Reviews for the Gatwick Europa Hotel

Balcombe Road, Maidenbower, Crawley, RH10 7ZR

Book The Gatwick Europa

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 436 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£45.00*
room-only
3 miles
from the airport
7.6/10
customer rating

Oui or non?

76% of customers who left a review for the would book again
436 customers have given an average rating of 4 out of 5

It was simply the filthiest place I have ever seen. Everything was broken even down to missing door handles on bathroom. It was so terrible it was actually funny and became a great talking point for the holiday

Mr Wright, 30 Aug 2017

Europa
1 out of 5

Nowhere to park your car at all.
Dirty rooms .
Ask a few times for bed linen, never received it.
Had to sleep with my son in our bed.
Bathroom was dirty.
Staff kept promising the linen , but never came.
Other people turned up at hotel with vouchers , but no rooms available.

Mr Trotman, 10 Aug 2017

Europa
1 out of 5

Everything was as described on the website. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Mr Gouveia, 14 Jul 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

The staff were very helpful, however when i booked on line i had booked for a meal for a party of 3 when we got there the meal was not booked 1 person then had to pay extra for 2 and 1 person went with out, I wouldn't book with you again!

Miss Campbell, 10 Jul 2017

Europa
3 out of 5

Hotel was ok
Room was not it was dirty mouldy broken.
Totally not acceptable for adults let alone children
Bath was not useable

Miss Bell, 26 Jun 2017

Europa
1 out of 5

Staff were great,parking was bad

Mrs Merrills, 23 Jun 2017

Europa
5 out of 5

Had a job trying to find some were to set

Mrs Caswell, 16 May 2017

Europa
3 out of 5

Had a job trying to find some were to set

Mrs Caswell, 16 May 2017

Europa
3 out of 5

Swift check in. Rooms adequate size and comfortable.Nice garden area and indoor pool but did not use. Overall happy.

Mrs Warden, 16 Apr 2017

Europa
4 out of 5

Very dated hotel

Mr Wilson, 12 Dec 2016

Europa
2 out of 5

Hotel was dated but was as we expected, you get what you pay for. No hot water, beds very uncomfortable. Staff lovely, very helpful although didn't fix the hot water so we had cold showers for 3 days.

Mrs Clemes, 05 Nov 2016

Europa
2 out of 5

The Europa Gatwick is in dire need of some refurbishment. The hotel had a musty smell as did the bedroom. The bed was broken in the middle and my wife and I kept rolling into the middle. Subsequently had a very bad nights sleep. Not what we were hoping for. The whole idea of staying over was to be fresh in the morning to catch our early flight to Italy. Never again

Mr Naidoo, 05 Sep 2016

Europa
3 out of 5

Hotel was as described. Quite tired looking but fine for what you pay. Service was friendly and helpful. Buffet dinner was good value. Taxi service both ways was excellent

Mrs Harris, 14 Aug 2016

Europa
4 out of 5

The Europa Hotel at Gatwick was adequate but in need of decoration and maintenance.

Dr Smith, 24 Jul 2016

Europa
5 out of 5

Excellent services provided as usual.

Mr Jehovah0nissi, 13 Jun 2016

Europa
5 out of 5

Every think went very smoothly. Thank you.

Mrs Burgess, 31 May 2016

Europa
5 out of 5

As per normal location spot on and good value for money

Mr Tegg, 25 May 2016

Europa
5 out of 5

The staff at the hotel was the only saving grace! We booked 5 rooms.
Room 1: doors over looking water fountain didn't close properly so sound of loud running water all night. Double bed broken at foot of the bed so sleeping on a slant. Wall paper ripped off wall and not repaired. Shower head so low I couldn't actually stand under it and I'm not very tall!!
Room 2: smelt so overwhelmingly of damp that my friend was unable to sleep and had a headache for the 48hours following the stay! Could be smelt from the hallway! Disgusting!
Room 3,4&5: beds very uncomfortable so a good nights sleep was not possible. Rooms tired and grubby, wall paper ripped and carpets worn. Could smell room 2 through the wall!!

Miss Thrower, 07 May 2016

Europa
1 out of 5

a bit run down for a 3 star.
staff were good. beds were clean. bathrooms were dated, cracked floor tiles and mold in bath seal

Mrs Caley, 10 Apr 2016

Europa
4 out of 5

I'd recommend this hotel for the convenience, as we did as a stop over the night before flying from Gatwick. Improvements to the rooms would of made a difference if we decided to stay longer as they needed updating. Walls and behind doors could of been cleaned. Big crack in the sink, shower curtain stained, some stains (blood?)on bedroom curtains. I would of marked lower but done us for the night. Only bonus was it was cheap and close to Gatwick airport.

Mrs Eglinton, 07 Apr 2016

Europa
4 out of 5

We arrived late on 1st Feb given a family room but unfortunately it needed some TLC carpet was threadbare and wallpaper coming off, beds were clean and fresh, breakfast was good. Staff were good. Will still use this hotel as easy to get to airport. We are staying again in March.

