Reviews for the Gatwick Europa Hotel

Balcombe Road, Maidenbower, Crawley, RH10 7ZR

Book The Gatwick Europa

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 932 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£42.00*
room-only
3 miles
from the airport
7/10
customer rating

Oui or non?

Our customers rated Europa, on average, 7/10 (932 reviews).

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 932

Easy to book and no hidden costs

Mrs Adams, 30 Nov 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

Nice & easy, cheap & cheerful place to stay. Car parking took a while to find a space, but room was clean & spacious

Herr Zsch?sch, 20 Nov 2019

Europa
4 out of 5

The reception staff was very confused. The young man who took us to the room even lost himself in the corridor . Room was dirty and smelly. We upgrade to the best room by paying extra and that room was much better than the other two rooms showed before. Food and swimming pool are nice and up to standard. Parking space is really hard to find. Breakfast was really good.

Mr Mathew, 17 Nov 2019

Europa
1 out of 5

The reception staff was very confused. The young man who took us to the room even lost himself in the corridor . Room was dirty and smelly. We upgrade to the best room by paying extra and that room was much better than the other two rooms showed before. Food and swimming pool are nice and up to standard. Parking space is really hard to find. Breakfast was really good.

Mr Mathew, 17 Nov 2019

Europa
1 out of 5

Very pleased with accommodation and facilities

Herr El_Okaili, 12 Nov 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

Yes thanks enjoyed our stay picked my car up today with no fuss. Everything exactally how i left it think u shud have a valet service for washing cars parked under the trees but thanks for ur services.

Herr Pueschel, 07 Nov 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

The hotel was easy to find, had a direct phone line to the taxi firm with whom they had negotiated a special, fixed-rate 24hr a day service to and from the airport. Finding a parking space was a challenge - I think I got the last available one despite having reserved & paid for one - but the staff were welcoming & helpful.

Mr Bryjak, 04 Oct 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

The drop off and pick up was great The hotel rooms could do with a make over the bathrooms are looking very old the food was very good as were the staff .

Ms Abhau, 22 Sep 2019

Europa
4 out of 5

All was as described, but the hotel was noisey with a few Weddings taking place, and not really set up for young children, the one highchair looked like it hadn’t been cleaned in months!

Mr Fischer, 17 Sep 2019

Europa
4 out of 5

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is in need of a refresh.

Mr Kuchenbecker, 15 Sep 2019

Europa
4 out of 5

Hotel very run down, dirty and in need of several repairs. Parking was chaos, took an age to find a space. Hotel staff polite and helpful

Herr Janocha, 04 Sep 2019

Europa
1 out of 5

Hotel was dated but clean. Parking was awful, cars were everywhere and parked awfully. Took ages to find anywhere safe to leave our car!

Herr Gramlich, 25 Aug 2019

Europa
4 out of 5

Hotel decent for an overnight, car park gets really busy tho difficult to park

Ms Gruendel, 03 Aug 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

Britannia Europa hotel is getting shabby and the hot buffet dinner was only warm. But pleasant staff, great position, easy cheap parking and the Evo taxi service at £9 each way was very efficient and good value.

Frau Lewalder-Steinw, 22 Jul 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

The hotel booked through you had no details of the booking despite the booking being made via you weeks before. I had to forward my booking to the hotel reception by email to prove it and they had to get the manager for advice. Was at reception for 40 minutes sorting it out

Mr Johnson, 21 Jul 2019

Europa
1 out of 5

Hotel was difficult to find as sat as thought postcode was in the middle of a road. Easy to get taxi to airport at £10, I think due to hotel having agreed terms with a local taxi firm. Cost £30 to get back!

Mr Neumann, 15 Jul 2019

Europa
3 out of 5

We have stayed overnight twice , bedroom very clean and bedding, only problem we experienced this time was finding a parking space otherwise excellent

Mr Schroeder, 06 Jul 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

We had no power in the room but we had lights. We went to reception said they had power problems so we went to bed hoping in the morning it would be ok but no. We couldn’t have a cup of tea couldn’t dry my hair and couldn’t charge up my phone the reception didn’t want to know. We won’t stay there again

Mr Kratochwill, 29 Jun 2019

Europa
1 out of 5

Good value for parking but hotel was awful, not clean or nice environment.

Mrs Marsh, 24 Jun 2019

Europa
2 out of 5

Room tidy and comfortable all staff very helpful

Herr Schlag, 09 Jun 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

Good service and comfortable room for a one night stay but quite dated! Done the job for what we needed though.

Mr Armstrong, 06 Jun 2019

Europa
4 out of 5

Reasonable price for my stay and parking. Happy with everything.

Ms Schlueter, 03 Jun 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

Hotel very close to airport

Mr Brown, 30 May 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

Good quality service as usual

Herr Meinlschmidt, 19 May 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

Keep prices lower

Mr Maina, 11 May 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

Ideal for I nights stay before an early flight from Gatwick. Parking in the grounds a great benefit except that when we went, the car park was quite full until we realised that there were spaces available for guests who were staying overnight and could keep the space during their stay away. Room/en-suite acceptable but spotlessly clean. Didn't eat as we had already eaten before we travelled to the hotel and breakfast was far to early due to our early morning flight. Note: we booked as we got a very good deal; only £55 for I nights stay + 8 nights parking. Hotel recommends a local taxi service to and from Gatwick at a fixed fare of only £9.

