Reviews of Russ Hill Hotel at Gatwick Airport

Russ Hill, Charlwood, Surrey RH6 0EL

Book the Russ Hill Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 2758 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£74.00*
room-only
£74.00*
including 8 days parking
3 miles
from the airport
7.8/10
customer rating

Guests' reviews of the Gatwick Russ Hill

78% of customers who left a review for the would book again
2758 customers have given an average rating of 4 out of 5

Holiday extras 5☆ Hotel was like going back to thes. Very tired and the room was like a single with a day bed pushed into the corner😠The buffet food was cold, but at least the staff enjoyed it whilst filling there faces as we chose.

Mr Hanson, 21 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Bar didn't open until 4 rooms a bit dated but for one night it was okay

Mrs Tyrrell, 20 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Room very small no wardrobe no table if I stood arms apart I could touch both walls no lift breakfast cold

Mr Escott, 21 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

The staff were helpful and friendly. The parking was good and the transfer from hotel to the airport were indeed only £9. The hotel itself however was not great. The rooms that our party stayed in were ridiculously small, there was hardly enough room to even get our suitcases in. The bathrooms were Ok, toilet, basin and bath with shower. The bar was ok and the staff very nice, luckily the one love Manchester concert was on tv, that coupled with a few coders made our stay bearable. Don't get me wrong for the price we paid I wasn't expecting luxury, I would however pay more next time and stay in a room that is bigger than a small caravan.

Mr Donaldson, 19 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Hotel was good, evening meal deal was excellent value and the foor was good. No problem at all with parking and leaving the car there.

Mrs Bruce, 18 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Everything went to plan. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Buffet evening meal extremely good value and in the main well cooked. Transfers to and from airport excellent. My only hesitation in recommending the Russ Hill to others is size and accessibility to rooms. They are also a bit shabby.

Mrs Valentine, 19 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Friendly staff hotel clean and good value

Mr Turner, 18 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The hotel was fine, basic bedrooms but handy to Gatwick.
However, EVO minicabs (recommended by Russ Hill) let us down on our retur. Took an hour to meet us, via three phone calls, then the controller was rude to my wife and denied she had call her to confirm?

Mr Terry, 17 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Key broken couldn't get in room. Porter had to use master so we waited to get in everytime we went out. No parking spaces available even though we had paid for the week. Ended up under a tree half down a ditch where porter suggested. Luckily had chance to Move car next morning to a proper space. Rooms extremely hot a/c but broken didn't work in rooms. You get what you pay for we were more worried about car not having a space

Mrs Stephenson, 17 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

The room we were allocated at Russ Hill was very tiny no room to move and, it had no windows, so was not best pleased with this, so unless standards improve will not use again

Mr Rowe, 15 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The rooms were dated shabby and need a thorough overhaul. 2 of the rooms we booked had no windows and no air con. I feel we were very lucky to only have to spend 6 hours in the room.

Mr Boddy, 12 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

The room had ants no tea or coffee when I asked for cups we were given 1and was told no to a 2nd cup as she was very busy when I went to make a cup of tea the inside of the cup was sticky so was not clean disgusting did not use it the remote for TV didn't work the receptionist said it was to press the buttons I never realised that's how a remote worked!! The walk to the room was a nightmare long corridors and stairs.i will never recommend the Russ hill hotel to anyone no the staff were unhelpful

Mrs Williams, 12 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Good overall

Mr Dyble, 09 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The staff were very helpful
It was very hard to find a parking space when we arrived
A member of staff came out to help us

Mr Bridgman, 07 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The room was not good no window in the room to hot was our wedding day went with 2 friends who had the same room as us did not sleep in the room was like a box the tv was older than me not that we went for that , my wife was sick at night with the heat so we sat out side in the air , thought we could have a drink when we got there and got told that did not open till 4 pm . the parking was find a gap and park would we go back NO was not a rest before we went away

Mr Marsh, 07 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

Very helpful clean quite comfortable beds

Mrs Kennedy, 07 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

the room was absolutely tiny and dark

Mrs Green, 06 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Staff very good, room was bad mold on wall and very little, very noisy at night could not sleep in room very hot no windows and could not adjust the heating it was on very ho, the cab picking us up we had to wait min and he told us to wait in wrong place, this was not a good start or end would not return to that hotel

Mr Barrett, 02 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Staff very good, room was bad mold on wall and very little, very noisy at night could not sleep in room very hot no windows and could not adjust the heating it was on very ho, the cab picking us up we had to wait min and he told us to wait in wrong place, this was not a good start or end would not return to that hotel

Mr Barrett, 02 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Facilities were OK for the one night, room small & 'tired' hotel would benefit from updating; evening carvery ok but very basic, with lack of good choice for a vegetarian; breakfast good for cost. Would not want to spend more than maximum of 2 days there. Longterm car parking was absolutely adequate there.

