Reviews for the De Salis Hotel Stansted

Hall Road, Elsenham CM22 6DR

Book the Stansted De Salis Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 69 guests

Families with young children:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£78.00*
room-only
£121.00*
including 8 days parking
3 miles
from the airport
8/10
customer rating

Close to the top of most people's lists

Our customers rated De Salis, on average, 8/10 (69 reviews).

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 69

Staff were very friendly and helpful at the rather attractive de Salis hotel which had good facilities - room was quiet and clean. Park and stay deal was excellent.

Ms Beech, 19 Jun 2019

De Salis
5 out of 5

Yes, but almost a problem as the hotel only had my forename, not my surname. Also, the long stay car park automatic number plate system didn't work, but luckily the guy in the office was able to confirm that I had paid.

Mr Ian, 13 Jun 2019

De Salis
5 out of 5

When we arrived at the hotel the front looked quite welcoming but when driving round the back the parking area could only be described as 'rough'. We were taken to our room with mutters from the receptionist that they were fully booked but may be able to offer a different room. The room we were offered had an outside entrance and was awful, with rough walls, a really old bed and a feeling of not really being part of the hotel. We said we wanted a different room and was given a room in the hotel which was better but unbeknown to us had an underfloor leak in the bathroom making the floor completely wet! We did report this in leaving but only to the night receptionist as it was 5.15am.

Mrs Mcgregor, 27 Sep 2018

De Salis
5 out of 5

Everything was brilliant and handled professionally

Mr Scott, 15 Jun 2018

De Salis
5 out of 5

Very good and the staff were great

Mr Saunders, 19 Apr 2018

De Salis
5 out of 5

Hotel was easy enough to find but road to it was bad ie flooding. Sat nav got us there fine. Room was nice and big but one pillow case was missing and no hairdryer I always check as it saves me taking my own. They did provide it on request. Food average big pizza with thick crust. It was clean with plenty of loo roll too. Handwashceascempty but they had left soaps and shampoo satchets. On returning to room we found it cold and most the heat was going out the window but bed was comfy and shower access was walk in ideal as my husbands currently using a stick due to injury.

Mr Halliwell, 11 Feb 2018

De Salis
4 out of 5

Room ok but I was a late arrival (3 am plus) and was awoken from 6 am with the noise of the planes and only found out as it got light that the bedroom window was open and letting in all the noise, so I did not get the rest before a long drive that was my reason for staying. Breakfast was good.

Mr Shynn, 31 Oct 2017

De Salis
3 out of 5

Room ok but I was a late arrival (3 am plus) and was awoken from 6 am with the noise of the planes and only found out as it got light that the bedroom window was open and letting in all the noise, so I did not get the rest before a long drive that was my reason for staying. Breakfast was good.

Mr Shynn, 31 Oct 2017

De Salis
3 out of 5

every thing was fine

Mr Leeder, 27 Oct 2017

De Salis
5 out of 5

Nice hotel, nice staff, but the parking was not at the hotel, but in long term. This took me nearly an hour to park my car and get back to the hotel the night before. I had an early morning flight and did not want to do this in the morning. The whole point of the hotel was to not have to get up too early in the morning. If I had not parked the night before, I would not have saved any time because I would have had to allow at least 40 minutes to park my car before my flight. I would have been just as well off staying in my home and driving that morning. I won't do this again with this hotel, unless I can have on site hotel parking. This is very important!

Mr Jolivet, 24 Oct 2017

De Salis
4 out of 5

ideal for overnight stay when flying from Stansted

Mr Moss, 24 Oct 2017

De Salis
4 out of 5

Hotel very handy for Stansted airport. However, very dated. Hotel needs a 'face lift'.

Mr Taylor, 23 Oct 2017

De Salis
4 out of 5

Hotel was a little difficult to find. Staff were lovely and hotel clean

Mrs Smith, 17 Oct 2017

De Salis
5 out of 5

Very short staffed and waited ages for our meal. Our room was right next door to entrance and also the door to all the rooms on our side which was very noisy, as when they shut they banged. Being near the front door the car that was being used as the shuttle was also outside our room, We did not get much sleep as car doors also banging shut and the lights from headlights showed through. So we would not use this Hotel again.

