Manchester Britannia Stockport Reviews

Dialstone Lane, Offerton, Stockport SK2 6AG

Book the Manchester Britannia Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Good' by 181 guests

Families with young children:
Mature couples:
Young couples:
Solo Travelers:

(3 star hotel)
 
£39.00*
room-only
£69.00*
including 8 days parking
6 miles
from the airport
6/10
customer rating

Customer feedback

Our customers rated Britannia Stockport, on average, 6/10 (181 reviews).

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 181

The hotel was dirty and smelt of stale beer at the reception. The bathroom needed a thorough clean. Staff ok but nothing else

Mr Cayh, 17 Jun 2019

Britannia Stockport
3 out of 5

Hotel we stayed in was substandard, very dated. Food was disappointing. All staff were courteous and helpful. The parking service was excellent.

Mr Clee, 15 Feb 2019

Britannia Stockport
1 out of 5

Not really. When booking the hotel and airport parking, it was not made clear, that we would be driving approx 15-30 minutes to another hotel to park the car and then catch the shuttle bus. We had seen that there was a 20-minute transfer to/from Manchester airport, which was misleading. In addition, the organisation of the transfer back to pick up our car was a disaster. We were given a number to ring because our arrival was at approx 11 pm and the transfer service was then operated by a taxi company, not Britannia. When we rang, they said it was scheduled timetable and that we would not be able to make the first available at 11 pm, because our we didn't have our bags yet. So we booked on the 11:45 shuttle. We then waited outside (about 5-minute walk) the terminal. At about 11:10 pm, we had our bags and had managed to get out. When we rang to check whether we can still make the 11 pm transfer, the operator said, the shuttle had left and we had to wait. I was also assured that they would ask our shuttle driver to come a little early. Never mind early - it didn't arrive until 12 am! To make matters worse, I received a text message to say that my taxi had been dispatched at 11:42 pm. The text message contained a link to track it - when I followed the link, I was horrified, that it said "Booking Cancelled" in red. When the shuttle arrived, he had the wrong name for us - Walsh instead of Wales - but we were getting on it. Then we had to wait for another couple because they had gone to the wrong place to wait for the transfer. So we didn't leave until gone 12:10 am! We did not get into our hotel room until 1:30 am - exhausted and quite aggravated by the process. To make matters worse, I had asked one of the Club Cars taxi drivers who was picking other passengers at the airport, whether he could kindly check if our transfer was on its way. He just looked at me and asked: "Don't you have a mobile phone?". This was just plain rude, he didn't know what kind of day we'd had or what kind of miserable experience we were already having with his company. Nobody should be spoken to in such a manner. The only pleasant thing was that the night manager of the hotel was very kind to change our room to one closer to the entrance because he saw we had a lot of luggage!!! I did not make a note of his name, but this was the night of 27/28 December - at the Britannia Hotel Stockport. We didn't even ask for it - he was just lovely!

Mrs Wales, 03 Jan 2019

Britannia Stockport
3 out of 5

Hi, we arrived at the hotel and we were not pleased at all, the rooms were like a dormitory 2star at best. They knew nothing about the meal that was included in our reservation and told us that the restaurant was closed. We look forward to your speedy response about dealing with our complaint. This was not the best way to start a holiday, Kind regards, Ian Evans. Get Outlook for iOS From: Airport Hotels 4 U Sent: Saturday, January 27, 4:49 pm To: I EVANS Subject: Airport Hotel with parking confirmation - Z4YW9 Hotel With Parking Confirmation logo Thank you for booking with us. Full details of your booking are below. If you need to Amend anything on your booking or to Cancel this booking then you can do so anytime up to 24hrs before you travel. Your booking details Booking reference: Z4YW9 Booked on: Saturday, 27th January Name: I EVANS Flying from: Manchester Staying at Britannia Stockport with parking at Britannia Country House Checking in Sat 1st December Rooms 1 x Double (2 adults) Overnight Parking at Hotel From Sat 1st December To Sun 2nd December Parking with: Britannia Country House (for 1 car) Parking from: Sun 2nd December at 12:30 am Parking to: Thu 13th December at 11:30 pm Car Registration: HE07HCE (change) Plus your upgrades: Two-course dinner for 2 adults on Sat 1st December Total paid: £99.00 This transaction will appear on your credit card statement as www.hxpayments.com We've included all the information you might need for your trip at the bottom of this email Please enable images to show this barcode View booking Amend booking Cancel this booking It's not too late to upgrade - Just one-click to buy and NO credit card charges to add! English breakfast English breakfast from £7.50 pp Cot Cot FastTrack FastTrack from £5.00 pp European Travel Insurance European Travel Insurance from £12.00 pp Worldwide Travel Insurance Worldwide Travel Insurance from £22.00 pp Essential information for a hassle-free trip The day before you fly from the airport Just drive to the hotel and park in the car park. Your car will stay here overnight. In the morning you'll take it to the Britannia Stockport's sister hotel, the Britannia Country House, where it will stay while you're on holiday. You'll need to take a taxi or minibus from the Country House hotel to the airport. You can check into the hotel from 14:00. Here are your directions: - Leave the M60 at junction 27. - At the Portwood roundabout, take the A626 St Mary's Way towards Offerton and Marple. - Follow the A626 as it turns sharply left and becomes Spring Gardens, then Hall Street. - Turn left into Hempshaw Lane. - At the crossroads, turn right on onto Dialstone Lane. As you go down this road, you'll see the hotel on your left. The day you fly from the airport The latest check-out time at the Britannia Stockport is 11:00. Having parked overnight at the Britannia Stockport hotel, drive your car to the Britannia Country House Hotel. The journey takes around 20 minutes, so be sure to leave yourself enough time! Directions will be provided to you by the hotel. The hotel runs a 24-hour transfer to the hotel to the airport and back. It runs every 45 minutes, takes 20 minutes and is included in the price. You'll need to book the transfer at reception. On your return to the airport When returning home you will need to catch a taxi or minibus back to the hotel and collect your car. It takes 20 minutes and is included in the price. Hotel telephone number Hotel address D

