Reviews of Russ Hill Hotel at Gatwick Airport

Russ Hill, Charlwood, Surrey RH6 0EL

Book the Russ Hill Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 2931 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£54.00*
room-only
£54.00*
including 8 days parking
3 miles
from the airport
7.6/10
customer rating

Guests' reviews of the Gatwick Russ Hill

76% of customers who left a review for the would book again
2931 customers have given an average rating of 4 out of 5

The "double room " was so small it was claustrophobic. It was difficult to move in the room without coming into contact with furniture, The bed was uncomfortable

Mr Thain, 12 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

Lovely hotel nice staff

Ms Farley, 12 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Parking area overhung by trees causing a lot of leaf and other debris to fall on car.

Mr Northcote, 11 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

Every thing was fine very basic but somewhere safe to leave our car whilst we were away

Mr Tame, 10 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

first class staff very good service excellent all round thank you.

Mr Ward, 07 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

everything was fine, no problems

Mrs Rogers, 07 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

I have just sent a long e mail to you on reply on our booking. Ive booked with you for years and will continue but not at Russ Hill. On our return our car was not only covered in mud as person in front must have wheel span out of space, our car with my husbands help and with a worker from hotel had to be dug out of the space and as if thats not bad enough at 2 in the morning the keys get locked in the car. Breakdown was called and lucky i was covered so took another half an hour to get into the car. I then find out we were parked illegally on historic ground and they have been warned before about this. Legislation does not allow this. We didnt get home till 6am this morning and we are exhausted and stressed after a perfect holiday. Ihave photos of our car , even though Laon a worker there washed it all of this is totally unacceptable. I would at least like a complete refund as well as compensation . I await your return to see what can be done

Mrs Scorey, 06 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Brilliant stay and the breakfast was wonderful. Taxi service also excellent.

Mrs Wilson, 06 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

The bed was the most uncomfortable bed ever, the mattress was in desperate need of replacing therefore we did not sleep at all.

Mrs Andrews, 06 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

The hotel car park was absolutely full with cars and I struggled to find a space. I was advised to park on some grass which was wet and muddy and led to me getting stuck. Thankfully the excellent duty manager and another member of staff got me out and I was allowed to park on ‘dry land’ in a place that actually said no parking. The hotel itself was basic but ok and served its purpose. I would seriously recommend that anyone booking makes sure they are guaranteed a dry parking space without having to search for it.

Mr Lewis, 05 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

Room in annexed was cold damp & musty

Mr Lane, 03 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

we were very pleased with our room and had a very nice meal in restaurant

Mrs Turner, 01 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Very pleasant staff, same bar wasn't open to serve coffee, tea or cold drinks after restaurant had closed for breakfast

Mr Durston, 01 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Staff were very helpful as we arranged to stay another night on return

Mr Reynolds, 30 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Everything was perfect,as usual

Mr Gruncell, 26 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

No problems, car park very overcrowded but found a spare space. Too many trees car covered in bits of branches, leaves and acorns on return.

Mr Moore, 23 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Yes,easy to park and good value

Mrs Carpenter, 24 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The hotel facilities were okay. Not luxurious but good value for the price that we paid. The staff were all helpful, although there was one receptionist trying to cope with a lot of arrivals when we got there. She booked people in quickly but it didn't give her time for any of the reception 'niceties'.
We had to park our car under the trees at the bottom of the car park as there wasn't anywhere else vacant. When we returned from our holiday, it was filthy with loads of leaves and bird poo all over it.

Mrs Jarvis, 23 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

rooms too hot with no air
conditioning, parking was full and took me 20 mins to find a spot on muddy grass.

Mr Grimmette, 22 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Food and staff very good easy to get to parking good

Mrs Fall, 22 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

lovely meal the evening before we left the ideal way to start the holiday

Mr Cowes, 20 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

It was very good and served its purpose it was a good start to the holidays

Mr Wallace, 18 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Parking not very good all over the place
Food not very good service at bar waiting 20 mins to be seved

Mr Rees, 19 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

although the reception stated there were spaces available we were unable to locate any! In an ideal world where you have tarmac and white lines you can state this but when its rough gravel and grass there is no order and a bit of a 'free for all'. Hotel was good though with buffet and bar facilities very well priced and pleasent

Mr Miles, 17 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The facilities as far as the el tope hotel were as described. However, my partner and myself felt like we had been hugely mislead into believeing the north of tenerife was sunny! The pictures you advertise along with the description is false advertisment. Out of the days, we had a disappointing 2 days of sunshine, with clouds. Now, this could be explained as unfortunate and typical weather which cannot be helped but that is not the case. As it is based around mountains, it is thick, grey, gloomy clouds that surround that part of the island. Even the locals told us that peurto de la cruz is rarely sunny! Your advertisements display beautiful weather with pictures. I would not recommend anyone travel to that part of the island. Many other holiday customers were also very disappointed and upset, with some booking with your company. I highly recommend that you remove north tenerife as one of your 'sunny' destinations to iliminate customers wasting all of there money and being mis-sold a packaging with false advertisement.