Mr Coster, 04 Oct 2017

De Salis
2 out of 5

Yes very helpful

Mr Hasler, 02 Oct 2017

De Salis
5 out of 5

Would deffintly recommend this hotel for a basic over night stay :)

Miss Warren, 24 Sep 2017

De Salis
5 out of 5

Apart a little difficulty in finding the de Salis hotel everything was good, a special thanks and appreciation for the staff at the hotel where I experienced excellent service Johno

Mr Philpott, 24 Sep 2017

De Salis
5 out of 5

Dirty room, poor customer service. Rushed through our evening meal - dessert placed on table while still eating our main course! And we witnessed another customer being spoken to very rudely. Very expensive for a tired, run down hotel.

Mrs Cornaby, 17 Sep 2017

De Salis
1 out of 5

Friendly reception staff and plenty of parking spaces. Reasonably close to Stansted. Reasonably priced. Water marks around toilet in our bathroom which need removing/floor replacing. Would use this hotel again.

Miss Newton, 10 Sep 2017

De Salis
5 out of 5

everything was as described.everthing was good.the right start for a holiday

Mr Cooper, 14 Aug 2017

De Salis
5 out of 5

Nice comfortable Hotel. Staff always there to help. Breakfast selection excellent

Mr Bristow, 03 Aug 2017

De Salis
5 out of 5

All ok . No wifi in rooms only in lobby

Miss Judd, 27 Jun 2017

De Salis
4 out of 5

Hotel was really nice but we had trouble with the parking as the car registration wasn't taken at the booking

Mr Saunders, 10 Jun 2017

De Salis
5 out of 5

I probably could have parked at the hotel and been offered their bus service but was not given that option

Mr Holden, 25 May 2017

De Salis
3 out of 5

I probably could have parked at the hotel and been offered their bus service but was not given that option

Mr Holden, 25 May 2017

De Salis
3 out of 5

room was comfortable and nice but it was above reception and heard every thing (talking, cups, plates) being put down nearly every thing that goes on in the kitchen and on reception know one at reception when it was time to leave to talk about it.

Mrs Collard, 08 Nov 2016

De Salis
4 out of 5

This is a terrible hotel (hotel is not the correct word). It would be great for a stag / hen party however! My biggest issue was the total mess up of holiday extra with the car parking!!!! Really unhappy you completely messed it all up!!!

Mr Kirk, 15 Jul 2016

De Salis
2 out of 5

rooms apparently not booked when we went to check in receptionist very unhelpful, no apology, no smile just blank looks holiday extras staff member very helpful when i rang 2 rooms booked offered one family room so spent night sharing with my son in law not good. when you try to book 4 adults there hotel will not let you but it was ok for them to give us the room when they had double booked!!!!!! hotel room appalling carpet worn, floorboards very creaky bed springs coming through very loud staff which you could hear every word even at 11pm breakfast not much better

Mrs Hagan, 23 Jun 2016

De Salis
1 out of 5

Perfect

Mr Stephenson, 16 Jun 2016

De Salis
5 out of 5

Nice place, with friendly, helpful staff. Convenient if you are flying from Stansted. You get one nights parking free, unlike a lot of the bigger hotels and you can get breakfast from 3 am, which is great if you have an early flight.

Ms Suggett, 14 May 2016

De Salis
4 out of 5

My reason for a low score is not really due to the hotel. It is more to do with your inaccurate service. There was not a bus to take me to the hotel from the airport! You need to liaise with the hotel to get this right. I spent a lot of time asking people where the bus to the hotel was located. I eventually was told to go the Radisson Blue -- who were extrememly helpful. They new the procedure and telephoned the hotel on my behalf. I waited for half an hour for the bus to arrive although I was told it would be just 10 minutes.

