Reviews for the Gatwick Europa Hotel

Balcombe Road, Maidenbower, Crawley, RH10 7ZR

Book The Gatwick Europa

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 920 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£49.00*
room-only
3 miles
from the airport
7/10
customer rating

Oui or non?

Our customers rated Europa, on average, 7/10 (920 reviews).

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 920

Hotel decent for an overnight, car park gets really busy tho difficult to park

Ms Gruendel, 03 Aug 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

Britannia Europa hotel is getting shabby and the hot buffet dinner was only warm. But pleasant staff, great position, easy cheap parking and the Evo taxi service at £9 each way was very efficient and good value.

Frau Lewalder-Steinw, 22 Jul 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

The hotel booked through you had no details of the booking despite the booking being made via you weeks before. I had to forward my booking to the hotel reception by email to prove it and they had to get the manager for advice. Was at reception for 40 minutes sorting it out

Mr Johnson, 21 Jul 2019

Europa
1 out of 5

Hotel was difficult to find as sat as thought postcode was in the middle of a road. Easy to get taxi to airport at £10, I think due to hotel having agreed terms with a local taxi firm. Cost £30 to get back!

Mr Neumann, 15 Jul 2019

Europa
3 out of 5

We have stayed overnight twice , bedroom very clean and bedding, only problem we experienced this time was finding a parking space otherwise excellent

Mr Schroeder, 06 Jul 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

We had no power in the room but we had lights. We went to reception said they had power problems so we went to bed hoping in the morning it would be ok but no. We couldn’t have a cup of tea couldn’t dry my hair and couldn’t charge up my phone the reception didn’t want to know. We won’t stay there again

Mr Kratochwill, 29 Jun 2019

Europa
1 out of 5

Good value for parking but hotel was awful, not clean or nice environment.

Mrs Marsh, 24 Jun 2019

Europa
2 out of 5

Room tidy and comfortable all staff very helpful

Herr Schlag, 09 Jun 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

Good service and comfortable room for a one night stay but quite dated! Done the job for what we needed though.

Mr Armstrong, 06 Jun 2019

Europa
4 out of 5

Reasonable price for my stay and parking. Happy with everything.

Ms Schlueter, 03 Jun 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

Hotel very close to airport

Mr Brown, 30 May 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

Good quality service as usual

Herr Meinlschmidt, 19 May 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

Keep prices lower

Mr Maina, 11 May 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

Ideal for I nights stay before an early flight from Gatwick. Parking in the grounds a great benefit except that when we went, the car park was quite full until we realised that there were spaces available for guests who were staying overnight and could keep the space during their stay away. Room/en-suite acceptable but spotlessly clean. Didn't eat as we had already eaten before we travelled to the hotel and breakfast was far to early due to our early morning flight. Note: we booked as we got a very good deal; only £55 for I nights stay + 8 nights parking. Hotel recommends a local taxi service to and from Gatwick at a fixed fare of only £9.

Mr Stevens, 01 May 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

Parking good, encouraged to pay for carvery when booked, when arrived receptionist actually said 'the food isnt that great', which was true you have to find a member of staff to cut you one slice of meat gammon or pork we dont eat either choice of broccoli , cauliflower and frozen roast potatoes. You have to pay for wifi and the shower didnt work.

Miss Mitchell, 29 Apr 2019

Europa
3 out of 5

Good value hotels and very good documentation.Thanks

Herr Braun, 27 Apr 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

Hotel ok for 3 star - food good Only down side difficult to park the car Not bad value for money

Mr Chiswell, 25 Apr 2019

Europa
3 out of 5

all good..only criticism no early morning wake up calls. .so don't forget your phone..to do your own wake up call. nice have direct contact with the taxi company..phone on site.. to order and take to airport £9.00 one way.. nice 3,course meal..good price orde before or at check inn as its cheaper then paying up stairs.. ROOM. WAS AS DESCRIBED.. NO FRILLS BUT FOR 1,NIGHT STAY ALL THAT'S REQUIRED..WITH T/C MAKING FACILITIES..

Herr Woelfel, 14 Apr 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

Rude bar staff taking food orders Balcony doors didn’t shut. This was a room I booked for my daughters and granddaughters.

Miss Maguire, 08 Apr 2019

Europa
2 out of 5

Very modern clean hotel with friendly staff and very keen price

Mr Mann, 05 Apr 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

We had a really loud guest screaming and shouting outside out room at 1am and the the fire alarm went off at 3am. There was no apology or anything from the staff. Other than that the hotel and parking was ok.

Mr Hibberd, 31 Mar 2019

Europa
2 out of 5

Room comfy Taxi arrived on time.

Mrs Campbell, 21 Mar 2019

Europa
5 out of 5

Straight forward booking. Check-in at hotel easy and no problem with accomodation. Tea & coffee provided. Ate dinner at hotel bar. Food well presented.

Ms Trenchfield, 14 Feb 2019

Europa
4 out of 5

hotel was fine for overnight stay and parking was easy. However, food was terrible

Mrs Enoch, 29 Jan 2019

Europa
4 out of 5

Very good financial value, but wouldn't want to stay more than one night in this Britannia managed hotel. On return to Gatwick nearly missed the taxi arranged through the hotel due to having been given pick up location description being at least 5 years out of date (according to the driver)

Mr Boon, 25 Jan 2019

Europa
4 out of 5

Hotel is a little tired, but adequate for a one night stay before flying.

