Reviews of Russ Hill Hotel at Gatwick Airport

Russ Hill, Charlwood, Surrey RH6 0EL

Book the Russ Hill Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 2843 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£58.00*
room-only
£58.00*
including 8 days parking
3 miles
from the airport
7.6/10
customer rating

Guests' reviews of the Gatwick Russ Hill

76% of customers who left a review for the would book again
2843 customers have given an average rating of 4 out of 5

Parking facilities were excellent, hotel room was very basic not the standard I was expecting but considering the price we paid which included the parking it was cheap so perfectly fine.

Miss Dawe, 15 Aug 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Location was great and parking was easy. The building is quite tired, and can't say I recommend the buffet. However the staff were friendly and helpful.

Mrs Curry, 14 Aug 2017

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

Perfect hotel to stay in the night before travelling early the next day

Mrs Fox, 13 Aug 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

We really liked the friendliness of the staff. There was a wide choice of food. The quality of the food was quite good - and there was plenty of it. The room was comfortable - a bit on the small side - but we were only in it for a very short period of time. Taxi service was also friendly and efficient. More than happy to stay there again.

Miss Gordon, 07 Aug 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Hotel ok for cheap one night stop over but thats it. No one tending the bar At 4pm opentime had to wait mins to be served. 3 course meal is actually buffet which was okish but staff more interested in coach parties then individuals.We got a table for 6 for 2 of us and then had to share table with random people. Hotel dated throughout

Mrs Robinson, 06 Aug 2017

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

the room smelt a bit damp and the bed was pushed against a wall enabling access from one side only

Mr Seal, 30 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Everything was just perfect

Mr Roberts, 28 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The building was quite run down and rooms were boiling hot! Having said that the drinks and food were nice and cheap and it served the purpose given that we were up at 3am the next day anyway

Miss Ball, 26 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

We have used Holiday extras on many occasions before but this was by far the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. It was a warm day and the hotel room was absolutely boiling hot,there were no windows and no air conditioning. My husband asked at reception for a fan,which we were given but this just circulated the hit air around. Another family requested a fan but we'd had the last remaining one in the hotel and so they were basically told "tough luck". The staff weren't helpful at all. Unfortunately this was an horrendous experience for us and made for a terrible start to our much anticipated holiday. I was most displeased with the hotel.
The taxi service and parking were fine,it was just the hotel that spoilt it. Would never stay there again.

Mrs French, 26 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

we have used this facility several times and it is always up to the mark

Mr Dyer, 24 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

I could not fault our stay, we had an evening meal in the carvery and a buffet breakfast and it was all very nice. Staff were friendly and helpful, room was clean and comfortable and taxis were punctual. I have already told my friends and will continue to recommend the Russ Hill. I hope to stay there aha.

Mrs Allen, 24 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Absolute disaster hotel should be closed down and refurbished the rooms no air con looks like a church inside never again if I should request a refund

Mr Rulton, 25 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

We had stayed at Russ Hill Hotel before, and chose it because we were happy with our stay and the benefit of leaving the car safe whilst we were on holiday

Mr Skelham, 23 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Yes everything was fine

Mrs Stirling, 22 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Hotel staff very helpful, room was what we needed and clean.
Only problem we had was not with the hotel but with the return taxi journey back to collect our car.
Would recommend hotel but not the taxi service

Mrs Reed, 17 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Chea p and cheerful staff helpful summers evening spent outside

Mr Bradley, 17 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Staff friendly, helpful, room basic but clean, taxi service great

Mrs Steadman, 12 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

It was an awful experience. Our room had sockets hanging off the wall exposing the wires. Not good when you have small children. A cupboard door fell off when it was opened, Definately would not go back. Accept it was not your fault but you should know.

Mr Green, 13 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

The hotel rooms were dirty, out dated and ill equipped. Lights, sockets and the shower were in need of maintenance. Dividing three rooms with wooden partitions does not make for good sound proofing.
The staff were friendly enough but checking in was like a scene from Fawlty Towers, the reception was strewn with drunks, complaining customers and a parking attendant who was at his wits end. It was like a poorly made comedy show. Thankfully it was only one night. When we all awoke in the morning we joked that we had made it through the night.

Mr Ball, 13 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Hotel was fantastic

Mrs Revell, 11 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Thought the hotel was rather tacky and felt very "tired". We also had a tiny stuffy room. It was a last minute telephone booking and the Holiday Extras operator commended it to us. Guess all comes down to expectations. Also it was quite a long drive from the airport.