Ms Roberts, 08 Apr 2016

De Salis
1 out of 5

Yes........no problems at all the staff were very polite and friendly

Mr Roberts, 29 Mar 2016

De Salis
4 out of 5

Checking in was very easy The room was spacious and comrortable Highly recommended

Mr Chambers, 28 Mar 2016

De Salis
5 out of 5

Everything was how it was described. the room was nice & comfortable. The staff were friendly & helpful. the airport transfer was prompt and simple.

Mr Roberts, 26 Mar 2016

De Salis
4 out of 5

Clean, spacious room.

Miss Daniels, 24 Feb 2016

De Salis
4 out of 5

This hotel was good but the food in the evening was warm and very dry we don't drink alcohol and know tea or coffee is serve in the evening/ we went to breakfast at 8-15 the hot food was very very dry and warm ,

Mrs Fuller, 08 Feb 2016

De Salis
2 out of 5

The hotel was not what we expected. The quirkiness (& free continental breakfast) were it's only redeeming features. The room was dated, but more concernedly, Dirty! The evening meal was mediocre at best, with very limited choice, certainly not worth the "deal" price we paid.

Mrs Atkinson, 01 Dec 2015

De Salis
2 out of 5

couldn't find the hotel,though spent 2hrs looking for it. Tried phoning the hotel numerous times but got no reply. So gave up looking.

Mrs Restarick, 31 Oct 2015

De Salis
1 out of 5

FIRMER MATTRESSES WE WERE ASKED DUE TO MY DISABILITY IF THE CAR WOULD BE EASIER FOR ME BUT THE MINIBUS COLLECTED US

Mr Sharman, 27 Oct 2015

De Salis
2 out of 5

No major issues. Very helpful staff.

Mr Orr, 24 Oct 2015

De Salis
5 out of 5

Found the facilities at the hotel to be ok , restaurant was not bad , but had run out of white wine !! staff were friendly and helpful , hotel was clean Most annoying thing was once arrived at airport , phoned the hotel up and was told would have to wait 30 minutes for my lift to come and pick me up !!

Mr Morley, 21 Oct 2015

De Salis
4 out of 5

Great staff Nice food but awful squeaky uncomfortable beds

Mrs Oliver-Puddepha, 19 Oct 2015

De Salis
3 out of 5

The facilities, including the pre-booked dinner were excellent although, being in the Hospitality Industry myself, I was surprised at how small and under-equipped the bar seemed. Also, we paid for transfers to and from the airport (which were dearer than advertised) and we were dropped a good distance away from the Terminal building (at the entrance of the Radisson Blu Hotel) rather than use the Express drop-off point at the Terminal. We are both pensioners, and had 2 suitcases plus carry-ons, so the distance we were obliged to walk before even getting to the Check-In desks was not appreciated.

Mr Game, 18 Oct 2015

De Salis
4 out of 5

Warmer room and a bar

Mrs Turner, 15 Oct 2015

De Salis
4 out of 5

Room was fine

Miss Wright, 08 Oct 2015

De Salis
4 out of 5

Difficult to find hotel

Mr Wolstenholme, 02 Oct 2015

De Salis
2 out of 5

Booked De Salis Hotel. We had to change rooms upon arrival as the allocated room had mold growth from the room next door's bathroom! Rooms very basic and in need of a good clean and refurb. Very little choice for dinner in the restaurant. Having said this the staff were very helpful and pleasant. The bus to the airport and back was good, although they dropped us off (and picked up) at the Blue Raddison Hotel and not outside the airport. Holiday Extras provided their usual excellent service but this hotel (de Salis) isn't really up to standard.

Ms Waterworth, 19 Sep 2015

De Salis
1 out of 5

Nice room & efficient service all went smoothly without any hassle

Ms Randall, 13 Sep 2015

De Salis
5 out of 5

Helpful staff.

Miss Charlton, 05 Jul 2015

De Salis
5 out of 5

Lovely hotel and the staff very helpful and prompt pickup from the airport.

Mr Forshaw, 30 Jun 2015

De Salis
5 out of 5

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 69

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 24-11-2019, valid as of 19-09-2019