Miss Pollard, 01 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Facilities were OK for the one night, room small & 'tired' hotel would benefit from updating; evening carvery ok but very basic, with lack of good choice for a vegetarian; breakfast good for cost. Would not want to spend more than maximum of 2 days there. Longterm car parking was absolutely adequate there.

Miss Pollard, 01 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Lovely staff. Clean room and the food is super.

Mrs Constable, 01 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Lovely staff. Clean room and the food is super.

Mrs Constable, 01 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

All ok except parking at Russ Hill it was chaotic and busy, also bar closed early....

Mr Thomas, 30 May 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The hotel was poor with tiny cramped room. The staff at the bar and in the separate restaurant were lacklustre and indifferent and the carvery, which we paid extra on site for, was soggy, and Luke warm, and the "chef" kept disappearing leaving us to serve our own meat.
The room had no windows, only a tiny skylight, and no way to control the temperature leaving it very uncomfortable.

Mr Weir, 28 May 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

The hotel was poor with tiny cramped room. The staff at the bar and in the separate restaurant were lacklustre and indifferent and the carvery, which we paid extra on site for, was soggy, and Luke warm, and the "chef" kept disappearing leaving us to serve our own meat.
The room had no windows, only a tiny skylight, and no way to control the temperature leaving it very uncomfortable.

Mr Weir, 28 May 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Very good service lovely meal and friendly staff and a very good taxy service that turned up on time at hotel and the airport.

Mr Selway, 28 May 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Very good service lovely meal and friendly staff and a very good taxy service that turned up on time at hotel and the airport.

Mr Selway, 28 May 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Hotel was very noisy all through the night comings and goings and the breakfast was horrible the only good thing was leaving the car safely.

Mrs Bailey, 26 May 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Fridge in the room would be great

Mr Rathore, 25 May 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Fridge in the room would be great

Mr Rathore, 25 May 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Meal deal was for carverey only we thought there's were more choices.

Mr Jakes, 25 May 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Meal deal was for carverey only we thought there's were more choices.

Mr Jakes, 25 May 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

the bed was very uncomfortable. the room had no window just a small skylight that couldn`t be opened which made it uncomfortably stuffy.the restaurant food was very good however.I would not stay there again or recommend this particular hotel.

Mr Bone, 24 May 2017

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

the bed was very uncomfortable. the room had no window just a small skylight that couldn`t be opened which made it uncomfortably stuffy.the restaurant food was very good however.I would not stay there again or recommend this particular hotel.

Mr Bone, 24 May 2017

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Hotel fine would stay again

Mr Dale, 21 May 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Hotel fine would stay again

Mr Dale, 21 May 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

It was the most disgusting place I have ever stayed in

Miss Barnes, 21 May 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

It was the most disgusting place I have ever stayed in

Miss Barnes, 21 May 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

First room given was not cleaned from previous stay.

Miss Digger, 20 May 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

No TVs sports on at the hotel had to get taxi in to town

Mr Lamb, 14 May 2017

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

everything went well, hotel as expected, basic but did the job as a car park while on holiday

Mrs Dey, 14 May 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Staff excellent. Hotel poor & to far away , by the time taxi fares factored in could have had better hotel

Mr Jones, 13 May 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

staff were very helpful
hotel basic but clean
value for money

Mr Duck, 06 May 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The hotel is Durty and disgusting NEVER AGAINbuyer beware.

Mrs Andrew, 05 May 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Very friendly staff and very helpful room very clean but would have preferred a window in our room rather then a skylight but a part from that very good

Mrs Weston, 05 May 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Food very good room very clean would have liked a window but apart from that all very good would definitely recommend

Mrs Weston, 03 May 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Food very good room very clean would have liked a window but apart from that all very good would definitely recommend

Mrs Weston, 03 May 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Everything was as discibed and all went very smoothly

Mr Dodsworth, 02 May 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 27-08-2017, valid as of 23-06-2017