Mr Evans, 17 Dec 2018

Britannia Stockport
1 out of 5

I didn't realise that we would be staying at one hotel and parking at another. The first hotel was lovely, however we decided to change the booking coming back to stay at the other hotel where the car was parked, just because we were landing at 00.45am, the room was a shoebox, very basic, and the lift would barely hold one person and a case

Mrs Bagshaw, 05 Oct 2018

Britannia Stockport
3 out of 5

The hotel where we stay the night before was very old and dated with Mold and mucky marks on pillows either had chewing gum stuck to walls . Worst place we have stayed wasn't a good start to our family holiday

Mr Johnson, 07 Aug 2018

Britannia Stockport
1 out of 5

The hotel staff was lovely but the hotel is dated, the walls were like paper and you can every bit of noise from the next room. We had to be moved as there was a disturbance in the room next room, by the time we got sorted it was time to go to the airport we may have well stayed at home

Miss Cluderay, 25 Jul 2018

Britannia Stockport
1 out of 5

Terrible service at the hotel & wouldn’t pick us up upon arriving back as we had misplaced our ticket

Mr Lawton, 22 Jul 2018

Britannia Stockport
1 out of 5

Receptionist was nice and polite, the room very dated but clean. The public areas stank of cigarettes. We had a 4am start so went to bed early but could not sleep because of the noise of people talking outside reception right under our window. When it got past midnight we phoned reception several times but got no answer, the talking and laughing was still going on when we left the room at. When we spoke to the man on the desk we realised it was his voice we'd heard all night. We never got the 4am call we asked for but I suppose keeping us awake all night satisfies that requirement. We lost most of the 1st day of our holiday because we were exhausted. On our return we phoned for the taxi and were told 15 mins we phoned again after 30 mins and were told that the driver had been and we were not their,when I argued about that he said that the driver had picked up someone else by mistake ,when I asked how as we have to show a receipt he started with other excuses eventually promising to talk to his manager to get us transport urgently. As soon as he hung up I got a text saying transport would be with us at another 30 mins. In the meantime we met another customer of yours going to the same hotel who had been waiting longer than us,he found one of your minibuses going to a hotel on the same road as the one we wanted so he got in it and refused to get out, the driver picked up a couple who had been waiting longer than all of us and after some discussion agreed to take us as well. We got to our car at just in time to join Manchester's peak traffic at which time I received a text from you informing me that you had just dispatched a driver and gave me a link to track him. Apart from the nice polite receptionist on arrival your entire service was abysmal you have us a nightmare start and end to our holiday.

