Reviews of Russ Hill Hotel at Gatwick Airport

Russ Hill, Charlwood, Surrey RH6 0EL

Book the Russ Hill Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Join us today for exclusive discounts

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Travel tips and inspirations for your next adventure
Visit our travel blog or follow us elsewhere...

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 2406 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£58.00*
room-only
£58.00*
including 8 days parking
5 miles
from the airport
7.8/10
customer rating

Guests' reviews of the Gatwick Russ Hill

78% of customers who left a review for the would book again
2406 customers have given an average rating of 4 out of 5

Staff very pleasant and the room basic but clean. However the hotel was looking rundown. More like a hostel as lots of young men appeared to be living there, perhaps from the EU

Mrs Pearse, 26 Feb 2016

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Everything was find good value and very easy to park and use taxi to and from airport

Mr Morgan, 22 Feb 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

This is the second time we have used Russ Hill Hotel. It suits our needs exactly, is good value and the staff have always been polite and helpful.

Mr Meek, 20 Feb 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

We stayed here the night before we flew to Egypt and had a very enjoyable stay.

Mr Clifford, 19 Feb 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Hotel is very run down. Rooms are terrible.

Mr Compton, 13 Jan 2016

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Hotel room so small with no window,we had to put the suitcases in the bathroom as we could not move around the bed. Had a meal in the bar area my wife had a large black hair under the egg on her gammon steak, we called the waiter over he took back to the kitchen came back with no apology , and without asking if we required another said they were cooking another, which we refused . I also returns my meal because I felt sick after seeing my wife's meal, the chef was wearing a small hat on the top of her head, not with a net covering the rest of her hair, the waiter said she never had black hair which was a lie, as she walk out of the kitchen , my wife hair is brown. We also had a pre booked breakfast which was cold, so we ate very little, will never return to this hotel.

Mr Fleet, 05 Jan 2016

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

very good service at a budget price well done

Mr Hamilton, 16 Dec 2015

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

every thing was fine,

Mr Dicks, 11 Dec 2015

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

On first appearance, the hotel looked very good - the reception areas, and the eating and bar areas were clean and tidy,and the food was good, and restaurant staff helpful. Sadly, our bedroom let the hotel down badly - wallpaper was lifting off the walls, paintwork was damaged, the bathroom cold and uninviting, and all very cramped and needed updated dramatically. The parking also felt very insecure - no-one either saw or challenged us when we came to take our car away, so anyone else could have done the same. Even at the reasonable price we paid, not good enough. We will not be returning

Mrs Bettles, 06 Dec 2015

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

All good - great start to a holiday

Mrs Browne, 05 Dec 2015

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Staff very helpful,room fine but other than reception area very cold, food disgusting.Seems quite a long journey from airport.Taking in cost of taxis to and from airport would rather pay more and stay nearer and have access to decent food.

Mrs Gilmour, 02 Dec 2015

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Very good

Mr Jones, 25 Nov 2015

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The Hotel was very old, the rooms were very cold and needed decorating

Mrs Buxton, 17 Nov 2015

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Very helpful staff, very friendly
Would recommend.

Mr Grubb, 15 Nov 2015

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Staff told us we had booked a double and not a family room and when we told them we booked a family room through holiday extras they said that was why. There were no family rooms! When we insisted on our booked family room they somehow found one which was fine

Mr Holloway, 09 Nov 2015

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Everything went well.The staff were helpful and we were pleased that meals were to be had at a reasonable price and there was a good choice. The trip to the airport went smoothly.

Mrs Russell, 05 Nov 2015

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

All went very smoothly. The meal was very good.

Mrs Govett, 01 Nov 2015

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

All went smooth staff were friendly and very helpful would book again

Mr Smitten, 24 Oct 2015

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Very shabby room but was eventually moved, all other aspects acceptable,

Mrs Dring-Hersey, 22 Oct 2015

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was small but clean, although the bed was really hard and the pillows were like bricks. We paid for the 3 course meal was ok but nothing to write home about. We would have like more information about the food, we were unaware it was only a carvery option that was on offer and would have preferred to order from the bar menu had we known it existed. The breakfast was awful.

Mrs Buxton, 18 Oct 2015

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

old unclean room needed upgrading urgently

Mr Edwards, 18 Oct 2015

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Great deal for parking, helpful and polite staff, but let down by the near inedible food - eat elsewhere and you'll be fine though.

Miss Millard, 18 Oct 2015

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Great carvery lovely staff

Mrs Radford, 17 Oct 2015

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

All fine

Ms Palfrey, 11 Oct 2015

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

small ground floor room with no window but service good and parking convenient food good value and quality

Mr Newman, 06 Oct 2015

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Yes, yes and yes. All very good value. A small point - some big potholes in the hotel car park could do with filling in, to avoid possible damage to cars when parking in the dark.

