Menzies London Gatwick airport hotel reviews


This hotel is now closed

This hotel has gone into administration and is no longer accepting bookings.

For a similar hotel, we recommend the Ramada Plaza or the Courtyard By Marriott.

84% of customers who left a review for the Menzies Chequers would book again
137 customers have given an average rating of 4 out of 5

  • "Everything was fine, facilities were as described and staff were very helpful."
    Miss Spinelli, 23 Jul 2013

    Menzies Chequers
    5 out of 5

  • "Great price unbeatable"
    Mr Denman, 24 Jun 2013

    Menzies Chequers
    5 out of 5

  • "Service fine but costly"
    Mr Smith, 19 Jun 2013

    Menzies Chequers
    5 out of 5

  • "Very helpful, quick and efficient. Will definitely use you again. Thank you"
    Mrs Palmer, 24 May 2013

    Menzies Chequers
    5 out of 5

  • "I thought where we stayed was very good and friendly staff. I would recommend the hotel to friends and I would stay there again"
    Miss Whitehouse, 04 Feb 2013

    Menzies Chequers
    5 out of 5

  • "both hotels were about par for airport budget hotels, but could do with a bit of refurbishment."
    Mr Bishop, 06 Jan 2013

    Menzies Chequers
    2 out of 5

  • "holiday extras were good, as usual. airport hotels we used were typical, ie thin walls and floors, noisy 'guests' through the night, and some rooms in need of some TLC. meals however were quite good. would we use holiday extras again? of course!"
    Mr Bishop, 05 Jan 2013

    Menzies Chequers
    3 out of 5

  • "Everthing was satisfactory"
    Boone, 18 Nov 2012

    Menzies Chequers
    4 out of 5

  • "Menzies Gatwick a bit tired-needed upgrading. Not as good as Holiday Inn which we have used before but was fully booked."
    Beaumont, 04 Nov 2012

    Menzies Chequers
    4 out of 5

  • "everything went as planned nice small hotel in gatwick very pleased thank you"
    Mrs Conn, 14 Aug 2012

    Menzies Chequers
    5 out of 5

  • "We were 2 oaps travelling home who arrived tired and weary after a long journey for an overnight stay. We found the Hotel very pleasant, staff extremely helpful and friendly."
    Mrs Sanderson, 12 Aug 2012

    Menzies Chequers
    4 out of 5

  • "Have booked with you before and had no problems will book again"
    Mrs Simpson, 23 Jul 2012

    Menzies Chequers
    5 out of 5

  • "As usual the Best of the Best"
    Mr Antill, 30 Jun 2012

    Menzies Chequers
    5 out of 5

  • "excellent"
    Mrs Valentine, 20 Feb 2012

    Menzies Chequers
    5 out of 5

  • "Super hotel,great staff,very easy transfers to and from airport,will be using again for sure"
    Mrs Page, 06 Feb 2012

    Menzies Chequers
    5 out of 5

  • "The hotel we booked was full but they transferred us to another hotel free of charge - the location was in the middle of nowhere though
    "

    Mr Denman, 28 Sep 2011

    Menzies Chequers
    4 out of 5

  • "The staff were really helpful. However, I changed vehicle details and Maple Manor were not informed. Other than that there were no complaints at all. A good, un-stressful start and end to our holiday."
    Miss Mansell, 08 Sep 2011

    Menzies Chequers
    5 out of 5

  • "Very efficient service"
    Mr Graham, 24 May 2010

    Menzies Chequers
    5 out of 5

  • "everything was fine and we were very happy with facilities"
    Mrs Andrew, 13 Nov 2010

    Menzies Chequers
    5 out of 5

  • "The best "overnight" accommodation we have stayed in. Room was lovely. Ate in the pub which was great. Definitely 10/10!"
    Mrs Parry, 28 Sep 2010

    Menzies Chequers
    5 out of 5

  • "Nice welcome and very helpful, room very clean and comfortable."
    Mrs Mitchell, 05 Jan 2011

    Menzies Chequers
    5 out of 5

  • "Excellent value for money and would definitely use your services again."
    Miss Barton, 07 Jan 2011

    Menzies Chequers
    5 out of 5

  • "free upgrade - very happy"
    Mrs Williams, 06 Jun 2011

    Menzies Chequers
    4 out of 5

  • "We thought the hotel was very comfortable and excellent value for the price"
    Mrs Morgans, 06 Feb 2011

    Menzies Chequers
    5 out of 5

  • "Great value compared to other website, for the same room"
    Mr Zambelli, 15 Mar 2011

    Menzies Chequers
    5 out of 5

  • "Very comfortable hotel (Menzies Chequers) super rooms and really helpful staff. A brilliant, cheap taxi service to and from the airport too. I have one very minor quibble which is that the hotel couldn't let me have a receipt for the extras I put on my credit card before I checked out."
    Mrs Teece, 06 Jan 2011

    Menzies Chequers
    5 out of 5

  • "Excellent service - I was told I wouldn't g et a bed with the snow on 21 Dec, One call to holiday extra's and I got a room - no problem at all!!"
    Mrs Hughes, 06 Jan 2011

    Menzies Chequers
    5 out of 5

  • "The hotel we booked was fab and the hotel staff went out of their way to provide us with a breakfast in the early hours of the morning."
    Miss Rea, 25 Oct 2010

    Menzies Chequers
    5 out of 5

  • "Everyone was polite helpful and cheerful all transfers worked well.
    Hotel was very basic but clean and functional. Breakfast a little disappointing,very basic continental, certainly didn't set you up for the day."

    Ms Wood, 23 Sep 2010

    Menzies Chequers
    5 out of 5

  • "The hotel was great for Gatwick airport. We required a family room, a double bed and a single, the single was in-fact a sofa bed. The mattress on the sofa bed was lumpy and uncomfortable so much so that we tried to sleep 3 in the double bed."
    Miss Deakins, 06 Sep 2009

    Menzies Chequers
    3 out of 5

  • "The service was good and it was helpuful to find our car parked ready for us to leave on our return. The bus was also on time and as it came regularly, we were saved the inconvenience of joining the queue to telephone. We would certainly use you again. "
    Chris and Dave Dove, 20 Feb 2009

    Menzies Chequers
    4 out of 5

  • "Very happy with the service the Chequers provided and also the evening meal."
    Mr Chappell, 19 Oct 2008

    Menzies Chequers
    4 out of 5

  • "The refurbished rooms were really tastefully done and very comfortable, a great place to stay close to the airport."
    Mrs Mansell, 11 Oct 2008

    Menzies Chequers
    4 out of 5

  • "easy check in at hotel and a lovely upgrade as well.
    thanks to both holiday extras and menzies chequers.........james grindon"

    Mr Grindon, 23 Sep 2008

    Menzies Chequers
    5 out of 5

  • "Efficient service, have used in the past & will use again in the future"
    Mr Graham, 07 Jul 2008

    Menzies Chequers
    5 out of 5

  • "I left a make-up bag in my room, and went back on the way home to try and retrieve it.
    The staff were very helpful, and quickly found my bag."

    Mrs Parak, 27 Aug 2008

    Menzies Chequers
    5 out of 5