Mr Leach, 08 Jul 2018

Britannia Stockport
1 out of 5

Britania stockport hotel was not very clean and I WOULD NEVER GO BACK AGAIN. Hotel room dirty and noisy

Mrs Jackson, 05 Jun 2018

Britannia Stockport
1 out of 5

Stay was fine, as expected. Room hellish warm with no way of turning off heating but as it was an overnight stay with an early start it didn't matter

Mrs Harris, 23 May 2018

Britannia Stockport
4 out of 5

Hotel was grubby and smelled we had paid extra for a two course meal which turned out to be a bar meal ! The hotel had a poo; area with hot Tub and sauna but we were told it was not included and would have to pay extra if we wanted to use them never had that before in a hotel !. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and hard . The included transfer to the hotel on the way to the airport the taxi driver kept telling us we would have to pay him but we did not . It spoiled the start to our mini break . Would not stay there again very disapointed

Mr Warwick, 12 Feb 2018

Britannia Stockport
1 out of 5

You booked us into a hotel we didn’t ask for 8 miles away from the one we wanted and it was a dump

Mr Brothy, 04 Jan 2018

Britannia Stockport
1 out of 5

No but the staff were really helpful

Mr White, 09 Dec 2017

Britannia Stockport
4 out of 5

Yes very smooth. Staff very helpful. Overnight hotel very clean but old fashioned

Mrs Barker, 07 Dec 2017

Britannia Stockport
5 out of 5

Very tired and tatty hotel with limited food choices.

Ms Wilson, 24 Nov 2017

Britannia Stockport
2 out of 5

It was dirty, uncomfortable and ages away from the airport

Mrs Burgess, 10 Nov 2017

Britannia Stockport
1 out of 5

Clean, comfortable, lots of hot water, friendly staff, smooth check in at hotel. Parking and transfers excellent. Good value.

Mrs Mcintyre, 26 Oct 2017

Britannia Stockport
5 out of 5

Two and a half hours transfers when it was sold to us as a 50 minute transfer

Mr Snowdon, 12 Oct 2017

Britannia Stockport
1 out of 5

Very good

Mrs Gate, 11 Oct 2017

Britannia Stockport
4 out of 5

The hotel room was dirty and very basic

Ms Whitehead, 08 Oct 2017

Britannia Stockport
3 out of 5

yes very helpful

Mr Norris, 04 Oct 2017

Britannia Stockport
5 out of 5

There was no hot water or heating on in the room I reported that to the manager who said it would be sorted by 8pm we went for our evening meal and a couple of drinks unable to freshen up or take a shower. When we returned to the room it had not been rectified so we just went to bed as we were up at 4am. I have emailed britannia customer service to be compensated. It was horrendous.

Mrs Walker, 01 Oct 2017

Britannia Stockport
1 out of 5

Didon't receive an early morning call Plus no towels in the room

Mr Leonardrobinson, 24 Sep 2017

Britannia Stockport
1 out of 5

Staff very helpful, but hotel disappointing.

Mrs Dorgan, 23 Sep 2017

Britannia Stockport
3 out of 5

Very noisy hotel all night no sleep and had to transfer to another hotel early in morning to leave car made an early morning into a very early morning and an exhausting day of traveling, it just didn't work out and won't be doing that again. Too far away from airport to make early morning flight transfer sensible.

Mrs Antill, 24 Sep 2017

Britannia Stockport
1 out of 5

Dirty room Horrible smell Damp

Mr Smith, 21 Sep 2017

Britannia Stockport
1 out of 5

Hotel was awful - hand prints on the wall, bath not even big enough for a person, sheets dirty, people next door laughing and screaming all night, constant drip in the bathroom, I have never stayed somewhere so awful, we left the room at 5 am. Transfer home as in taxi was 45 minute wait after a 8 hour flight. Not worth over £100 we paid. Received car back to have it completed covered in bird muck, it was horrendously dirty, could not see my windscreen. Never again

Ms Walker, 21 Sep 2017

Britannia Stockport
1 out of 5

All worked as advertised

Mr Lyons, 17 Sep 2017

Britannia Stockport
5 out of 5

Pleasant basic hotel and safe car parking. No issues with taxi pick up even though we had a 6 1/2 hour flight delay.

Ms Bates, 11 Sep 2017

Britannia Stockport
5 out of 5

I've been through you before and it was great but this time it was a nightmare, they made us move are car in the morning to another hotel , then when we got back home they dropped us of at the wrong hotel so we had to pay £17.00 for a taxi to the right one

Ms Sullivan, 05 Sep 2017

Britannia Stockport
2 out of 5

The beds were awful. Just protruding springs. Luckily we had to be up by 4am so absolutely no chance of oversleeping.

Mrs Morris, 04 Sep 2017

Britannia Stockport
2 out of 5

The hotel was a bit dated apart from that everything else was satisfactory. The staff were helpful and informed us exactly when we needed to leave to catch our transfer.

