Reviews of Russ Hill Hotel at Gatwick Airport

Russ Hill, Charlwood, Surrey RH6 0EL

Book the Russ Hill Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help is

Fast and Fantastic

New booking Existing booking

Join us today for exclusive discounts

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 2540 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£45.00*
room-only
£45.00*
including 8 days parking
3 miles
from the airport
7.8/10
customer rating

Guests' reviews of the Gatwick Russ Hill

78% of customers who left a review for the would book again
2540 customers have given an average rating of 4 out of 5

Room was okay, bit shabby but it was just a one nighter each end of our holiday. The shower jammed this morning in the on position and we had to call someone to sort it out and turn it off! However, the breakfast this morning was dreadful. We ate at 8.00am and breakfast started as 7.00am. The food had obviously been sitting around for some time. The porridge was cold, so the waitress put it in the microwave for me to heat it up. The bacon and sausages were hard and all dried up. The mushrooms were just saturated in grease as was the fried bread that was so hard it just snapped and flew of the plate when you cut it. All the fried eggs were hard in the middle so my partner asked for two poached eggs. They were off. To top it all the coffee was also cold. Really, it was dreadful and not worth the money. Would have been better to omit breakfast and stop at a Macdonalds on the way home. Shame really as we wouldn't stay overnight again due to this. We have stayed at Russ Hill 4 times now over the past years and this has done it for us now due to the breakfast. A total waste of £20 and lost custom for them and you. You need to send someone to have a breakfast and experience it for themselves. On a positive note, the staff were polite and helpful and the Xmas decorations looked lovely this morning. Thanks.

Mrs Embling, 30 Nov 2016

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Staff very helpful and knowledgeable.

Mrs Owens, 19 Nov 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Hotel was a bit out of the way & hard to find

Mrs Beeston, 15 Nov 2016

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

brillaint facilities just what you need

Mr Day, 12 Nov 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Hotel was great apart from no window in the bedroom so not good if there was a fire

Mrs Stephens, 08 Nov 2016

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The room was horrible. Cold , damp, bed linen was not great, television didn't work. I wouldn't even go near the shower.

Mrs Troup, 08 Nov 2016

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

All good clean room, lovely breakfast.

Mrs Tullett, 08 Nov 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The hotel was very basic and the food was appalling. We staff were very friendly and approachable however when we complained about the poor quality of the food we were told that there are takeaway menus at the front desk.

Miss Wheeler, 07 Nov 2016

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

The staff were all so friendly and welcoming. The hotel was clean and the Carvery dinner was excellent value for money. It was a great start to our holiday and I would definitely stay there again.

Mrs Debruyne, 06 Nov 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Very pleased with everything and well worth the money.

Mr King, 03 Nov 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Great holiday with holiday extras.

Mrs Johnson, 03 Nov 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The taxi service leaflet that we were given to call them on our return the telephone number was redirected to another that never was answered. If my husband hadn't approached a taxi and was given a card with another local number for the same service we would probably be standing there still. This needs to be resolved as otherwise it compromises an otherwise brilliant service.

Mrs Silva, 31 Oct 2016

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

It met our needs. Booking the return taxi was a little confusing, but we managed. The hotel could have done this for us.

Mr Stanford, 30 Oct 2016

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The hotel is very tired and could be cleaner

Mr Hunter, 29 Oct 2016

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

All spot on

Mrs Marsh, 26 Oct 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Good value for money hotel, dated but clean, nice staff who were helpful, easy parking and punctual taxi service, this is our third visit to the Russ would recommend.

Mrs Strudwick, 24 Oct 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

It's a basic "cheap & cheerful" airport hotel. It'll do for one night with a 5am departure, but it's not the sort of place you go out of your way to recommend. Best thing I can say is it's what you expect for the price.

Mr Deroy, 24 Oct 2016

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Room was very small but good enough for one night only. I did like the spacious car parking and the taxi service .

Mr Beales, 19 Oct 2016

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Cheap, close to airport, taxi quick to pick up & affordable. Staff friendly, but room very hot, air con didn't work, hairdryer health & safety risk, sparks coming out when turned on.

Miss Wood, 22 Sep 2016

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Hotel generally ok except for room allocated. No window hot and stuffy and TV did not work. Transfer to airport excellent.

Mr Wallwork, 21 Sep 2016

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

First of all it was very hard to find a parking space the room was very hot beds are very uncomfortable it was adequate for one night the food in the restaurant was very good could not fault The hotel itself and the rooms are very dated

Mrs Staal, 20 Sep 2016

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Room small but adequate. Extra pillow was requested but not supplied. Parking space was very restricted. Taxi service excellent.