Mr Turner, 16 Feb 2016

Europa
5 out of 5

Very helpfull had to change rooms cos lights blew food great only thing they could do with drinks vending machine bar was closed and I needed water to take medication

Mrs Orsman, 10 Jan 2016

Europa
5 out of 5

Didn't. Enjoy any of - dinner or breakfast, should have more varieties available on vegetarian side Room

Mr Patel, 27 Oct 2015

Europa
3 out of 5

Staff were very helpful and friendly. Very good customer service experienced.

Mr Pollard, 21 Oct 2015

Europa
5 out of 5

Everything was fine. Just took a while to find a parking space.

Mr Coom, 02 Oct 2015

Europa
5 out of 5

Wifi in the rooms and more staff during check in times. Or ask an ETA so existing staff can assist with check the check in queues.

Ms Gallant, 16 Sep 2015

Europa
5 out of 5

Very poor carvery-Surly attitude of carvery staff.
Furniture chipped,old and worn out.
Wall paper hanging off.

Mr Hodges, 16 Jun 2015

Europa
1 out of 5

No complimentary newspapers and if you register your car you do not have to pay overnight parking chatge

Mrs Hancock, 01 Mar 2015

Europa
4 out of 5

Friendly, knowledgeable staff and very quick & easy booking. Only down side was that the booking was not completely relayed to the hotel so I had to wait for quite a while when I went to check in, as the hotel had to get in contact with Holiday Extras to get confirmation.

Mr Matthews, 05 Aug 2014

Europa
4 out of 5

A PRICE FOR ONE NIGHT ON RETURN AS WELL AS BEFORE MIGHT BE HELPFUL

Mr Ling, 31 Jan 2014

Europa
4 out of 5

Had to change rooms cos of fag smells and snot stains. Our 'upgrade' has questionable white marks on the chairs and a questionable brown stain on the floor. Both our cards were declined in the bar due to 'visa being down' then they tried to get us to leave card photocopies with reception. Oh, and the 'carvery' on offer was sone shrivelled ham. We were also kept awake all night with doors slamming in other rooms.

Miss Guise, 15 Oct 2013

Europa
1 out of 5

The hotel was terrible we stayed 30 minutes then left. Very dirty and tired looking. I have sent a letter if complaint to your customer services department.

Mr Smith, 02 Oct 2013

Europa
1 out of 5

We stayed at the Europa gatwick it is very much in need of up dating and not very friendly, the tables covered in glasses and plates from previous customers and we had to clear ourselves. we took this deal with kids eat breakfast free with paying adult and they would not honour it so with 5 ad and 5 kids travelling it was an expensive meal . would not recomend this hotel very grubby. Not at all like pics indicated

Mrs Berry, 06 Sep 2013

Europa
2 out of 5

Holiday extras were perfect but the hotel europa gatwick was a big disappointment and therefore we cancelled our return stay with them. There was no lift and we had to carry our suitcases up stairs. There was a huge hole in our carpet the cupboard door was hanging off the hinge the bathroom had mold and mildew and we felt so uncomfortable the who stay with a muscky smell. We could not wait to get out of there. The reason for booking that hotel was that they had a swimming pool as i am pregnant and i have a two year old to entertain but as the hotel felt unclean. We choose not to take a swim.

Miss Dewitt, 21 Aug 2013

Europa
5 out of 5

Everything was very good, The transport to the airport was good as the bus does have a ramp, all the staff were very very helpfull

Mr Mcgeown, 01 Jul 2013

Europa
5 out of 5

The hotel was in need o some brightening up but was good value for money.

Mr Pritchard, 04 Jun 2013

Europa
4 out of 5

Staff very helpful , asked for ground floor room and were given one

Mrs Langdon, 28 May 2013

Europa
4 out of 5

We have never had a problem with holiday extras.

Mr Grovenor, 29 Mar 2013

Europa
5 out of 5

free bottle of wine as have used hotel before free room upgrade as could not manage the stairs comfortable stay and swift check in thanks

Miss Smith, 12 Mar 2013

Europa
5 out of 5

Facilities fine but staff not so helpful! Especially no help with suitcases and muddy car park.

Mrs Smart, 09 Mar 2013

Europa
5 out of 5

Everything was perfect, especially the breakfast, great attention to detail and help with the kids. Many thanks

Mr Everett, 02 Jan 2013

Europa
5 out of 5

EVERYTHING WAS GREAT AGAIN THANKS.
BUT BOOKING NEARER TO TRAVEL MAY GET YOU A BETTER DEAL STILL

Mr Ling, 23 Dec 2012

Europa
2 out of 5

all went well had a great holiday, hope to go again in 2013

Mr Gray, 02 Oct 2012

Europa
5 out of 5

Holiday extras are very good and extremely helpful.

Mrs Mccalla, 06 Aug 2012

Europa
3 out of 5

Good Hotel, with easy airport transfer

Mr Bunclark, 13 Jul 2012

Europa
5 out of 5

All went well

Mr Lister, 31 May 2012

Europa
5 out of 5

Everything was fine we will use your services in the future

Mr Lister, 30 May 2012

Europa
5 out of 5

Yes all was fine Thankyou

Mrs Sheppard, 04 May 2012

Europa
5 out of 5

very impressed with hotel &staff the restuarant very good with good selection of food. The room again very comfortable and well presented ,will certainly be using you again in the future.

Mrs Richards, 31 Mar 2012

Europa
5 out of 5

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 17-12-2017, valid as of 16-10-2017