Reviews of Russ Hill Hotel at Gatwick Airport

Russ Hill, Charlwood, Surrey RH6 0EL

Book the Russ Hill Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help is

Fast and Fantastic

New booking Existing booking

Join us today for exclusive discounts

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 2582 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£68.00*
room-only
£68.00*
including 8 days parking
3 miles
from the airport
7.8/10
customer rating

Guests' reviews of the Gatwick Russ Hill

78% of customers who left a review for the would book again
2582 customers have given an average rating of 4 out of 5

We enjoyed our short stay all staff were very helpful. The only thing that let you down was the food could not cut nor chew the beef.

Mr Reilly, 29 Mar 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

very good bed a bit hard taxi service was excellant

Mr Sherwood, 28 Mar 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

very good bed a bit hard taxi service was excellant

Mr Sherwood, 28 Mar 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The hotel was fine maybe a little dated. The staff were friendly and the stay was ok

Mrs Kelly, 26 Mar 2017

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

A terrible hotel food was awful bed was hard & mattress badly worn not as clean as it should be would never use this hotel again we have used this hotel twice before & were not aware that it had been taken over & changed now it is terrible

Mrs Freeman, 26 Mar 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

A terrible hotel food was awful bed was hard & mattress badly worn not as clean as it should be would never use this hotel again we have used this hotel twice before & were not aware that it had been taken over & changed now it is terrible

Mrs Freeman, 26 Mar 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Close the hotel and Completely rip the building out and renovate rooms with no mould and rust and working air conditioning rooms along with window

Mr Baghurst, 25 Mar 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Everything was good

Mrs Hunt, 23 Mar 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Everything was as expected and very nice, more signs to the hotel required on the roads approaching hotel.

Mrs Keay, 12 Jan 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

yes all friendly staff, gave us extra blankets as it was cold. Radiator needed mending

Miss Oakley, 12 Jan 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Your coffee and tea could be a lot.hotter and the rooms could be warm has had to sleep in a blanket. But the staff where very nice .

Mrs Chapman, 08 Jan 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The room was dated and tiny. The shower was hopeless.very disappointed.

Miss Course, 15 Dec 2016

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Everything went very smoothly, the taxis arrived on time. The venue met its description and the staff were very helpful.

Miss James, 12 Dec 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

No problems. Comfortable room. Good evening meal.
Staff friendly.

Mr Muddle, 12 Dec 2016

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Could not ask for more, it made the holiday stress free.

Mr Brierley, 11 Dec 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The hotel was like staying in an icebucket and we will never book there again. The receptionist can only be described as Lurch from the Adams family. But hey you get what you pay for. Lesson learnt.

Mr Vanderson, 06 Dec 2016

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Room was okay, bit shabby but it was just a one nighter each end of our holiday. The shower jammed this morning in the on position and we had to call someone to sort it out and turn it off! However, the breakfast this morning was dreadful. We ate at 8.00am and breakfast started as 7.00am. The food had obviously been sitting around for some time. The porridge was cold, so the waitress put it in the microwave for me to heat it up. The bacon and sausages were hard and all dried up. The mushrooms were just saturated in grease as was the fried bread that was so hard it just snapped and flew of the plate when you cut it. All the fried eggs were hard in the middle so my partner asked for two poached eggs. They were off. To top it all the coffee was also cold. Really, it was dreadful and not worth the money. Would have been better to omit breakfast and stop at a Macdonalds on the way home. Shame really as we wouldn't stay overnight again due to this. We have stayed at Russ Hill 4 times now over the past years and this has done it for us now due to the breakfast. A total waste of £20 and lost custom for them and you. You need to send someone to have a breakfast and experience it for themselves. On a positive note, the staff were polite and helpful and the Xmas decorations looked lovely this morning. Thanks.

Mrs Embling, 30 Nov 2016

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Staff very helpful and knowledgeable.

Mrs Owens, 19 Nov 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Hotel was a bit out of the way & hard to find

Mrs Beeston, 15 Nov 2016

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

brillaint facilities just what you need

Mr Day, 12 Nov 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Hotel was great apart from no window in the bedroom so not good if there was a fire

Mrs Stephens, 08 Nov 2016

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The room was horrible. Cold , damp, bed linen was not great, television didn't work. I wouldn't even go near the shower.