Miss Jerovshek, 17 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Room disappointing as was evening meal, car park very crowded

Mrs Inglut, 17 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

The hotel was just not of a good standard. The room we had didn't even have a window and it was so tiny.
The food wasn't very good either floors and table were sticky.

Mr Winkworth, 18 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

It was dirty, tired, layout was difficult, chaos getting a taxi, staff indifferent, restaurant uninviting & meal option which we payed for was a buffet which we would not have opted for. In fact we chose to pay more & ate in the 'pub' area which was also poor. Very unhelpful with directions of where to park car - basically a free for all. Will never stay there again

Mr Arbenz, 17 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Yes all was good thank you.

Mr Whelan, 16 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The room was disgusting one side of bed was tight to the wall car park was full of pot holes and muddy

Mr Hubbard, 16 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Everything went to plan. Staff helpful and food was fine. Room although small was clean and suited our purpose for one night. Taxi to and from the airport were on time and the cost reasonable. Would use again if necessary.

Mrs Morvan, 15 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Hotel was unable to find any record of the booking. The reception staff were very inflexible and it took far too long to check-in. Even though we arrived on a late flight and arrived at 5.30am we weren't offered a later check out (no later thanam) even thought it took mins to check us in. The room we were given had no windows apart from a sky light and can only be described as a bunker.

Mr Sandall, 11 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Room dirty, mould on the walls, hairs in the bath.
Staff in the restaurant rude, food Luke warm and dry. No drinks available, you have to queue at the bar (only one barman) and take your drink to the table.
Car park on dirt, so loads of puddles to drag the suitcases through.
When I complained to the receptionist about our stay, he just handed me a card with an email address and told me to write in.
Very disappointing, won't use Russ Hill again!

Mrs Harvey, 11 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

The hotel is a good base. The staff all seemed friendly. Rooms are a little out dated and could do with lick of paint but overall a good base to stay

Mr Jones, 09 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Rooms are a bit dated but comfortable

Mr Baker, 08 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Everything as expected staff where very helpful

Mr Brandon, 07 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The russ hill hotel was awful. Our booking was not on the system even though it had been pre booked and paid for and I had printed confirmation. The rooms were dirty. Smelled awful. The basin was smashed. Mould on the walls. Dodgy wiring. I asked for a different room and it was barely any improvement. My daughter cried and wanted to sleep in the car! The food was awful. I would never stay there again. Do not go there. Save your money and pay for airport parking. Wish we had.

Mrs Guppy, 08 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Bit run down had to change room cause first room was damp

Miss Davies, 06 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Staff very friendly, all public areas were clean, menus could be improved, bedrooms though only stopped one night could be cleaner and deserved to be refreshed in decor

Mrs Reville, 06 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Damp, overbooked, words cannot describe how horrible this hotel is do not book under any circumstances

Miss Stroud, 02 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

The 1st room I was given was smelly and very dated,I was given a different room which was slightly better .

Mr Armstrong, 29 Aug 2017

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Yes all was good

Mr Walker, 28 Aug 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Parts of the hotel might need a little updating but everything was spotless and the staff were more than helpful.

Mr Griffiths, 27 Aug 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

It's very basic hotel standards, but to be expected with the price paid. Great deal for holiday parking though.

Miss Harris, 25 Aug 2017

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

No, very small out dated rooms tiny tv wall paper falling off walls. It's more than mins transfer to airport!

Miss Patient, 23 Aug 2017

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Check in
And requesting room change fine. Hotel old and needs updating. Restaurant sounds nice on website but looks awful. No lift to help with heavy cases. Car park spaces not manned so parking can be a problem as parking everywhere.

Miss Carter, 22 Aug 2017

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Staying at Russ Hill has always been a perfect transition for parking and staying before flying. This occasion we were fortunate to have the 3 course dinner the night before which exceeding my expectations. We always use Russ Hill for flights from Gatwick as check in has always been friendly and simple, parking is easy and the taxi to and from the airport has always been excellent, on time and never leave you waiting long on your return. This is an excellent service and would recommend.

Mrs Stone, 21 Aug 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The Russ is basic accommodation but clean and friendly, used it many times and never had any problems

Mrs Strudwick, 20 Aug 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The parking was great but the hotel bedroom was awful:-( damp peeling walls, very uncomfortable bed, out dated and run down hotel very dirty inside in place.

Mrs Geldard, 19 Aug 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 17-12-2017, valid as of 16-10-2017