Reviews of Russ Hill Hotel at Gatwick Airport

Russ Hill, Charlwood, Surrey RH6 0EL

Book the Russ Hill Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 1612 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£34.00*
room-only
£45.00*
including 8 days parking
3 miles
from the airport
8/10
customer rating

Guests' reviews of the Gatwick Russ Hill

Our customers rated Russ Hill, on average, 8/10 (1612 reviews).

Viewing reviews 151 - 200 of 1612

everything was great will be back again next time we fly from Gatwick.

Ms Hayward, 19 Nov 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

All was ok apart from the carvery, The roast potatoes & vegetables were bought from frozen, not freshly prepared and the Yorkshire pudding was not home made.

Mrs Wedderburn, 17 Nov 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Horrible little room with no windows; only a sky light where we could not draw the blind (broken). We had to store our luggage in the bathroom as the bedroom was too small.

Mr Saunders, 17 Nov 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Carvery was excellent and very friendly and helpful staff. We felt the room needed an upgrade but the bed was very comfortable.

Mrs Ralph, 15 Nov 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The hotel was awful, we checked into our room which honestly felt like a prison cell, no windows, the room was so cramped we kept tripping over each other and the bed a VERY small double. We thought we'd head to the bar to escape, we asked for a beer and a glass of wine at 10pm to be told the bar had shut and they promptly put down the shutters. Even though there were other customers enjoying a drink. After a long drive this is not an ideal place to stay. I work for a recycling company and we recycle more up to date furniture that the bedroom was furnished with. I certainly wasn't expecting luxury but to be comfortable would have been nice. The only upside is that our car was still in the car park when we returned from holiday.

Miss Beeson, 15 Nov 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

We used the Russ Hill hotel before so we booked again for a night stay before our early flight out. The receptionist was polite and we were given a key to the room in minutes. they also arrange the taxi for the following morning then and there. Room was tidy and has coffee and tea facilities. We went to the pub Half Moon at Charlwood just down the lane for the evening meal. We did use the hotel bar on our return and we were very happy with the service.

Ms North, 14 Nov 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The whole process went very smoothly, the room a little on the small side, but had a good clean bed along with a good shower, what more do you want?

Mr Hunter, 12 Nov 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Very helpful that's why we keep booking with you

Mr Clutts, 08 Nov 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

All good.

Mrs Pearman, 03 Nov 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Hotel was fine for the night but did pay for the carvery which was awful but the pub meals looked good so would do that if used in the future

Mrs Hume, 03 Nov 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Hotel was fine for the night but did pay for the carvery which was awful but the pub meals looked good so would do that if used in the future

Mrs Hume, 03 Nov 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The food was cold and also the bed so so uncomfortable we did not sleep. We complained on the day but nothing to help us. The dinner in the evening was cold and also breakfast.

Miss Ridgley, 31 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

The food was cold and also the bed so so uncomfortable we did not sleep. We complained on the day but nothing to help us. The dinner in the evening was cold and also breakfast.

Miss Ridgley, 31 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Nice clean room good service and very good parking facilities.

Mr Edmunds, 29 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

we were very satisfied with the service & the car was safe as well.

Mrs Mcintyre, 29 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Ideal for a stop over before an early morning flight. Good parking area & a clean, tidy room.

Mr Williams, 30 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Everything was good service was excellent food was good made an easy start to our holiday

Miss West, 27 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Very smooth booking. Went exactly to plan. Staff friendly and helpful. Good food and nights sleep. Will definitely use again.

Mrs Woodcock, 26 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Beds were horrible, one of the male staff was rude and ignorant, woken up at half 8 in the morning with hoovering, we had just got in at 2 from a flight, corriders were full and i mean full of just bed sheets lying about everywhere, not tidily or anything, there was a window on the roof right above our bed and we couldnt shut it so felt really uncomfortable, we werent made to feel at ease at all, although the food at the pub was amazing i cannot fault that, there was no sauce left, asked the staff and there was non. Poor poor effort from the hotel and we wont be back unfortunatly

Mr Cunningham, 25 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Everything was very good other than the court yard lightning.

Mrs Parry, 24 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

This hotel needs serious room refurbishment, awful squeaky beds, tiles missing from bathroom, no fridge, antiquated TV. The car park after a 5 hour drive is a trial to find a space, it's cheap but would not book here again.

Mrs Wilson, 25 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Basic comfortable room. Very quiet. Good food options.

Mrs Dickens, 23 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Excellent service

Mrs Clarke, 20 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Although money has been spent on this Hotel much more needs to be done. The parking is a nightmare. If you are unlucky enough to get an upstairs room you are left to drag your own suitcases. No lift. In our bedroom the taps swiveled around and squeaked. You could hear people in other rooms. Not much sleep. We asked for an early morning call that never came. The food and beverage is either self service or served by people that have no command of English so all kinds of mistakes are made. Will not be returning.

