Manchester Britannia Country Reviews

Palatine Road, Didsbury, Manchester, M20 2WG

Book the Manchester Britannia

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 2576 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£54.00*
room-only
£54.00*
including 8 days parking
4 miles
from the airport
8/10
customer rating

Customer feedback

80% of customers who left a review for the would book again
2576 customers have given an average rating of 4 out of 5

I gave Brittania Country House a 7/10. This score would be a 10/10 had the vending machines worked or been stocked but our main concern were the beds. The mattresses were truly awful,lumpy and very noisy!Such a shame as the hotel is very nice, lovely grounds with great facilities, the cost was very reasonable and the pizza we had for dinner was outstanding!
If we needed a hotel stay before our flight again I think we would come back but I'd have my fingers crossed for a decent mattress!

Mr Hornsby, 13 Nov 2017

Britannia Country House
4 out of 5

it would of been nice if they did a sunday lunch service

Mrs Gingell, 13 Nov 2017

Britannia Country House
3 out of 5

Noisy hotel and airport pick-up was 30 minutes late.

Mr Magson, 12 Nov 2017

Britannia Country House
2 out of 5

The hotel is awful!!

Miss Hughes, 12 Nov 2017

Britannia Country House
1 out of 5

excellent service staff very helpful due to my mistake

Mr Tew, 10 Nov 2017

Britannia Country House
5 out of 5

Yes. Bed a little hard, but room was very nice. I received an upgrade thank you

Mrs Gormally, 10 Nov 2017

Britannia Country House
5 out of 5

Everything went smoothly. However, the return pick up was a bit of a nuisance. Because of the work going on at terminal 2 we had to make our way to the train station to get picked up on our return.

Mrs Ford, 08 Nov 2017

Britannia Country House
5 out of 5

DrIpping bathroom ceiling,was given another room.ok then

Mrs Webb, 07 Nov 2017

Britannia Country House
5 out of 5

Very good transfer to the airport, great value for parking and adequate facilities in the hotel.
We would definitely use this service again when flying from Manchester

Mr Lloyd, 06 Nov 2017

Britannia Country House
4 out of 5

Everything went smooth

Mrs France, 05 Nov 2017

Britannia Country House
4 out of 5

Genuinely the worst hotel I've ever stayed in.
Booked Hotel and Parking with evening meal - parking was a free for all in a poorly lit and disorganised car park, looked to be heavily oversubscribed.
Evening meal was horrendous - sketchy looking dishes in warm-up trays, served in a very old fashioned restaurant with a bar that was surrounded by bars itself. Quite shocked that neither of us was poorly following the meal.
The room was large as was the bed. However, TV didn't work at all, there was a single power plug in the room (located about 30 yards away from any furniture or mirror).
Bathroom was okay, but shower was fixed over bath, and at 6'5 inches tall, my head was on the ceiling and the shower was fixed aiming at my crotch.
Add those wonderful experiences with the fact that there was a chav wedding in progress when we arrived, proceeding to create huge amounts of noise making it very hard to sleep with the paper thin windows, made this a totally forgettable experience.

Mr Daly, 05 Nov 2017

Britannia Country House
1 out of 5

hotel was dirty and smelly

Mr Rangeley, 05 Nov 2017

Britannia Country House
1 out of 5

only there one night but all was first class but only voted 9 as no one is perfect but would certainly stay again

Mr Curtis, 03 Nov 2017

Britannia Country House
5 out of 5

Hotel has the worst taxi company they use to arrange the collection and drop off at airport. Collection went without issue, hotel is pleasant enough. However when coming back from holiday on two different occasions I have had problems with the taxi company. First time I was made to wait over an hour with my 8 year old son (after an 9 hour flight) for the taxi to take me back to the hotel and this time I was greeted by an irate taxi driver who was annoyed he had to pick me up from Terminal 2 and not the train station. I was instructed by the Taxi company Operator to find a suitable location, so actually walked up the road to the Radisson Hotel to be collected. As apparently the Taxi firm don't have a permit to use the collection and drop off point at the airport.
I then received 20 minutes of complaining from the Taxi Driver in front of my son. As soon as the car pulled up I was questioned in an aggressive manor and this went on and on. "Where did he tell you to go?" Where was you asked to go?" "Well why didn't you go there then?" I was questioned over and over and whatever I answered he would not leave it alone. I can only describe it as being lectured by an irate parent.
Eventually I started to get annoyed with this obnoxious behaviour and started to argue back at which point he pulled the taxi over and told me to get out. Further arguments went on. Again this was on the back of a 9 hour flight home and in front of my 8 year old son. Absolutely disgusting and shocking behaviour. If the Taxi Driver is unhappy with something he ought to discuss this with his employees and not take his frustrations out on your customers. Wont be using this hotel again on the back of this.