Mrs Apps, 16 Jan 2019

Europa
4 out of 5

Everything was fine no problems

Mr Parkhouse, 31 Dec 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Everything okay hotel fine for the purpose especially the car parking.

Mr Butterworth, 31 Dec 2018

Europa
4 out of 5

Not the easiest hotel to find but a restful nights sleep and parking for 29 days. Great prices and food that was satisfactory.

Mr Strling, 21 Dec 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

The staff were very helpful, the room is basic but for what we paid as an overnight stop it was great value. A taxi was ordered for us it arrived on time and we knew the cost before we got in it, all in all great service

Mr Crisp, 04 Dec 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Friendly staff, comfortable room, good breakfast. Parking easy. Very good value. Don’t know why so many bad reviews.

Miss Bath, 11 Nov 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Hotel dated needs upgrading

Mr Faulkner, 30 Oct 2018

Europa
2 out of 5

I was worried after reading all the comments online but no need, we found a parking spot after about 5 minutes, check in was easy, the room was fine and we didn’t hear a peep from other guests, breakfast was good, the kids really enjoyed it and the car was perfectly fine when we returned and collected it, will definitely use again!

Mrs Edwards, 23 Oct 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Hotel dirty and unclean. I got food poisoning from the hotel food hours before my flights.

Mr Ilyas, 23 Oct 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

Staff very friendly. But had been very busy that day. Hence we were given a room that was still occupied. Fortunately the problem was soon sorted out

Mrs Campbell, 20 Oct 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Thought I've already done this survey,? Stayed at Europa clean basic suited our purpose. Parking was a nightmare. Holiday extra were great will use them again.

Mrs Hatchard, 19 Oct 2018

Europa
3 out of 5

Hotel was fine, had to request bedding for the rollaway bed and had to wait a while for it but apart from that great stay

Mrs James, 13 Oct 2018

Europa
4 out of 5

Parking at Europa Hotel was pot luck drove around for ages to find a space. Glad I've not got posh new car ha ha. Staff very good at hotel. Rooms basic all you need and very clean. Breakfast not best, buffet help yourself, foodbeen there a long time. Basic. Saying that it suited our purpose and worked well with times of our flights. So would use again.

Mrs Hatchard, 11 Oct 2018

Europa
3 out of 5

The hotel was ok but will probably not stay there again. Room was passable but disappointed with the evening meal which was a buffet and left a lot to be desired!

Mrs Ray, 10 Oct 2018

Europa
3 out of 5

Second visit. Helpful staff. Good value for money.

Mrs Lai Tan, 05 Oct 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

Although the hotel itself is ok, parking at this hotel is awful. Not enough spaces provided and most of the parking is on unmade muddy ground with no set spaces. Also the approximate £10 taxi fare is actually £19 so almost double that stated!

Mrs Finch, 27 Sep 2018

Europa
3 out of 5

Staff ok but not happy with the price of breakfast instant coffee in a dish with a spoon to make your drink with hot water.

Mr Emsley, 21 Sep 2018

Europa
3 out of 5

hotel okay - needs an uplift- very dated and shabby

Mr Page, 18 Sep 2018

Europa
4 out of 5

Hotel was okay but smelt of damp, Restaurant was food was ok, the bed mattress was terrible, springs sticking out everywhere, so no sleep that night

Mr Smith, 18 Sep 2018

Europa
3 out of 5

We think the hotel was in need of updating and refurbishing. The Set meal in the evening was disappointing. Upon our return journey: the taxi company that was recommended, let us down & we were not contacted re: when the taxi arrived ! We waited 1 hour !

Mrs Burchell-Trent, 16 Sep 2018

Europa
3 out of 5

Average hotel, nothing particularly special but that is not why we booked! Was very convenient for the airport.

Mr Lea, 11 Sep 2018

Europa
5 out of 5

The hotel with parking was absolutely shocking. I wouldn't stay there ever again. We drove around for over 30 minutes looking for somewhere to park as the hotel had clearly booked it too many people requiring parking spaces. Their suggestion was that we make our own parking space or park on double yellow lines, but had anything happened to our car it wouldn't have been their responsibility. When you pay for parking you expect to get parking. We booked a hotel with parking so we could have a stress free night in Gatwick before our long haul flight the next day, and that is certainly not what we got. The hotel room was outdated, cramped, and smelled like damp also. However, this was the bit I could overlook having stayed in hostels before, and since it was only one night. The parking situation however was an absolute joke. Their other suggestion was that if there really wasn't anywhere to park, we could park it on the road. So having paid for parking we wouldn't have parking. The reception staff said that this was the only thing they could suggest as they were busy. Absolutely shocking service that I wouldn't recommend to anyone.

Miss Drew-Edwards, 05 Sep 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

Hotel was not that great. 1st off all we can't not get in to the room? The young man @ desk was helpful. Food was not good. Then @ 05.09 the fire alarm keeps going off. And when we went down stairs. With all the other people from the hotel. The man @the desk was not helpful. All he said its a good think that the alarm works? Will not be staying there again!

Mr Spencer, 31 Aug 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

The hotel was very shabby and outdated with no toiletries in the room. The breakfast & evening meal were very basic

Mrs Godfrey, 29 Aug 2018

Europa
1 out of 5

Facilities and standards at the hotel were quite poor and not up to scratch. Smelly dirty pool changing rooms and toilets, room basic and toilet not up to standard. Shower not working. Reception area and walkways smelt of smoke. We wouldn’t stay here again.

Mr Manners-Jones, 28 Aug 2018

Europa
3 out of 5

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 920

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 20-10-2019, valid as of 20-08-2019