Reviews of Russ Hill Hotel at Gatwick Airport

Russ Hill, Charlwood, Surrey RH6 0EL

Book the Russ Hill Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 1608 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£37.00*
room-only
£64.00*
including 8 days parking
3 miles
from the airport
8/10
customer rating

Guests' reviews of the Gatwick Russ Hill

Our customers rated Russ Hill, on average, 8/10 (1608 reviews).

Viewing reviews 51 - 100 of 1608

Parking was fine. Hotel staff were good. The bathroom in the room was very small, beds were uncomfortable, room was clean though. The people in the neighbouring room were very noisy from 1am to 4am so we didn't get much sleep. The staff on reception did ask them to keep the noise down but they didn't take much notice. The hotel and parking were good value for money overall.

Miss Coleman, 07 Feb 2019

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

Smooth as always

Mr Freestone, 21 Jan 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Yes,we were very satisfied with everything

Mrs Selley, 13 Jan 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Hotel was fine close to airport. Arrived early as unsure of traffic girl on reception was abrupt to the point of rude, left and returned later, the 2 guys on reception at acheckin were helpful. Car park was disorganised no bays marked people parked all over, some cars were blocked in.

Miss Pinn, 06 Jan 2019

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

Great stopover night before flight. Taxi service amazing.

Mrs Kelly, 03 Jan 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Probably the worst hotel we ever stayed in, but for £52 a night in Gatwick you can’t expect much so if you want cheap this is a “good†place. The bed in our room was broken, very squeaky, so we moved it to the side of the wall and had mattress on the floor, which was ok. Buffet dinner was excellent (for the price charged).

Mr Hurinek, 03 Jan 2019

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Everything went smoothly, our room was on the ground floor. The evening dinner was a buffet style with plenty of choice, and the breakfast was also good with plenty of variety. The taxi we had to and from the airport was very reasonable at £9 each way, I would definitely stay there again, and would recommend it to friends. It was cheaper to stay there than pay for two weeks parking at Meet and Greet!

Mrs Aspinall, 29 Dec 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Great value for money for an overnight stay before an early morning flight. Clean comfortable rooms.

Mrs Grant, 23 Dec 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Good clean rooms for one night and on site parking, excellent breakfast and only £9 for taxi to airport

Mr Cooney, 15 Dec 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Staff were very helpful & organised a taxi for the morning which was ready waiting for us upon leaving. Check in & out was very quick without delays. The price was very cheap & it included parking for the period of time we were away. We just needed somewhere to get our head down for a few hours before an early flight & for this it served its purpose. Beds & rooms were clean, but hotel is very dated & not somewhere I would want to stay for a length of time. Due to it being used a lot for people going to the airport it was quite noisey during the night with people back & forth with cases.

Mrs Davies, 12 Dec 2018

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

oh dear, holiday extras did it again, great place, great price, always go with the firm you trust, thanks again wonderful start to our holiday. jason.

Mr Allen, 10 Dec 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

We had used the hotel last year and were happy with how easy the parking was and once again found the hotel had what we needed the night before our holiday. Always very good value. One thing that could be improved is the attitude of your reception staff. We only had contact with one lady on arrival and to be honsest she was absolutely miserable, not the best when in a customer facing role. I understand it could be depressing when other people are all jetting off on holiday but at least try and pretend to be happy for them.

Miss Gilder, 10 Dec 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Very clean rooms, nice towels and good pressure shower with plenty of hot water!! Good parking in that you retain your keys so car is NOT moved, 3 course carvery dinner was fine (plenty of meat) and plenty of other food choices.

Mr Smith, 28 Nov 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

We have no complaints with the hotel at all but the access road was a bit rough with a lot of big potholes

Mrs Copeman, 23 Nov 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

We have stayed at the Russ Hill Hotel many times with one night stay and parking. The rooms are very basic and some don’t have windows so may feel clostrophobic But for the price excellent value

Mr Harding, 20 Nov 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Russ Hill hotel good. Airport transfer taxi, booked through hotel reception, rubbish. The taxi arrived a full hour late, and only after reception chasing them up. They tried to say it had not been booked but hotel had reference of booking!

Mr Philips, 20 Nov 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Breakfast we had paid for was not on the system. Wi-Fi at reception was dial up ( snail) speed. Cleaner went in to our room before we had checked out.

Mrs Meakin, 20 Nov 2018

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Lovely hotel, Hotel restaurant was very good buffet for a good price, saved going out somewhere else to eat, suttle taxis worked well.

Mr Sparkes, 19 Nov 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Everything was fine, used this hotel as it came up the cheapest. It’s a bit out of the way but it has all that you need for 1 night stay

Mr Page, 17 Nov 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Facilities were just excellent. Our trip went smoothly. Thank you very much.

Miss Kubat, 16 Nov 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Everything went according to plan albeit a long wait for return taxi.

Mr Norman, 09 Nov 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

As usual service room and facilities as expected. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Mr Rice, 21 Oct 2018

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Th russ hill hotel is a transit hotel for flights out of Gatwick it does exactly what I sates on the tin cheep and maybe not cheerfull but saying that 10 days parking and when we arrived it was packed to the gunnels. Thought we were going to have problems parking but pulled up outside and there was a parking attendant think he was Italian and he gave us one straight away we were driving a big car and as you have to tell them what car you are parking when you book it seemed like they kept one back for us.And all for £126 for for people onily gave 9 stars because thought the bar manager was a bit of with us when we ordered drinks from him

Mr Smith, 17 Oct 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The room was a bit dated and very very small

Mr Snitch, 13 Oct 2018

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

Hotel was idealm for flying from gatwick, staff brilliant. Taxi transfer very easy.