Mrs Troup, 08 Nov 2016

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

All good clean room, lovely breakfast.

Mrs Tullett, 08 Nov 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The hotel was very basic and the food was appalling. We staff were very friendly and approachable however when we complained about the poor quality of the food we were told that there are takeaway menus at the front desk.

Miss Wheeler, 07 Nov 2016

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

The staff were all so friendly and welcoming. The hotel was clean and the Carvery dinner was excellent value for money. It was a great start to our holiday and I would definitely stay there again.

Mrs Debruyne, 06 Nov 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Very pleased with everything and well worth the money.

Mr King, 03 Nov 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Great holiday with holiday extras.

Mrs Johnson, 03 Nov 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The taxi service leaflet that we were given to call them on our return the telephone number was redirected to another that never was answered. If my husband hadn't approached a taxi and was given a card with another local number for the same service we would probably be standing there still. This needs to be resolved as otherwise it compromises an otherwise brilliant service.

Mrs Silva, 31 Oct 2016

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

It met our needs. Booking the return taxi was a little confusing, but we managed. The hotel could have done this for us.

Mr Stanford, 30 Oct 2016

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The hotel is very tired and could be cleaner

Mr Hunter, 29 Oct 2016

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

All spot on

Mrs Marsh, 26 Oct 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Good value for money hotel, dated but clean, nice staff who were helpful, easy parking and punctual taxi service, this is our third visit to the Russ would recommend.

Mrs Strudwick, 24 Oct 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

It's a basic "cheap & cheerful" airport hotel. It'll do for one night with a 5am departure, but it's not the sort of place you go out of your way to recommend. Best thing I can say is it's what you expect for the price.

Mr Deroy, 24 Oct 2016

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Yes staff friendly and helpful I will stay there again in future

Mrs Saha, 21 Oct 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

It was a great start to our holiday staying at Russ Hill Hotel. The room was comfortable for a very reasonable price. The taxis for the airport were prompt and all staff very informative and friendly. Car was parked up safely and easily. Very happy customer. Will use again and recommend.

Mr Stringer, 21 Oct 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Room was very small but good enough for one night only. I did like the spacious car parking and the taxi service .

Mr Beales, 19 Oct 2016

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Everything went without a problem,couldn't ask for more

Mr Savage, 18 Oct 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Very helpful. Score. 19

Mrs Drew, 18 Oct 2016

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

The hotel parking was good but the rooms were deplorable with no windows just a tiny sky light at the end of the room.

Mrs Evans, 18 Oct 2016

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

The sheets around the base of the beds had what looked like blood stains on I did report it to reception she said she would send someone to change them but it never happened .

Miss Boswell, 16 Oct 2016

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Cheap, close to airport, taxi quick to pick up & affordable. Staff friendly, but room very hot, air con didn't work, hairdryer health & safety risk, sparks coming out when turned on.

Miss Wood, 22 Sep 2016

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Hotel generally ok except for room allocated. No window hot and stuffy and TV did not work. Transfer to airport excellent.

Mr Wallwork, 21 Sep 2016

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

First of all it was very hard to find a parking space the room was very hot beds are very uncomfortable it was adequate for one night the food in the restaurant was very good could not fault The hotel itself and the rooms are very dated

Mrs Staal, 20 Sep 2016

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Room small but adequate. Extra pillow was requested but not supplied. Parking space was very restricted. Taxi service excellent.

Mr Dixon, 20 Sep 2016

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

Everything was perfect.Location,Staff,Rooms

Mr Gruncell, 20 Sep 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The dinner was excellent, but we had parking too and it was nearly impossible finding a space and then dragging our cases uphill through muddy gravel.

Mrs Baruah, 20 Sep 2016

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Yes all good

Ms Rodriguez, 02 Sep 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Car parking fine. Hotel big disappointment- but we are judging on our experience there in the 70's

Mr Serkis, 04 Aug 2016

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

The hotel was tired, poorly decorated and a horrible place to stay. We would not go back to this hotel!

Mr Dryden, 20 Jul 2016

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 04-06-2017, valid as of 30-03-2017