a 4 hour drive ahead of me and just wanting to get on my way. All in all a really disappointing stay.

Miss Rickard, 19 Dec 2018

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

Nice hotel, easy to park, staff very helpful. So easy to walk over to Terminal 5 from this hotel

Mrs Bentley, 17 Dec 2018

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

Stayed at the Thistle hotel, accessed the car park with assistance of the call button, parked up easily enough and checked in with no issues. Staff were helpful with regards to checking in. accessing the POD and what to do on return. The room was clean and quiet, had an early start so went to sleep almost straight away. The room came with a shower and bath and both were fine, hot water etc. No distributions from other guests and the check out process was easy. Access to POD was easy and using the POD to get to T5 was brilliant.

Mr Fleming, 08 Dec 2018

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

Staff were helpful. The pod to T5 was efficient

Mrs Bartholomew, 04 Dec 2018

Thistle T5
4 out of 5

Good hotel with excellent pod link direct to terminal 5 will definitely use agsin

Mrs Stanley, 03 Dec 2018

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

hotel with parking at thistle heathrow so simple and easy

Mr Daniel, 25 Nov 2018

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

Room was old and in need of updating, especially the bathroom.

Miss Dawson, 17 Nov 2018

Thistle T5
4 out of 5

Super convenient for terminal 5 and great fun travelling on the pod! Room was comfortable enough but no hot water (it was barely luke warm) when all we really wanted on arrival was a nice hot shower! It was only one night pre-travel, so not a huge problem. Car remained securely parked at the hotel for the duration of our break.

Mrs Clarke, 15 Nov 2018

Thistle T5
4 out of 5

Stayed 2 nights, before and on return from holiday. Left car in hotel car for duration of holiday. Found hotel rooms on both nights basic and dated but functional for one night. The beds were very comfortable and so had a good sleep. Good meal in runway view restaurant. A good hotel for airport for flights from Heathrow Terminal 5. Car stays were you parked it I will stay here again.

Mr Dale, 13 Nov 2018

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

The booking process was good as usual. Check in and checkout was good too. The room was nice but like the rest of the hotel dated.The bathroom could do with a little tlc or a makeover.. the place is dated but sufficient for a night sleep. The restaurant looks the part but the food was sub standard for the price, quality was that of pre packed food placed in a not so fancy way on your plate to look fancy.. Overall good place to stop for airport convenience

Mr Trcek, 12 Nov 2018

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

The Thistle, Heathrow, provides a very good overnight stay before catching a flight or returning from a long distance. The restaurant has very acceptable dinner and breakfast menus, and the rooms, although on the cozy side, are comfortable and clean. Access to the airport via the Pod or the shuttle bus services is excellent, and the whole benefit of avoiding the risk of being stuck on motorways missing your flight, plus the ease of parking a car at the hotel is worth every penny of the hotel cost.

Mr Flack, 06 Nov 2018

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

Good airport hotel with parking on site, room and bed comfortable and good evening meal in restaurant . Easy access to pod transport to terminal 5. Slight issue with exiting car park on return, had ticket validated at hotel reception but machine at exit said time expired! After speaking to reception via intercom was able to exit.

Mrs Norton, 30 Oct 2018

Thistle T5
4 out of 5

We have used the service for many years, as we have found it to be one of the best ways to start our holidays. The hotels and parking facilities near to the airports make life so much easier. Will not hesitate to use again.

Mr Owens, 28 Oct 2018

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

Yes although room was a little tired and musty smelling.

Mrs Langridge, 29 Oct 2018

Thistle T5
4 out of 5

The hotel was clean, the room was spacious, food good, staff friendly and professional. Really good pod transfer to terminal 5 will use again when flying from Heathrow.

Mrs Howard, 27 Oct 2018

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

Helpful staff. Good parking. Comfortable hotel. Reasonable restaurant and bar. Pod transport to Terminal 5 very exciting.

Ms Black, 27 Oct 2018

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

Hotel was what you'd expect from a Thistle. Staff were lovely and efficient. Breakfast had lots on offer. But the big plus for this hotel is the pod that takes you to the airport. Fun and so easy to use. Tickets bought at the hotel reception. Will always use this hotel if I'm travelling from T5.

Mrs Cleverley, 26 Oct 2018

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

Very pleased, everything was just perfect.