Mr Ogborn, 11 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

every thing was satisfactory

Mrs Drury, 10 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

YES.
Meal in Carvery very disappointing except for Salmon.

Mr Martin, 10 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

great hotel room a bit small this time but was ok for 1 nights sleep food very good we will book again

Mrs Thacker, 09 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Basic but clean,staff very helpfull

Mr Saunders, 09 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Staff very good, food was good but room very small and too hot, no air con

Mr Snitch, 08 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The Russ Hill hotel is dreadful. The hotel smells, the staff are clearly untrained in anything relating to customer service. The car parking is chaos.
It's very cheap and a real example of "getting what you pay for". Never again for us.

Mr Bainbridge, 09 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Everything was fine but the beds were quite hard and uncomfortable

Ms Rees, 07 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The hotel was a little dated but great service from reseption so helpful. Clean room and a comfy bed.

Mrs Philpott, 06 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The staff were very nice but we stayed on the hottest day of the year and there is no air con and they were running out of fans

Mrs Haskell, 06 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Staff very helpful but room was unbearably hot. The temperature was degrees outside yet the radiater in my room was on full heat when we arrived.

Mr Garner, 05 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Dirty dated poor upkeep no air conditioning parking problems , room was discuting smelt terrible rude bar staff , the hotel was full of contractors getting drunk luckily I was only there one night

Mrs Swatton, 06 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

All was ok

Mr Brooks-Harley, 05 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

All went fine. Shame the hotel is right on the flight path but all round great value.

Mr Edney, 02 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The room was very small, the shower over the bath was ridiculously low so we would not want to stay in that room again. My daughter did not enjoy her meal in the bar. Also the taxi company we used did not give us the correct pick up point for our return.

Mrs Price, 30 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Convenient parking and cheap one night plus weeks parking package. Quality of hotel terrible. Cramped room. Tired decor. Sticky carpet. Broken furnishings. No air con so room was uncomfortably hot. Would not stay again.

Mr Craigen, 01 Jul 2017

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Food wasn't good. Room and hotel very shabby. Needs total refurb. Would definitely not recommend.

Ms Hunnings, 28 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Absolutely what we needed and worked perfectly

Mr Jardine-Paterso, 26 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Very old, small and worn out felt like we were staying in a year old caravan

Mr Warren, 22 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Holiday extras 5☆ Hotel was like going back to thes. Very tired and the room was like a single with a day bed pushed into the corner😠The buffet food was cold, but at least the staff enjoyed it whilst filling there faces as we chose.

Mr Hanson, 21 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Bar didn't open until 4 rooms a bit dated but for one night it was okay

Mrs Tyrrell, 20 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Room very small no wardrobe no table if I stood arms apart I could touch both walls no lift breakfast cold

Mr Escott, 21 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

The staff were helpful and friendly. The parking was good and the transfer from hotel to the airport were indeed only £9. The hotel itself however was not great. The rooms that our party stayed in were ridiculously small, there was hardly enough room to even get our suitcases in. The bathrooms were Ok, toilet, basin and bath with shower. The bar was ok and the staff very nice, luckily the one love Manchester concert was on tv, that coupled with a few coders made our stay bearable. Don't get me wrong for the price we paid I wasn't expecting luxury, I would however pay more next time and stay in a room that is bigger than a small caravan.

Mr Donaldson, 19 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Hotel was good, evening meal deal was excellent value and the foor was good. No problem at all with parking and leaving the car there.

Mrs Bruce, 18 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Everything went to plan. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Buffet evening meal extremely good value and in the main well cooked. Transfers to and from airport excellent. My only hesitation in recommending the Russ Hill to others is size and accessibility to rooms. They are also a bit shabby.

Mrs Valentine, 19 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Friendly staff hotel clean and good value

Mr Turner, 18 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The hotel was fine, basic bedrooms but handy to Gatwick.
However, EVO minicabs (recommended by Russ Hill) let us down on our retur. Took an hour to meet us, via three phone calls, then the controller was rude to my wife and denied she had call her to confirm?

Mr Terry, 17 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Key broken couldn't get in room. Porter had to use master so we waited to get in everytime we went out. No parking spaces available even though we had paid for the week. Ended up under a tree half down a ditch where porter suggested. Luckily had chance to Move car next morning to a proper space. Rooms extremely hot a/c but broken didn't work in rooms. You get what you pay for we were more worried about car not having a space

Mrs Stephenson, 17 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

The room we were allocated at Russ Hill was very tiny no room to move and, it had no windows, so was not best pleased with this, so unless standards improve will not use again

Mr Rowe, 15 Jun 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 22-10-2017, valid as of 17-08-2017