Customer Reviews for the Mercure Bowdon Hotel Manchester

Langham Road, Bowdon, Altrincham, WA14 2HT

Book the Mercure Bowdon

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 77 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:

(3 star hotel)
 
£64.00*
room-only
£81.00*
including 8 days parking
5 miles
from the airport
8.4/10
customer rating

Customer feedback

Our customers rated , on average, 8/10 (21 reviews).

Viewing reviews 1 - 21 of 21

Hotel is good with small bar and decent restaurant but many pubs and eateries in the local area. Easy acces to manchester Airport and Meet & Greet worked well. Would use again as very convenient for an early 9:00am longhaul departure.

Mr Armstrong, 07 Nov 2018

Mercure Bowdon
4 out of 5

Hotel accommodation was ok but decor and facilities were very tired. Issues with carpark booking details not being passed on the jetpark at Manchester airport, seems to be an ongoing problem but only an small inconvenience to sort at the barrier.

Mr Anthony, 27 Oct 2018

Mercure Bowdon
4 out of 5

as described

Mr Loughlin, 23 Oct 2018

Mercure Bowdon
5 out of 5

The hotel as really good but disappointed to be asked for an extra £6 for taxi pick up which I believe is something new at Manchester .and as we were leaving early there was no provision for breakfast which was not stated at time of booking ...the rooms were very good and reception staff helpful

Mrs Abbott, 23 Oct 2018

Mercure Bowdon
4 out of 5

Good hotel,pleasant staff,everything explained clearly.booked taxi transfers to and from airport for us.car park looked secure enough and car was ok upon returning. Very good breakfast next morning before flying.Would not hesitate to use again.

Mr Young, 11 Oct 2018

Mercure Bowdon
5 out of 5

One member of staff between bar and where else she was working was insufficient. Bedroom window handle had snapped off so was unable to close.

Mr Marr, 09 Oct 2018

Mercure Bowdon
3 out of 5

The hotel itself was nice and the facilities were as discribed, however the room was cramped and small. It felt a bit claustrophobic and it almost felt we were in the cellar. This area could certainly do with some work. When we arrived at Jet Parking, the barrier did not recognise my registration plate and neither did the attendant when I eventually got though the the assistance line. The attendant allowed us in and advised us to contact Holiday Extras as they had no information of our booking. I live chatted Holiday Extras who advised they had resent the confirmation to the car park and exiting shouldn’t be an issue. When exiting the car park on our return, there was actually a barrier, it was broken so left without knowing. As well as having difficulties entering the car park, it was extremely difficult to find a space; cars had been left on bends and in the yellow boxes!

Miss Smith, 08 Oct 2018

Mercure Bowdon
2 out of 5

Hotel was good even had an upgrade on the room. Glad we did express check in. Quese were Long in Manchester

Mr Wilkins, 05 Oct 2018

Mercure Bowdon
5 out of 5

The new jet parks 2 is horrendous. I've used jet parks for over 10 years and this is the first time I've considered never using again. Waited over 25 minutes for a transfer bus to turn up, then it took nearly half an hour to get to terminal 2, which seems criminal as it's across the road... Surface of car park is impossible to pull cases across being gravel and no spaces marked put so you've got people all over the place woth hardly at spare spaces to park. One plus was the barrier opened first time on entry... Considering your prices have increased somewhat, it's now worth the money parking in the multi story car parks rather than jet parks

Mr Sammut, 02 Oct 2018

Mercure Bowdon
1 out of 5

Easy to use service, good room, great price and all in transfers. Nothing to criticise at all.

Mr Hammond, 30 Sep 2018

Mercure Bowdon
5 out of 5

When the holiday begins with a morning flight from Manchester, it is much more convenient to have an overnight stay local to the airport rather than driving from Sheffield in the early hours. The bonus is the ability to leave your car at the hotel for the duration of the holiday and have the included taxi shuttle service to and from the airport. All at a reasonable cost.

Mr Smithson, 26 Sep 2018

Mercure Bowdon
5 out of 5

When the holiday begins with a morning flight from Manchester, it is much more convenient to have an overnight stay local to the airport rather than driving from Sheffield in the early hours. The bonus is the ability to leave your car at the hotel for the duration of the holiday and have the included taxi shuttle service to and from the airport. All at a reasonable cost.