Mr Henley, 21 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Very small room with window so high you had to climb on a dressing table to open it. Then at 5am the planes started. No double glazing Decorated maybe in the 60's very run down room with caravan panels for the divider between bathroom and bedroom. Bed pushed right against the wall Only good point was the staff

Mr Morris, 20 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Everything was good and satisfactory. Very Good value for money and extremely convenient. Staff very polite.

Miss Storace, 18 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

The bed was uncomfortable and the room was quite noisy. The waitress in the dining room looked untidy and I didn't like her manner. Our breakfast was only warm.

Miss Holmes, 19 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

We didn't have any information on the hotel accept the name & address so didn't know what to expect. The rooms were very basic & small. The curtains in my room didn't pull together, the bed & pillows were uncomfortable. there was a large step in to the shower/WC room. The shower had two narrow steps to get to it & nothing to hold on to (no hand rails).We weren't offered or asked if needed any help with our cases & bags which wood have been good as I was in a lot of pain & not feeling at all well. The only good thing the receptionist did was to book our taxi for the next morning. When we came home someone saw my dad struggling putting cases in car so helped him. Also the directions weren't very clear when printed map out mainly from when leaving M23 so look a long time to find the hotel.

Miss Barker, 18 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

The food was very poor. We did not receive our wake up call & the staff were very unhelpful about that. Just pointed to a disclaimer poster behind reception.

Mrs Hammond, 17 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

Staff very pleasant the accommodation did not state no windows and partner suffers with feeling closed in

Mr Aspinall, 16 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The hotel was dated and not very clean and the saved for us meal was appalling.dried up food was served and was disgusting .i won't visit this hotel again.

Mrs Hilton, 17 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
2 out of 5

room was no better than a broom cupboard very small and smelt musty bathroom small and had loose floor tiles

Mr Carter, 16 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Room was a little musty smelling amd the food was not as good as when we visited I May. But as usual holiday extras got us the best deal amd we would still stay and park there again

Mrs Hart, 15 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The "double room " was so small it was claustrophobic. It was difficult to move in the room without coming into contact with furniture, The bed was uncomfortable

Mr Thain, 12 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

Lovely hotel nice staff

Ms Farley, 12 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Parking area overhung by trees causing a lot of leaf and other debris to fall on car.

Mr Northcote, 11 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

Every thing was fine very basic but somewhere safe to leave our car whilst we were away

Mr Tame, 10 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

first class staff very good service excellent all round thank you.

Mr Ward, 07 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

everything was fine, no problems

Mrs Rogers, 07 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

I have just sent a long e mail to you on reply on our booking. Ive booked with you for years and will continue but not at Russ Hill. On our return our car was not only covered in mud as person in front must have wheel span out of space, our car with my husbands help and with a worker from hotel had to be dug out of the space and as if thats not bad enough at 2 in the morning the keys get locked in the car. Breakdown was called and lucky i was covered so took another half an hour to get into the car. I then find out we were parked illegally on historic ground and they have been warned before about this. Legislation does not allow this. We didnt get home till 6am this morning and we are exhausted and stressed after a perfect holiday. Ihave photos of our car , even though Laon a worker there washed it all of this is totally unacceptable. I would at least like a complete refund as well as compensation . I await your return to see what can be done

Mrs Scorey, 06 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Building was rather old & could do with a refurb but room was clean, tidy & comfortable.

Mr Mckinnon, 05 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Brilliant stay and the breakfast was wonderful. Taxi service also excellent.

Mrs Wilson, 06 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

The bed was the most uncomfortable bed ever, the mattress was in desperate need of replacing therefore we did not sleep at all.

Mrs Andrews, 06 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

The hotel car park was absolutely full with cars and I struggled to find a space. I was advised to park on some grass which was wet and muddy and led to me getting stuck. Thankfully the excellent duty manager and another member of staff got me out and I was allowed to park on ‘dry land’ in a place that actually said no parking. The hotel itself was basic but ok and served its purpose. I would seriously recommend that anyone booking makes sure they are guaranteed a dry parking space without having to search for it.

Mr Lewis, 05 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
3 out of 5

room so small that the bed was up against the wall meaning one person had to climb over the other to get in and out of bed, bathroom very small and the floor tiles were loose, small gap to get in and out of shower, badly in need of improvement unable to turn on the radiator

Mr Carter, 03 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

Room in annexed was cold damp & musty

Mr Lane, 03 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
1 out of 5

we were very pleased with our room and had a very nice meal in restaurant

Mrs Turner, 01 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
5 out of 5

Very pleasant staff, same bar wasn't open to serve coffee, tea or cold drinks after restaurant had closed for breakfast

Mr Durston, 01 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

The hotel was absolutely disgusting!!

Mrs Palmer, 01 Oct 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Staff were very helpful as we arranged to stay another night on return

Mr Reynolds, 30 Sep 2017

Russ Hill
4 out of 5

Viewing reviews 151 - 200 of 1612

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 22-12-2019, valid as of 19-10-2019