Mr Holiday, 03 Nov 2017

Britannia Country House
1 out of 5

Yes as always a very good service. Unfortunately I broke my foot in Italy but rang you and was able to book another night at the Britannia Country House Hotel in Manchester where we had park and fly. I couldn't drive and we needed another night on our return to arrange for our car to be recovered. There were some delays the following day with this pick up and Sandra and staff at the hotel were so kind and gave us complimentary sandwiches and a lovely bowl of chips. Also to add to this three cups of coffee each over the time we were waiting. As if this wasn't enough there was a very lovely colourful Hindu coming of age party going on at the time and were given some party food, so very kind of these people. Yes Mancunians are wonderful!

Mr Maranian, 03 Nov 2017

Britannia Country House
1 out of 5

Hotel has the worst taxi company they use to arrange the collection and drop off at airport. Collection went without issue, hotel is pleasant enough. However when coming back from holiday on two different occasions I have had problems with the taxi company. First time I was made to wait over an hour with my 8 year old son (after an 9 hour flight) for the taxi to take me back to the hotel and this time I was greeted by an irate taxi driver who was annoyed he had to pick me up from Terminal 2 and not the train station. I was instructed by the Taxi company Operator to find a suitable location, so actually walked up the road to the Radisson Hotel to be collected. As apparently the Taxi firm don't have a permit to use the collection and drop off point at the airport.
I then received 20 minutes of complaining from the Taxi Driver in front of my son. As soon as the car pulled up I was questioned in an aggressive manor and this went on and on. "Where did he tell you to go?" Where was you asked to go?" "Well why didn't you go there then?" I was questioned over and over and whatever I answered he would not leave it alone. I can only describe it as being lectured by an irate parent.
Eventually I started to get annoyed with this obnoxious behaviour and started to argue back at which point he pulled the taxi over and told me to get out. Further arguments went on. Again this was on the back of a 9 hour flight home and in front of my 8 year old son. Absolutely disgusting and shocking behaviour. If the Taxi Driver is unhappy with something he ought to discuss this with his employees and not take his frustrations out on your customers. Wont be using this hotel again on the back of this.

Mr Holiday, 03 Nov 2017

Britannia Country House
1 out of 5

Everything went very smoothly, from dropping off car at hotel to collecting it on return. The room was clean and quite adequate for our needs although our early morning call never materialised.

Mr Rider, 31 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
3 out of 5

Everything went very smoothly, from dropping off car at hotel to collecting it on return. The room was clean and quite adequate for our needs although our early morning call never materialised.

Mr Rider, 31 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
3 out of 5

all was good and we would deferentially use this again.from arrival getting to and from the airport taxi services was all spot on

Mrs O'hanlon, 30 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
5 out of 5

No body told us who too look for at the pick up which made us late getting back to the hotel then when we got to the hotel we were put in a room that was falling apart that was dirty & bedding that smelled damp...

Mrs Clarke, 30 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
1 out of 5

Parking on arrival was an absolute nightmare, car park in general is a disgrace. Bus service you provided was great going however the pick up was terrible!! 20 minute walk to the station was never mentioned when booking and with 4 kids and luggage total nightmare, then a further 45 minute wait for the pick up to arrive, nah not good enough, sorry.

Mr Rice, 29 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
1 out of 5

Car parking was awful, rough muddy ground and no lights - we arrived after dark. Hotel was busy a lot of people smoking right at the door that we had to push through. Room was ok. Not clean enough to feel comfortable. We left earlier than planned in the morning. Went elsewhere for breakfast and organised parking at the airport which was more secure at a further cost. Please please please avoid this place like the plague.