Mr Smithson, 25 Sep 2018

Mercure Bowdon
5 out of 5

Small basic room was not value for money. There's no lift, which makes it awkward with suitcases. Thin walls - noisy rooms & no safe in room. No barrier on car park. The transfer to airport & back to hotel was very good.

Mrs Green, 23 Sep 2018

Mercure Bowdon
3 out of 5

Staff unhelpful, rooms very outdated, tv was broken in the room

Mr Alton, 21 Sep 2018

Mercure Bowdon
1 out of 5

The hotel and parking was great as were the staff but the airport transfer for both departure and arrival were shocking.

Mrs Gilpin, 17 Sep 2018

Mercure Bowdon
1 out of 5

Met our expectations

Mr Beresford, 10 Sep 2018

Mercure Bowdon
4 out of 5

had a nice 3 course meal on the night we stayed and a nice clean room taxi all sorted for us to & from the airport

Mr Riggall, 08 Sep 2018

Mercure Bowdon
5 out of 5

Hotel facilities good, clean and staff helpful. Parking changed from jet parks 1, to jet parks 2 prior to date of stay. Difficult to find jet parks 2 on the morning of parking due to roadworks and barrier for jet parks not working so cars were queued at enterance of parking therefore a delay was caused. Then it was difficult to find a space as the car park was very busy. I had left in good time, otherwise due to this experience I would have been late for my flight. I use holiday extras for airport hotels and parking frequently and have never had a problem but usually I stay at the hotel where my car will be parked for the duration of my holiday and I think I will likely continue to do this when booking again to avoid the hassle of parking the car prior to my flight.

Mrs Grieve, 21 Aug 2018

Mercure Bowdon
5 out of 5

As described. Parking for duration of holiday and 1 nights stay prior. Comfy room with tea/coffee facilities.

Mr Gotts, 12 Aug 2018

Mercure Bowdon
5 out of 5

very comfortable hotel parking easy at airport

Mr Edwards, 05 Aug 2018

Mercure Bowdon
5 out of 5

All ok except that we had to pay £6 extra apparently for Manchester pickup fees which we had to pay to the taxi driver who was completely ignorant taking us to the airport

Mr Smith, 26 Jul 2018

Mercure Bowdon
4 out of 5

I booked the meet and greet service at Manchester Airport which was excellent. Easy drop off and pick up

Mrs Tindall, 26 Jul 2018

Mercure Bowdon
5 out of 5

All ok except that we had to pay £6 extra apparently for Manchester pickup fees which we had to pay to the taxi driver who was completely ignorant taking us to the airport

Mr Smith, 25 Jul 2018

Mercure Bowdon
4 out of 5

Very little for children to do, not even a play park.

Mr Swan, 20 Jul 2018

Mercure Bowdon
3 out of 5

Good and relaxing start to break

Mr Griffiths, 19 Jul 2018

Mercure Bowdon
4 out of 5

Good and relaxing start to break

Mr Griffiths, 19 Jul 2018

Mercure Bowdon
4 out of 5

Good average, clean hotel. Car park on JetPark1 as expected. Regular shuttle service to airport.

Mr Ziltener, 15 Jul 2018

Mercure Bowdon
4 out of 5

Staff delightful. Parking facilities good. Food good. Hotel rooms require urgent re-furb.

Miss Yeates, 13 Jul 2018

Mercure Bowdon
4 out of 5

Everything went smoothly

Mrs Sefton, 09 Jul 2018

Mercure Bowdon
5 out of 5

You have put the price up by £40 we have always stopped at the same hotel and stopped in the long stay car park for £109.00 last year. I know you have taken over the parking with hotel, but why put it up by so much.

Mr Bassinder, 07 Jul 2018

Mercure Bowdon
3 out of 5

Extremely easy from start to finish, will be sure to use holiday extras again

Mr Brown, 07 Jul 2018

Mercure Bowdon
5 out of 5

Hotel & parking were fine but very disappointed to learn on return to UK that I would have to pay an additional £4 to the taxi firm before they would collect us at Manchester airport.