Mr Ali, 29 Aug 2017

Britannia Stockport
3 out of 5

Hotel is very basic, maybe could do with a refurb but was clean and did what it needed to do. Good for an overnight stay when you have an early flight.

Mr Riley, 25 Aug 2017

Britannia Stockport
4 out of 5

Everything went smoothly and on returning home it was very easy to arrange out pick up

Mrs Mann, 06 Aug 2017

Britannia Stockport
5 out of 5

The room was not great! the toilet in the room didn't flush at all!!! There were stains on the carpets and curtains. We waited over minutes at reception to check in and when the receptionist did arrive she was rude. To top off an already awful experience we were not informed about road closures in the area so couldn't even get to the sister hotel to park, called hotel and the staff were not helpful at all! Ended in driving to the airport and paying additional parking.

Ms Greaves, 04 Aug 2017

Britannia Stockport
1 out of 5

Just the hotel was very poor and had to drive else where to park the car ! And when the taxi came and picked us up we had to put suitcases on the back seat on top of the passengers as the car was too small for our party

Mr Grant, 24 Jul 2017

Britannia Stockport
1 out of 5

The hotel gave me instructions for the wrong hotel for car parking. When we got back to Manchester the hotel that was on the confirmation letter and the hotel that my car was at were completely different, it was only that we had a brilliant taxi driver who took us to several hotels that we were able to retrieve our car

Mr Hall, 19 Jul 2017

Britannia Stockport
1 out of 5

There seemed to be confusion with the car park location. My email confirmation stated Britania country house however another instruction stated Britania airport hotel. On my return from holiday, I took the transfer from manchester airport to Britania country house hotel. This was however the wrong hotel, it should have been Britania airport Hotel. This added time and cost to my journey as I required an additional needless taxi journey to pick up my car (all at:30pm). Hotel reception were unwilling to rectify the problem and provide transfer to correct hotel. All in all not the best experience. Will stick with standard airport parking in future.

Mr Brown, 17 Jul 2017

Britannia Stockport
1 out of 5

Rubbish hotel rubbish staff and rubbish food avoid at all costs

Mr Smith, 17 Jul 2017

Britannia Stockport
1 out of 5

The hotel was appalling and I have complained

Miss Higginson, 14 Jul 2017

Britannia Stockport
3 out of 5

Never again

Mr George, 12 Jul 2017

Britannia Stockport
1 out of 5

Room terrible, smelled of stale smoke, carpet in the room you would not want to put your barefoot on it.

Mr Alexander, 12 Jul 2017

Britannia Stockport
1 out of 5

everything was just fantastic

Mr Addinall, 05 Jul 2017

Britannia Stockport
5 out of 5

We where very happy with the hotel, taxi to the airport and the price.

Mrs Edwards, 05 Jul 2017

Britannia Stockport
5 out of 5

When originally searched for the hotel with airport parking was quoted £94 then when I searched again to book it only a few minutes later was quoted £104. Searched again using a friends phone and it quoted £94 (although still continued to quote me £104). Paid £94 using my friends phone but not happy with trying to be charged an extra just cos they probably realised I had searched for he product more than once! Bit of a rip off Was happy with the hotel and airport parking was a very good deal however the service once you've landed and are taken to the hotel to be picked up could be improved. Rang 1.25 in the morning to arrange transport to pick up car was told next pick up time was 2 however came 2.05 and was still waiting. Rang and just got told that they would send car and would be another-15 mins (they had plenty of time to send a car to pick up at 2 shouldn't have had to ring again to prompt them to actually send car)

Miss Woodall, 02 Jul 2017

Britannia Stockport
5 out of 5

We arrived at this hotel 9pm First room, bathroom floor flooded which we then informed staff Moved us to another room !! This room had NO quilt or pillows Now it was late, we were to be up at 3:30am for the airport Not happy, at all Who do we contact for a refund ??

Mrs Osborne, 29 Jun 2017

Britannia Stockport
1 out of 5

Facilities were very dated, uncomfortable and noisy. Kept getting woke up by moving furniture from another room. Staff on arrival were very helpful. Staff on leaving didn't even ask if we'd had a good stay.

Miss Thompson, 25 Jun 2017

Britannia Stockport
1 out of 5

Yes it all went to plan and I enjoyed my stay at the hotel staff were very helpful and I would stay again and use the service on my next holiday

Mr Dean, 20 Jun 2017

Britannia Stockport
5 out of 5

everything was fine

Mrs Wyer, 08 Jun 2017

Britannia Stockport
5 out of 5

Viewing reviews 1 - 50 of 181

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 15-09-2019, valid as of 16-07-2019