Ms Weir, 28 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
1 out of 5

Everything went as expected, PERFECT, extremely helpful and friendly staff who know all about the products and services we required, have used in the past many times and will obviously use again. 10/10 for friendliness and service.

Mr Stephenson, 27 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
5 out of 5

Lovely hotel, great food, friendly staff.

Mr Scott, 25 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
5 out of 5

Everything was fine no problems at all booked the meal deal through holiday extras which was good value

Mr Blackwell, 25 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
4 out of 5

Easy to book. Always good prices. Good quality hotels.

Miss Brewer, 24 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
5 out of 5

Stayed with Britannia Country House Hotel several times - fab stay with lovely evening meal - really convenient to leave car for duration of holiday - easily arranged transfers to and from hotel - highly recommended

Mr Best, 23 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
5 out of 5

Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly and effecient.

Mr Cort, 21 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
5 out of 5

Very good

Mr Smith, 18 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
5 out of 5

Hotel was sub standard dirty rooms and food was awful. Cheap hotel and parking but the standard of a hostel.
Paid for transfers to the airport, taxi driver left my suitcase at the hotel and I had to pay another £15 for them to take me back to the hotel to pick it up. I’d paid for airport lounge so this then meant I had an hour less in the irpirt lounge. Awful start to a holiday 😫. If this wasn’t bad enough the taxi service was nearly half an hour late picking us up 😡

Miss Pearson, 19 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
1 out of 5

Very good

Mr Smith, 17 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
5 out of 5

The biggest problem is the transfers to and from the airport. Not too bad going out but rang to book our return taxi and for some reason it was cancelled but not by me, so we had to ring again. In total we had to wait over an hour to get the transfer back to the hotel.

Mrs Rochester, 17 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
3 out of 5

That should have been 10, my phone switched scrent. I would definitely stay again and recommendo to others.

Mrs Bolland, 17 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
1 out of 5

Yes...this year it was excellent as parking was available...staff pleasant and efficient, food acceptable and good value.

Ms Saavedra, 15 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
5 out of 5

All went smooth. Lovely meal and breakfast. My third time staying before a trip abroad

Mr Miles, 16 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
5 out of 5

All went well even with the collapse of monarch

Mr Fleming, 15 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
5 out of 5

Everything Wentworth well goods service nice rooms

Mr Hayes, 13 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
5 out of 5

Not to the standard we hoped for.

Mrs Pygott, 12 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
1 out of 5

The staff were doing their job but we didn't find them overly helpful especially when we were trying to locate some money that had gone astray

Mr Yates, 11 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
4 out of 5

Would of been answerable if you waited until we returned from our holiday! 2 days early with your email

Mr Doughtyl, 11 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
1 out of 5

pitiful lack of parking security. Returned to my car after a 10 day holiday to find the rear screen was smashed and an overnight case missing from the boot. Hotel staff were not aware of the incident and didn't take much interest saying you need to report it to the police.
Will never stay at this hotel again.

Mrs Mulligan, 09 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
1 out of 5

As expected

Mr Price, 06 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
5 out of 5

Holiday extras made everything extremely easy and saved us some money, so very happy!
Everything was as described and went smoothly. No faults at all - thanks.

Miss Scates, 05 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
4 out of 5

Upset by the airport transfer it was late on the outbound journey and on return we could not find the taxi . My husband spoke with the driver who seeme unable to tell us wher he was parked . He got agitated and told my husband to F--- Off ! We ended up paying £15. Ffor a private taxi. .

Mrs Hall, 03 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
3 out of 5

Yes we stay here regular at this hotel when flyin from manchester

Mrs Bower, 02 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
5 out of 5

Rooms starting to look a little tired apart from that ok

Mr Thorne, 02 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
4 out of 5

No space for our car so they told us to leave it in a public layby at front of hotel in the bushes. I have photos if you would like to see them

Mr Rushton, 01 Oct 2017

Britannia Country House
1 out of 5

The staff were brilliant we have no complaints at all

Mr Cooper, 29 Sep 2017

Britannia Country House
5 out of 5

Hotel I stayed in prior to holiday was noisy through the night with passengers coming and going. Suggest that hotel seperates departure time to areas of hotel

Mr Nendick, 29 Sep 2017

Britannia Country House
4 out of 5

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 21-01-2018, valid as of 18-11-2017