Mr Cashmore, 26 Oct 2018

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

Excellently situated hotel for buses into Heathrow T5 as well as easy access to the Heathrow Pod. Friendly helpful and well staffed reception so no waiting.

Mrs Meves, 24 Oct 2018

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

Excellent hotel perfect for T5

Mr Curd, 24 Oct 2018

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

Excellent POD service, hotel parking a little difficult as no spaces.

Mr Catchlove, 18 Oct 2018

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

Every time we have flown from Heathrow, we have used the Thistle Hotel, as it is the most convenient for us, and we have no complaints about the about the Hotel or its facilities.

Mr Owens, 17 Oct 2018

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

Facilities basic, but so was the price. Staff were excellent

Mr Dunton, 16 Oct 2018

Thistle T5
3 out of 5

The hotel is very convenient for T5 and the POD very effective. Croissants and coffee are available for early departures. There was a little confusion with the time we had parking to, but this was easily cleared up through the company’s chat line.

Mrs Smith, 15 Oct 2018

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

ALL ROOM TOILETRIES HAD BEEN OPENED, NO PLUG FOR WASSH BASIN, DIRTY MARKS ON BATHROOM FLOOR.

Mr Cannon, 15 Oct 2018

Thistle T5
2 out of 5

Exactly as described will definitely use this hotel again

Mr Sturch, 11 Oct 2018

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

Very good hotel, breakfast was good and the service including the POD WERE EXCELENT.

Mr Lyon, 09 Oct 2018

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

Room and parking good and Pod parking. Breakfast wasn’t worth the money. Overall really happy with service and staff were reallly helpful.

Mrs Randall, 01 Oct 2018

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

Directions to hotel completely absent when turning into service area - drove round looking for hotel but couldn't find - eventually found 45 minutes later after detour up motorway to next junction.

Mr Sanderson, 01 Oct 2018

Thistle T5
3 out of 5

The staff were great. The hotel is in need of a refurb. It is brilliantly located. Parking is totally inadequate for the number of guests and many had to 'abandon' their cars in some dodgy spots! Breakfast was excellent

Mr Perks, 30 Sep 2018

Thistle T5
4 out of 5

1. Check-in nightmare: no parking spaces and huge queue at reception. 2. This hotel was chosen partly on basis of availability of POD transfers; pre-planned closures of POD at weekends were known by hotel but we were still sold tickets and not told until we arrived at the station.

Mr Senior, 30 Sep 2018

Thistle T5
1 out of 5

The facilities were as expected we had stayed before, but there is no lift to the first floor a porter is available to carry the bags to your room

Mr Dearing, 29 Sep 2018

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

While the hotel was good as far as room quality and the restaurant we were told that they had overbooked the car park so we couldn't park there. Luckily as we had booked through Holiday Extras we were given alternative parking which was actually better but if we had booked direct with the hotel we could have had a problem.

Mr Hughes, 27 Sep 2018

Thistle T5
4 out of 5

We booked overnight at the Thistle T5 with the intention of using the POD into T5 the following day (Sunday), returning the following Sunday. Neither day was the POD working and we were told that the POD does not operate at weekends. Therefore it was a waste of money to pay for something which does not operate when reguired

Mr Losh, 26 Sep 2018

Thistle T5
3 out of 5

unable to get passed page 2.

Mr Beavis, 25 Sep 2018

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

Room spotless, restaurant excellent, staff first rate.

Mr Wallace, 25 Sep 2018

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

The service from Holiday Extras was fine, but the Heathrow Thistle T5 overbooked their car park so we were "upgraded" to a Meet & Greet with Purple Parking instead. As we specifically did NOT want to have to drive to the T5 Short Stay car park, we were not happy. We will not use Thistle again! We booked 7 months in advance. How could they overbook the car park at less than 24 hours notice?