Mr Dixon, 20 Sep 2016

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

Everything was perfect.Location,Staff,Rooms

Mr Gruncell, 20 Sep 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The dinner was excellent, but we had parking too and it was nearly impossible finding a space and then dragging our cases uphill through muddy gravel.

Mrs Baruah, 20 Sep 2016

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Yes all good

Ms Rodriguez, 02 Sep 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Car parking fine. Hotel big disappointment- but we are judging on our experience there in the 70's

Mr Serkis, 04 Aug 2016

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

The hotel was tired, poorly decorated and a horrible place to stay. We would not go back to this hotel!

Mr Dryden, 20 Jul 2016

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Yes very well did not get our early morning call which we booked

Mr Cook, 06 Jul 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Dirty rooms food awful

Mr Rogers, 01 Jul 2016

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

It was amazing value for one night stay and parking. Really don't know why people leave negative feedback as we found it really good and didn't expect anything other than a basic room plus had a good meal in the dining room.Also the staff were really helpful even though they were so busy.

Mrs Smith, 30 Jun 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

All nice and smooth but room too small and basic but price was good with parking so happy

Mr Pereira, 09 Jun 2016

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

everything went smoothly, and the staff were helpful, but the hotel as a whole is a bit tired and in need of a major refurbishment.

Mr Brown, 18 May 2016

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

The Russ Hill Hotel is 1/2 full of Migration seekers being put up for the government.
Last night it was impossible to sleep as Children were banging up and down the corridor outside our room until well after 11.30PM.
Would never use a hotel such as that for Holiday accommodation or transit.

Mr Lynch, 26 Feb 2016

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Staff very pleasant and the room basic but clean. However the hotel was looking rundown. More like a hostel as lots of young men appeared to be living there, perhaps from the EU

Mrs Pearse, 26 Feb 2016

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Everything was find good value and very easy to park and use taxi to and from airport

Mr Morgan, 22 Feb 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

This is the second time we have used Russ Hill Hotel. It suits our needs exactly, is good value and the staff have always been polite and helpful.

Mr Meek, 20 Feb 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

We stayed here the night before we flew to Egypt and had a very enjoyable stay.

Mr Clifford, 19 Feb 2016

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Hotel is very run down. Rooms are terrible.

Mr Compton, 13 Jan 2016

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Hotel room so small with no window,we had to put the suitcases in the bathroom as we could not move around the bed. Had a meal in the bar area my wife had a large black hair under the egg on her gammon steak, we called the waiter over he took back to the kitchen came back with no apology , and without asking if we required another said they were cooking another, which we refused . I also returns my meal because I felt sick after seeing my wife's meal, the chef was wearing a small hat on the top of her head, not with a net covering the rest of her hair, the waiter said she never had black hair which was a lie, as she walk out of the kitchen , my wife hair is brown. We also had a pre booked breakfast which was cold, so we ate very little, will never return to this hotel.

Mr Fleet, 05 Jan 2016

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

very good service at a budget price well done

Mr Hamilton, 16 Dec 2015

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

every thing was fine,

Mr Dicks, 11 Dec 2015

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

On first appearance, the hotel looked very good - the reception areas, and the eating and bar areas were clean and tidy,and the food was good, and restaurant staff helpful. Sadly, our bedroom let the hotel down badly - wallpaper was lifting off the walls, paintwork was damaged, the bathroom cold and uninviting, and all very cramped and needed updated dramatically. The parking also felt very insecure - no-one either saw or challenged us when we came to take our car away, so anyone else could have done the same. Even at the reasonable price we paid, not good enough. We will not be returning

Mrs Bettles, 06 Dec 2015

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

All good - great start to a holiday

Mrs Browne, 05 Dec 2015

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Staff very helpful,room fine but other than reception area very cold, food disgusting.Seems quite a long journey from airport.Taking in cost of taxis to and from airport would rather pay more and stay nearer and have access to decent food.

Mrs Gilmour, 02 Dec 2015

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Very good

Mr Jones, 25 Nov 2015

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The Hotel was very old, the rooms were very cold and needed decorating

Mrs Buxton, 17 Nov 2015

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Very helpful staff, very friendly
Would recommend.

Mr Grubb, 15 Nov 2015

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Staff told us we had booked a double and not a family room and when we told them we booked a family room through holiday extras they said that was why. There were no family rooms! When we insisted on our booked family room they somehow found one which was fine

Mr Holloway, 09 Nov 2015

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Everything went well.The staff were helpful and we were pleased that meals were to be had at a reasonable price and there was a good choice. The trip to the airport went smoothly.

Mrs Russell, 05 Nov 2015

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 05-02-2017, valid as of 07-12-2016