Reviews for the Britannia Lodge Gatwick

Balcombe Road, Maidenbower, Crawley, RH10 7ZR

Book The Gatwick Britannia Lodge

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 229 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£36.00*
room-only
3 miles
from the airport
7.2/10
customer rating

How many stars did you rate the hotel?

72% of customers who left a review for the would book again
229 customers have given an average rating of 4 out of 5

The App and the services that Extras Provide are great there are two gripes. I will take up with Thomas Cook and Easyjet (book and flew with) and Maple Manor Nrth Terminal Parking Meet and Greet separately

Mr Welsh, 17 Sep 2017

Britannia Lodge
4 out of 5

What it said on tin

Mr Monk, 29 Jul 2017

Britannia Lodge
2 out of 5

Booked the lodge but got upgraded to the actual hotel.

Mrs Jones, 25 Jul 2017

Britannia Lodge
5 out of 5

We have been fined £100 for parking outside the hotel atpm formin while my husband checked us into the hotel while I waited in the car with my brother and sister in law as we weren't sure we came to the right place. As soon as my husband checked us in my brother and sister in law drove off but the hotel wasn't satisfied with it so fined us anyway.

Miss Jankowska, 17 Jun 2017

Britannia Lodge
1 out of 5

The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel itself could use a little TLC as some of the furnishings were a little shabby. As a one night stop for onward travel, it was adequate.

Mrs Towers, 31 May 2017

Britannia Lodge
4 out of 5

No 1 lounge much better than last tume

Mrs Stone, 19 May 2017

Britannia Lodge
5 out of 5

The hotel is very dated and not very clean.

Mr Blanche, 18 Sep 2016

Britannia Lodge
1 out of 5

There wasn't enough room at the hotel we had booked!

Miss Farley, 14 Sep 2016

Britannia Lodge
1 out of 5

The room was comfortable in great surrounds but smelt a little damp! Staying over was a great way to start the holiday.

Miss Robinson, 19 Jul 2016

Britannia Lodge
5 out of 5

Europa hotel was filthy room stank of cigarettes bar seating was filthy
Hotel was mainly used by building contractors car parking was virtualy imposible

Mr Barnes, 22 Jun 2016

Britannia Lodge
1 out of 5

Noisy (whoever decided to put a children's play ares there?) Inaccessible. Impersonal.

Mrs Turley, 24 Jun 2016

Britannia Lodge
1 out of 5

yes

Mrs Turley, 18 Jun 2016

Britannia Lodge
4 out of 5

save a dedicated car parking spot

Mr Clarke, 17 Jun 2016

Britannia Lodge
5 out of 5

We were left standing at reception for almost 20 mins on our arrival with no member of staff in sight. I tried ringing the help number but again no one answered. When we finally were given a room it absolutely reeked of smoke. So much so we had to spend the rest of the night with the window open to try and freshen the air. Very poor service.

Mr Turnbull, 29 May 2016

Britannia Lodge
1 out of 5

You shouldn't have this hotel as a choice it's disgusting room needed a total refurb &'was dirty

Mrs Sharp, 15 Apr 2016

Britannia Lodge
1 out of 5

The beds were very uncomfortable and the price you paid was not the worth the it. The food was cold and had no taste. It was a ripoff

Ms Patel, 10 Apr 2016

Britannia Lodge
2 out of 5

The materas was about 200 years old

Mr Facconi, 09 Apr 2016

Britannia Lodge
1 out of 5

All staff extremely kind and helpful. Hotel really easy to find and transport very frequent and reasonably priced. Accommodation on side of shabby chic, but all great value for money. I was only there a few hours whilst awaiting early flight, so didn't have time to test the cuisine.

Mrs Munro, 20 Mar 2016

Britannia Lodge
5 out of 5

Room was what I expected for the price. Not too far from the airport. Hard to find parking space if you get there late evening.

Mr Grimes, 06 Mar 2016

Britannia Lodge
4 out of 5

shame nice cheap hotel but too intimidated to ever stay again

Ms Tabor, 24 Feb 2016

Britannia Lodge
1 out of 5

Fantastic no frills hotel for price. For a stop over hotel for gatwick. And great dinner for £10 pounds. The reviews on TripAdvisor say that this hotel was not to good. But it was brilliant just what we needed. Staff lovely. I don't know what people want for a good value hotel. The rooms were clean and bed sheets were all very fresh and clean. 10 out of 10

Mrs Diplock, 12 Nov 2015

Britannia Lodge
5 out of 5

Although the room was adequate it just looked a bit tired

Mr Mailey, 01 Nov 2015

Britannia Lodge
3 out of 5

We stayed in Britannia Lodge, the annex to Europa. The bedroom was too small for a double bed and it was very uncomfortable, and the whole place felt run down and shabby. Our email booking form just said Britannia Lodge, and didn't mention Europa. When we arrived at Gatwick and expected to go by taxi we then discovered it had to be prebooked, but the form didn't give the number to ring for taxis. The hour it took to sort this and get to then hotel was a very poor start to our holiday.