Mr Simms, 30 Jun 2018

Mercure Bowdon
2 out of 5

Awful hotel - with no lifts, poor signage, tired and dirty rooms with no air conditioning. Certainly did not walk around in bare feet and so glad we brought our own pillows. A truly dreadful start to our holiday!

Mr Lee, 26 Jun 2018

Mercure Bowdon
1 out of 5

Very helpful staff. Facilities as described Ate in restaurant very nice food. Good value package.

Mr Burton, 24 Jun 2018

Mercure Bowdon
5 out of 5

Everything was great. we would be happy to stay here again.

Mr Hodgson, 23 Jun 2018

Mercure Bowdon
5 out of 5

Hotel was comfortable but windows in the rooms were a concern with very young children. Staff were great.

Mr Barnfather, 09 Jun 2018

Mercure Bowdon
5 out of 5

room needs modernisation

Mr Jubb, 06 Jun 2018

Mercure Bowdon
3 out of 5

Been here before , will stay again

Mr Sheldon, 05 Jun 2018

Mercure Bowdon
4 out of 5

Very happy with everything

Mrs Sheppard, 01 Jun 2018

Mercure Bowdon
5 out of 5

Hotel not at all helpful at reception and the rooms must have very thin walls as we could hear so much noise from the neighbouring room. Not a great experience but at least it was only for one night!

Mr Bryant, 25 May 2018

Mercure Bowdon
1 out of 5

Everything went ok

Mr Maclagan, 19 May 2018

Mercure Bowdon
4 out of 5

All went well no issues and when we needed to change the booking this was carried out very smoothly with no problems will be using again when we go away in October

Mr Dutton, 12 May 2018

Mercure Bowdon
5 out of 5

Easy check in. Room as described. Perfect for airport.

Mrs Hardy, 07 May 2018

Mercure Bowdon
5 out of 5

On arrival parking was fine on return we were asked to pay.00 pound lots of confusion after a long flight and a 2 hour drive to get home disappointed to say the least.

Mrs Smith, 22 Apr 2018

Mercure Bowdon
5 out of 5

Hi, I have been using holiday extras for over ten years and have always found the service to be great and always recommend to others. Unfortunately, on arriving at the car park following our overnight stay at the hotel, we were unable to get through the barriers. The attendant advised us that our booking was for 6pm that day and as we were there early (our flight was to leave at 7:20am), we would be charged an additional £20. I put the flight numbers into my booking form and was surprised at this as I haven't encountered this issue before. So upon exiting the car park, we had an extra £20 to pay which I am not happy about considering we had already paid for our package and would not have booked it at that price. I do hope this can be reviewed as I do find Holiday Extras easy to use and convenient and I would like to continue using in the future. Thank you

Mrs Gurruchaga, 17 Jan 2018

Mercure Bowdon
2 out of 5

There is no shuttle bus at airport from T2 long stay car park to T1? Had to call and request a shuttle bus to take us to terminal 2 then walk, with a child who has cerebral palsy, autism, scoliosis and learning difficulties, through a very busy airport and, it took us over half an hour

, 15 Dec 2017

Mercure Bowdon
1 out of 5

We upgraded our room for the night. It was ok but a window that had been broken was covered with a piece of plywood and looked disgusting. And the en-suite was small and when you opened the door to get in, it was hitting the basin which halted the door making it hard to use easily and We did not get a free paper, and as the hotel was quiet we had to go and find somebody to serve us, to the point that we gave up and went out for a few drinks.

Mr Houghton, 10 Dec 2017

Mercure Bowdon
1 out of 5

We stayed one night and left the car at the hotel for 5 days. Cannot find fault with anything during our stay.

Ms Jones, 30 Nov 2017

Mercure Bowdon
5 out of 5

Hotel staff and facilities were very good but the taxi asked for £4 extra for car parking at the airport on our return to the hotel, this was not paid by us because it was all supposed to be included in the price we paid. Not happy about this!

Mr Twyford, 28 Nov 2017

Mercure Bowdon
5 out of 5

Viewing reviews 1 - 21 of 21

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 24-03-2019, valid as of 17-01-2019