Mrs Cox, 12 Oct 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

All very good. Food was fine, staff friendly. Only complaint was that there wasn't a window in the room.

Mr Randall, 04 Oct 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

staff gave us a room without a window but quickly changed it when we complained

Mr Newman, 04 Oct 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

all ran smoothly

Mr Jones, 02 Oct 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Hotel needs updating, there was a security light that flashed outside our frosted,unable to open window all night. The emergency exit light was so bright in the room it lit everything up the room was too warm. The parking was unorganised people were parking anywhere they could. The staff were very busy, food was good. Taxi to airport very good. Taxi drivers very helpful. Wouldn't stay here again

Mr Howell, 20 Sep 2018

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Facilities etc good but parking very tight

Mrs Martin, 15 Sep 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

I read some bad reviews and was really worried about staying here. I had nothing to worry about. There was 8 of us all together staying, check in was quick, reception staff was very helpful. We had two family rooms which were large and clean, was basic but everything you needed. We ate in the bar and the food was lovely and good value for money. I would definitely recommend this hotel

Miss Short, 13 Sep 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Very convenient for Gatwick. Food was good and room clean and adequate for one night stay.

Miss Webling, 03 Sep 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Long wait at reception on arrival and staff seemed a little disorganised, the room was very basic but just for one night was adequate. The food in the bar was very good. Overall the whole package was very good value for money.

Mrs Eldridge, 26 Aug 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Pleasant and friendly staff, food was fine, very disappointed with the room very small and no windows or daylight very claustrophobic.

Mrs Gilbert, 25 Aug 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Car park excellent, unfortunately never had the chance to stay in the hotel as flight was delayed for 17 hours. Would book again if flying from Gatwick

Miss Hemming, 29 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Hotel very convenient for Gatwick and staff fantastic; friendly and helpful. However... the restaurant food is overpriced and disappointing and the rooms, having no ventilation, hotter than hell. Fans are provided, fortunately and did give a little relief.

Mrs O'neill, 26 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

I booked in may I paid in may for 2 rooms When second room occupants arrived they where told no room at the inn By the time something got sorted it was 2am in morning Complete waste of time

Mr Costin, 25 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Would never stay at russ hill hotel! Was awful there was no windows that opened and no air con was left with a tiny fan! Receptionists we're so rude and not welcoming at all or helpful when it come to hotel parking!!!

Miss Evans, 24 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Held up on route & consequently arrived later than expected. Could not find anywhere to park on arrival so was told told to park on the grass in the end! On checking in to the hotel was then told the restaurant was closed and the bar would close at 10pm! Just enough time for a quick drink but no food except a sandwich. I'm just glad I didn't pre - book a meal like I had intended. Not really sure if I would book this hotel again.

Mr Munn, 22 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Some of the rooms are more like prison cells ......we changed rooms

Mr Guy, 22 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The room was ok but we all struggled to sleep with the constant sound of plains landing. The food was shocking to be honest. Everything felt like it had been cooked the day before. One thing I would like add is that it would be nice to have some sort of tea and coffee machine available 24/7 for those flying out at funny times. Overall would I use a similar service to this again? Yes I would but I would stay well clear of this hotel.

Mr Morley, 20 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Unfortunately the booking was mixed up and the car parking wasn't booked correctly, it was booked onto our stay the night we got home rather than the night before we flew. When we got back I had booked breakfast but the hotel said it wasn't on the booking so refused to give it to us and I couldn't call customer services as it wasn't open. Mishaps all round :-( I did email on my return and am still awaiting Holiday Extras reply and a week has already passed!

Mrs Kemp, 16 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

Hotel was perfectly acceptable for what we needed. Parking was in hotel grounds and you don't leave the keys with them so your vehicle is not touched or moved ( happens with one other I stayed at)

Mr Pleass, 12 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

We were given a ground floor room with no windows only a skylight that did not open and could not be reached. In this hot weather it was not acceptable. I did not complain as it was only for the night but would definitely warn people not to go there

Mrs Barton, 11 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Very convenient and relaxing hotel. Friendly staff. Very busy as you would expect for the time of year and location. Parking simple, check in smooth. Room ad expect3d. Basic, bit clean with everything you need for an overnight stay. Buffet/ carvery very nice, and we'll stocked bar. Taxi arrived on time. Highly recommend.

Mr Strickland, 08 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Helpful pleasant staff, lovely evening meal and great selection for breakfast. When collecting my car on return journey, quick efficient staff in bar restaurant provided good fish and chips to spur me on my journey north.

Ms Hall, 05 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

we have stayed in many riu hotels before and always enjoyed our stays but we found the riu helios paradise in Bulgaria a disappointment. the staff were friendly but not very motivated. The food was not great mostly tepid rather than hot.

Mr Young, 05 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

All highly satisfactory, and everyone very helpful, but on our return from holiday the taxi firm was very busy and we had a wait of approx. 50 minutes to be taken back from the airport (Gatwick) to collect our car (Russ Hill Hotel)

Mr Stazicker, 02 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The staff were really helpful , but the room was awful ,no windows, just a sky light, really hot even with a fan supplied.Tv did not work, but it was changed .

Mr Ellis, 01 Jul 2018

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Hotel in lovely setting and parking very convenient. Food was fine, room adequate albeit a little small and could not open window. WiFi only in public areas.

Mr Davies, 30 Jun 2018

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Viewing reviews 51 - 100 of 1608

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 27-10-2019, valid as of 25-08-2019