Mrs Page, 05 Oct 2015

Britannia Lodge
1 out of 5

The hotel, is tatty, old and the food is dreadful. I am sure it is tolerated by users simply because of its location

Mr Spacagna, 15 Sep 2015

Britannia Lodge
1 out of 5

No, the evening dinner was awful. Honestly one of the wirst meals i've had I couldn't eat it. The choice of meat was roast ham or pork, no choice . I was told breakfast started at 7am , i had to leave at 7.am, luckily i was up earlier and looking about found the buffet opened at 6:30 so could just grab a toast. I was looking forward to the stay at Europa, as I travel often and want to start sleeping near the airports, I was very let down and felt robbed. Also the elevator was broken on arrival i had a suitcase weighing 25 kilos and alot of baggage, the receptionist decided to put me on the 3rd floor?

Miss Dasilvapeters, 22 May 2015

Britannia Lodge
1 out of 5

All went very well and staff, as usual, were all very kind. Facilities as described. Hotel must have been really luxurious in it's heyday, though the now slightly "shabby chic" but good-sized and well equipped bedrooms are still very comfortable, and I've always enjoyed my stay. The lower 'off-peak' room tariff, without which I would not be able to afford a proper hotel room between connecting travel and flights, makes it brilliant value for money, and the knowledge that there is also regular, reliable and affordable airport-hotel shuttle transport is really appreciated. Thank you HOLIDAY EXTRAS and Europa Hotel - Britannia Lodge. My regular trips to Toulouse from Gatwick on personal family business have been made so much more pleasurable. I am retired and on very limited income - I don't have the luxury of Company paid travel and accommodation!

Mrs Munro, 17 Feb 2015

Britannia Lodge
5 out of 5

the ibis was a very nice and clean hotel very nice room beds ok and warm toilet very modern and comfortable and has towels and toiletries every thing was nice there nothing to complain about would go back there any time.

Mrs Jones, 22 Jan 2015

Britannia Lodge
5 out of 5

Everything went smoothly , and the facilities were had described on the website ,
Always use holiday extras , never had a problem

Mr Morley, 08 Dec 2014

Britannia Lodge
5 out of 5

The overnight hotel was clean but could do with some attention especially the public areas as it looks tired

Mrs Johnson, 05 Dec 2013

Britannia Lodge
4 out of 5

everything went smoothly and staff very helpful room when came back needed updating

Mrs Malpass, 06 Jan 2013

Britannia Lodge
5 out of 5

the hotels were good and so were the staff

Coey, 17 Nov 2012

Britannia Lodge
5 out of 5

NO, the TV didn't work, I asked for a weak up call and didn't get it

Mr Berra, 06 Jun 2012

Britannia Lodge
1 out of 5

Had a wonderful time,would highly recommend.

Mrs Macqueen, 10 Mar 2012

Britannia Lodge
5 out of 5

i was very happy with my hotel choice and service provided. thank u.

Miss Andrews, 30 Nov 2011

Britannia Lodge
5 out of 5

Yes, everything went smoothly...the staff was very helpful...but the room was a little small for 2 people.

Mr Bruno, 24 Nov 2011

Britannia Lodge
4 out of 5

Room like a cupboard with a very small bed. Didn't get a wink of sleep before a 10 hour flight.

Ms Poppleton, 30 Sep 2011

Britannia Lodge
2 out of 5

The room was good, staff friendly but more frequent shuttle to and from Airport would have been helpful?

Mrs Hammond, 27 Sep 2011

Britannia Lodge
5 out of 5

I was very happy with the hotel and transport to and from airport. The staff were pleasant and helpful at all times.

Ms Cartwright, 16 Sep 2011

Britannia Lodge
4 out of 5

over night stay was good value for money

Mr Dale, 04 Sep 2011

Britannia Lodge
5 out of 5

hotel lovely room awful

Mr Cooper, 30 Aug 2011

Britannia Lodge
1 out of 5

Hotel was as described, but there was a very long queue at reception as only one person was working there while two or three others were sitting in a back room.

Mrs Shirley, 16 Aug 2011

Britannia Lodge
4 out of 5

Good service.

Mr Spurgeon, 22 Jul 2011

Britannia Lodge
4 out of 5

Room was good for the 1 night, staff all helpful, bus to airport ran smoothly, all in all a very good stay. Would stay again.

Mrs Curtis, 26 Jun 2011

Britannia Lodge
5 out of 5

Great Stay even got upgraded at the hotel.

Miss Clark, 02 Jun 2010

Britannia Lodge
5 out of 5

always efficient

Mrs Angood, 22 Aug 2010

Britannia Lodge
5 out of 5

Very small room- double bed pushed up against the wall. Parking very restricted.

Mr Watson, 30 Sep 2010

Britannia Lodge
1 out of 5

My experience in this hotel was appalling. They tried to put me in a single room even though I had booked a double. I arrived on my own with my husband joining me later. They put me in the farthest part of the hotel with no lift, I had to lug a suitcase u

Mrs Linter, 01 Oct 2010

Britannia Lodge
1 out of 5

Everything worked out very well and the service received was very good.

Miss Klintworth, 01 Oct 2010

Britannia Lodge
4 out of 5

staff very helpful and understanding during a last minute booking. thank you

Mrs Kumar, 08 Oct 2010

Britannia Lodge
1 out of 5

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 17-12-2017, valid as of 16-10-2017