Mr Stevens, 01 May 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

Parking good, encouraged to pay for carvery when booked, when arrived receptionist actually said 'the food isnt that great', which was true you have to find a member of staff to cut you one slice of meat gammon or pork we dont eat either choice of broccoli , cauliflower and frozen roast potatoes. You have to pay for wifi and the shower didnt work.

Miss Mitchell, 29 Apr 2019

Europa
3 out of 5

Good value hotels and very good documentation.Thanks

Herr Braun, 27 Apr 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

Hotel ok for 3 star - food good Only down side difficult to park the car Not bad value for money

Mr Chiswell, 25 Apr 2019

Europa
3 out of 5

all good..only criticism no early morning wake up calls. .so don't forget your phone..to do your own wake up call. nice have direct contact with the taxi company..phone on site.. to order and take to airport £9.00 one way.. nice 3,course meal..good price orde before or at check inn as its cheaper then paying up stairs.. ROOM. WAS AS DESCRIBED.. NO FRILLS BUT FOR 1,NIGHT STAY ALL THAT'S REQUIRED..WITH T/C MAKING FACILITIES..

Herr Woelfel, 14 Apr 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

Rude bar staff taking food orders Balcony doors didn’t shut. This was a room I booked for my daughters and granddaughters.

Miss Maguire, 08 Apr 2019

Europa
2 out of 5

Very modern clean hotel with friendly staff and very keen price

Mr Mann, 05 Apr 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

We had a really loud guest screaming and shouting outside out room at 1am and the the fire alarm went off at 3am. There was no apology or anything from the staff. Other than that the hotel and parking was ok.

Mr Hibberd, 31 Mar 2019

Europa
2 out of 5

Room comfy Taxi arrived on time.

Mrs Campbell, 21 Mar 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

Straight forward booking. Check-in at hotel easy and no problem with accomodation. Tea & coffee provided. Ate dinner at hotel bar. Food well presented.

Ms Trenchfield, 14 Feb 2019

Europa
4 out of 5

hotel was fine for overnight stay and parking was easy. However, food was terrible

Mrs Enoch, 29 Jan 2019

Europa
4 out of 5

Very good financial value, but wouldn't want to stay more than one night in this Britannia managed hotel. On return to Gatwick nearly missed the taxi arranged through the hotel due to having been given pick up location description being at least 5 years out of date (according to the driver)

Mr Boon, 25 Jan 2019

Europa
4 out of 5

Hotel is a little tired, but adequate for a one night stay before flying.

Mrs Apps, 16 Jan 2019

Europa
4 out of 5

Everything was fine no problems

Mr Parkhouse, 31 Dec 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Everything okay hotel fine for the purpose especially the car parking.

Mr Butterworth, 31 Dec 2018

Europa
4 out of 5

Not the easiest hotel to find but a restful nights sleep and parking for 29 days. Great prices and food that was satisfactory.

Mr Strling, 21 Dec 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

The staff were very helpful, the room is basic but for what we paid as an overnight stop it was great value. A taxi was ordered for us it arrived on time and we knew the cost before we got in it, all in all great service

Mr Crisp, 04 Dec 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Friendly staff, comfortable room, good breakfast. Parking easy. Very good value. Don’t know why so many bad reviews.

Miss Bath, 11 Nov 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Hotel dated needs upgrading

Mr Faulkner, 30 Oct 2018

Europa
2 out of 5

I was worried after reading all the comments online but no need, we found a parking spot after about 5 minutes, check in was easy, the room was fine and we didn’t hear a peep from other guests, breakfast was good, the kids really enjoyed it and the car was perfectly fine when we returned and collected it, will definitely use again!

Mrs Edwards, 23 Oct 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Hotel dirty and unclean. I got food poisoning from the hotel food hours before my flights.

Mr Ilyas, 23 Oct 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

Staff very friendly. But had been very busy that day. Hence we were given a room that was still occupied. Fortunately the problem was soon sorted out

Mrs Campbell, 20 Oct 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Thought I've already done this survey,? Stayed at Europa clean basic suited our purpose. Parking was a nightmare. Holiday extra were great will use them again.

Mrs Hatchard, 19 Oct 2018

Europa
3 out of 5

Hotel was fine, had to request bedding for the rollaway bed and had to wait a while for it but apart from that great stay

Mrs James, 13 Oct 2018

Europa
4 out of 5

Parking at Europa Hotel was pot luck drove around for ages to find a space. Glad I've not got posh new car ha ha. Staff very good at hotel. Rooms basic all you need and very clean. Breakfast not best, buffet help yourself, foodbeen there a long time. Basic. Saying that it suited our purpose and worked well with times of our flights. So would use again.

Mrs Hatchard, 11 Oct 2018

Europa
3 out of 5

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 932

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 09-02-2020, valid as of 05-12-2019