Mr Stazicker, 04 Oct 2015

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

No taxis for return journey and we didn't have a phone number to ring. We had to pay £20!!!!

Mrs Fairhurst, 05 Oct 2015

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

All very good

Mr Ward, 01 Oct 2015

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Not our favourite Gatwick hotel. Had a room in the annex which was tiny and uncomfortable. Ok I suppose for 1 night. Restaurant carvery was good value and very nice. Car parking was a bit of a mess especially in the dark on our return. There's plenty of hotel choice at Gatwick so will look elsewhere next time.

Mrs Perry, 27 Sep 2015

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Value for money, staff were helpful but the carpark was a bit chaotic

Mr Alexander, 27 Sep 2015

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The room was very small, no windows which made it very difficult to sleep, as we both woke with headaches. The TV was in a very awkward place, which was on the left hand side of the bed, therefore unable to view. Draws beside bed & on TV cabinet unable to open as so close to the bed

Mrs Notton, 27 Sep 2015

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Food and accommodation good for the price we paid but very busy and when we arrived car parking arrangements were a little confusing. When collecting the car at the end of the holiday due to where it had been parked it was filthy and we had no say in where we were allowed to park. Even though there were plenty of places to park we were sent to an area a fair distance from the hotel even though only staying for a week. On return where we had been told to park the area was only half full.

Mrs Rookledge, 27 Sep 2015

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

may be a little updating but was clean and bed was commfy

Mrs Jones, 22 Sep 2015

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Chaotic on arrival - no one to show us where to go or park. Room was not great - broken window latch in bathroom and not the cleanest- bed very uncomfortable - food in bar area chosen from ripped and beer stained menus and could only be described as bad pub chain food at best - definitely will be paying extra next time for someone else as the old adage that you get what you pay for has never rung truer in this case!

Mr Bradshaw, 20 Sep 2015

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

The hotel is awful. Very tatty. Would not go there again. Carvery not worth booking would be better with bar food.Luckily only for one night.

Mrs Rose, 20 Sep 2015

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Room is quite small but adequate for an overnight stay all the staff were friendly

Mr Mccann, 19 Sep 2015

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The hotel was dark and dingy ......... Staff not helpful and car parking a mess ........ Would never stay in russ hill again and would advise others to not ruin the start of their holiday by staying here ....... Need a holiday after staying there ........ Disgusting

Mr Rist, 18 Sep 2015

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

All was good and nice hotel, pitty the cab was very late to take us to the airport

Mrs Fendler, 15 Sep 2015

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The reception staff were great. The hotel is very handy for the airport but its a little run down. The rooms were of a poor standard even for the one night stay. The pre-booked meal was to say the least, taste-less and like school dinners. The parking was good and the taxi service to the airport was adequate. I would not use the hotel again.

Mrs Finlay, 15 Sep 2015

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

The room was tiny andno window or air conditioning but we were given 2 fans. The taxi service was excellant

Mr Wilkinson, 13 Sep 2015

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

When we arrived at Russ hill they had no record of us booking 2 rooms and it was quite a lot of hassle trying to find us a room which we could have done without they Te us it was holiday extras error but it turned out to be russ hill hotel error I can only explain the hotel as faulty towers when all was sorted out we did have a laugh about it

Mrs Goldhawk, 13 Sep 2015

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

It was so easy and the staff were very helpful

Mrs Stone, 13 Sep 2015

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Yes, Yes but our room had no windows so felt quite claustrophobic.

Mr Stanton, 13 Sep 2015

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

facilities were fine although the staff were miserable, just the bare minimum service.

Ms Cottrell, 09 Sep 2015

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Used this place twice now you have to go in mind it's a bed for the night so you don't have to rush to the airport. It's very tired in places and like a rat warren by the time you drag your cases to the room your sweating. Not the clean shinny place that you show in tour video.

Mr Goode, 09 Sep 2015

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

The hotel was stunning on arrival so had high expectations. Didn't sleep once though as it was so uncomfortable and hot, window was tiny with double windows on so it was hard to get air and the air con didn't work. Not what I needed before an early flight

Miss Leggett, 15 Jul 2015

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

Everything went smoothly, however the whole place could do with an upgrade or at least a lick of paint. staff were very helpful.

Mrs Davies, 08 Jul 2015

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Facilities very poor mould in room dirty not what we expected, worst hotel we have ever stayed in.

Mrs Davis, 08 Jul 2015

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Yes everything was as describes and the staff were lovely

Miss Payne, 08 Jul 2015

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 03-07-2016, valid as of 04-05-2016