Mrs Butchers, 26 Sep 2018

Thistle T5
2 out of 5

No help to take our cases to room despite there being no lift so had to carry them upstairs

Mr Ullathorne, 23 Sep 2018

Thistle T5
4 out of 5

Only just found a car parking space, long queues in hotel, hotel very basic considering de luxe bedroom. Pods not working both trips long queues again at return to hotel. Not very impressive

Mrs Savory, 23 Sep 2018

Thistle T5
3 out of 5

Hotel was very good. Pod service, although out of action, alternative bus service was effective. Car parking absolutely awful. We arrived at 8pm the night before our flight. The car park was full. There were several cars waiting in an already overcrowded car park. There were cars everywhere, on double yellows, on verges, on the end of bays, across entrances, on pavements. Driving around the site was difficult due to all the unauthorised parking and must have been a safety issue. We spent more than an hour driving round. The hotel claimed it was due to a function but when we tried to find a space at 10.30pm the result was the same. In the end a member of the hotel team advised us to park the car across a hotel entrance and said it was okay to leave it for a week. When we left at 5am the next morning there were still no spaces available. We worried about where the vehicle had been left throughout our holiday and full expected it to have been towed away. The car was ok on our return but on the basis of the parking issue we are unlikely to return which is a shame as the hotel room was very comfortable and quiet and represented good value for money.

Mrs Wingham, 22 Sep 2018

Thistle T5
2 out of 5

Parking was terrible, cars parked everywhere, had to drive around with parking supervisor for a hour to order to get one or who noes! Paid for pod and then out of service both ways not told at hotel when paid!!

Mrs Bee, 22 Sep 2018

Thistle T5
1 out of 5

No parking spaces available on arrival at the hotel. It was parking chaos. Receptionist told us to park on the double yellow lines in front of the entrance. I checked twice that evening to see if spaces had become available, they hadn’t. I was assured that my car would perfectly safe there until 14th September as it was causing any obstruction. She said there had been a problem with their booking system and they didn’t have enough parking spaces to meet the bookings. The Receptionist was friendly and tried to be helpful but there was nothing she could do. We also had no phone in our room. At 5 45 am on 4th September I went to hand the keys in at the Reception Desk. All of a sudden, a gentleman I was later told was the Night Manager came after me. In a very rude way he said my car was causing an obstruction and would have to be moved now. I explained the Receptionist the day before said it was fine and would be safe until our return. He said it must be moved now and was again rude and abrupt. I asked where the spaces were and he to.d me to drive round and find one. There was one space near to the entrance but the car in the next space was partially over the line so I didn’t want to leave my car there. After driving round the whole car park there were no parking spaces. Just as I approached the exit barrier again I noticed a space right next to the exit. I was panicking a bit as I knew my husband was waiting with our luggage and I didn’t want to be rushed getting to Terminal 5 on the Pod. I reversed the car, but not far enough and scraped the front near side bumper on the post. I scratched my car and was left with yellow paint on it. I then reparked safely in the space. I decided I would speak to a hotel manager on our return. When we returned to the Thistle at about 20 30 there was no Manager available when I asked at Reception. The following morning I went to show my husband the damage I had done, only to find that something had gone into my back bumper whilst we were away. I did speak to the General Manager, she was pleasant and understanding but said the hotel took no responsibility for any damage. She took photos of the bump site and suggested I contacted on-line to report the incident which I did. However, very very disappointed as if a car parking space had been available, which I had paid for, when I arrived none of this would have happened. A pity the Thistle can’t provide parking spaces that have been paid for. Also a pity their staff can’t agree where it is safe to leave your car. Their greed is going to mean an insurance claim for me.

Mrs Blaze, 18 Sep 2018

Thistle T5
1 out of 5

We had a lovely nights stay at the Thistle T5 hotel the night before our flight to Berlin. The restaurant was great for dinner and breakfast, also the plane spotting! The room he stayed in was spot on. Check-in at the reception was quick and efficient with polite staff. Only one criticism is the parking. We had paid in advance and although we managed to get a space, it was a bit touch and go and alot of other cars were being told to park on double yellow lines etc. I think maybe they take to many bookings for parking, more than the space they have. All in all the package we got through Holiday Extras was great, hotel stay with breakfast and parking for six days and added extra the pod to the terminal. Would definitely use again on future bookings.

Mrs Bond, 17 Sep 2018

Thistle T5
5 out of 5

Everything went smoothly and could not fault anything.

Mrs Cole, 17 Sep 2018

Thistle T5
4 out of 5

Parking was all over the place. Not enough space for the amount of cars. Check in was slow. Booked twin room and asked several times did we want two beds!

Mrs Wilkie, 17 Sep 2018

Thistle T5
2 out of 5

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 72

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 24-03-2019, valid as of 22-01-2019