Customer reviews for the Copthorne Effingham

West Park Road, Copthorne, West Sussex, RH10 3EU

Book The Copthorne Effingham Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 1060 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:

(4 star hotel)
 
£38.00*
room-only
3 miles
from the airport
8/10
customer rating

See what other holidaymakers thought

Our customers rated Copthorne Effingham, on average, 8/10 (1060 reviews).

Viewing reviews 51 - 100 of 1060

happy use again

Mr Theobald, 01 Nov 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Good hotel. No problems.

Mrs Osborne, 18 Oct 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Good hotel. No problems.

Mrs Osborne, 17 Oct 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

great overnight stay with parking for 10 days, great price great room and only 10 mins from Gatwick

Mr Kelly, 16 Oct 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Our second visit and will definitely book again. Booked three course dinner with stay so rather limited menu, would rather have paid supplement for the a la carte. Still very good food. Car failed to start on return, staff very helpful got me going in no time.

Mr Peake, 08 Oct 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

No hiccups. Very smooth. Would prefer not to have to leave key with hotel.

Mr Lough, 05 Oct 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Nice hotel. Good evening meal package

Mrs Connolly, 04 Oct 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

We stayed the night before travelling at the Effingham Park Hotel, Copthorne. The room was spacious, food both dinner and breakfast were good. Taxi was arranged for us by the staff for the following morning. Picking up the car at the end of the holiday was easy too.

Mr Robinson, 03 Oct 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Everything went like clockwork, would definitely book again.

Mrs Silk, 29 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Bar staff had no idea what they were doing or could talk English, we asked for a Rose’ spritzer and had literally a shot of wine too with lemonade and she charged us £8 I said I’m not paying that for a mouthful of wine, so I asked for the rest of the wine which she gave me a full glass separately?? No idea. When you add the extra for a meal you have no idea what you can have, it was a selected menu of 3-4 things none of which I could eat. Kind of pointless paying for a meal you have no idea what your having

Mr Croucher, 26 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Everything fine and worked smoothly

Mr Stobbs, 24 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Everything was fine

Mr Watkins, 23 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

It was ideal for one night on our return from holidays,it would also have been ideal for one night before going on holidays with the car parking.It was also very close to your parking site on the East Grinstead road I.e. very convenient. We arrived late at night so didn't have any time to enjoy the hotel itself - the staff were very obliging, and after parking my car ( almost midnight) they kept the bar open so we could have a drink. The room itself was large and comfortable- a family room- and I would have no problem recommending to anyone for a one night stay before or after traveling.

Mr Davis, 23 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

The keys to my vehicle were lost and it took over an hour on return to the hotel to find them. Not at all impressed with how they took care of my property!

Mr Smith, 22 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
2 out of 5

We have used the hotel many times now and are always pleased with everthing

Mr Stokes, 22 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Hotel was clean and comfortable and near to the airport. My only concern was not to park my car anywhere near the golf course fairways, as any damage sustained while the car is parked is at owners own risk. The shuttle service to the airport went well at a cost of £5 each. I have to say the hotel advises that there is no shuttle service back so on return journey took taxi as advised by hotel staff at £13 per trip. That was actually £18. All in all happy with our stay and wouldn’t have any problem using this hotel again.

Mr Rogers, 21 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Price was cheap. However, hotel had no knowledge of my booking when I arrived - had to wait around 45 mins to get checked in, not ideal when you have a flight to catch the next morning. Wouldn’t use again not a chance !

Mr Mcavoy, 16 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
1 out of 5

Through Holiday Extras my husband and I have used the Copthorne Effingham Park for a one night stay and one or two weeks parking, once or twice a year for about twenty years. A good start to our holidays whenever we fly from Gatwick. We are happy with the service especially the car parking facility. The hotel is dated but comfortable and we hope to continue using it for many years to come.

Mrs Proctor, 05 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Room was spacious and comfortable. £13.50 taxi each way to Gatwick for 4 people and 3 cases. Was about 10 mins journey. Very easy. Didn’t use the restaurant or bar area so can’t comment on that but the staff we did deal with where pleasant and efficient. Only minor thing was the pool was closed due to a problem and the pool was one of the main reasons we chose this hotel.

Mr Clifton, 02 Sep 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Stayed at the Copthorne Effingham twice in a month. Once with husband and again with a friend before flights.. The hotel was lovely, well kept, peaceful and welcoming. We opted for the 3 course evening meal as part of the package and could not fault the food.. excellent meal of very high standard and presentation was terrific.. will definitely use again.

Mrs Phillipps, 29 Aug 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Hotel nice 15 pounds each way for the taxi for 4 and was around 10 mins . Food price was ok drinks a little expensive and room good . Well worth the price

Mr Rogers, 26 Aug 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

We booked with the Cambridge hotel and immediately after booking we phoned the hotel as per the details on the confirmation and instead of receding hospitality we were faced with rudeness and arrogance, in fact the hotel blamed holiday extras for everything dismissed my reason for calling and put the phone down on me. Thankfully I have booked with holiday extras previously so I knew who to blame. I phoned holiday extras and you sorted out the hotel with professionalism and transferred us from the hotel to the copthorne effingham who were great.

Miss Gregory, 24 Aug 2018

Copthorne Effingham
1 out of 5

Good service, friendly staff who were very helpful Secure parking environment only 10-15 mins from Gatwick. Did not use shuttle bus as need to leave very early but staff ordered a taxi which was at a reasonable rate.

Mr Harris, 22 Aug 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Great hotel, lovely staff. Food in restaurant was excellent and good value. Parking very easy and straightforward. Pick up and drop off great. Shuttle service reliable, punctual and good value.

Mr Nash, 21 Aug 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

comfortable room helpful staff and evening meal and breakfast excellent

Mrs Paterson, 12 Aug 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Hotel was first class. Had delayed flight so didn’t arrive until much later than expected and hotel extended our check out time free of charge to allow us to sleep for a good 3 hours before having to drive home.

Mrs Hurley, 01 Aug 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Pleasant arrival staff , we were given a room which was already vacated and had to be given another one . Breakfast was nice and fresh. Location could have been a bit nearer airport but taxi available as bus hourly ? Overall ok.

Mr Jonest, 26 Jul 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Lovely hotel and we were upgraded to a club room by the receptionist which was a nice touch.

Mrs Butler, 21 Jul 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Copthorne Effingham is clean enough (just). In serious need of refurbishment !! Do not stay on a Friday or Saturday night. It gets noisy from the wedding venue attached.

Mr Fort, 20 Jul 2018

Copthorne Effingham
2 out of 5

Everything was very smooth. Wold use the hotel again.

Mr Dan, 18 Jul 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Rooms were dated . Very hot , as no air con ! Uncomfortable in the hot weather we had:-(

Mrs Kerley, 18 Jul 2018

Copthorne Effingham
2 out of 5

Will be coming to see you directly face to face soon for better one to one advice as I have used holiday extras regularly thank you

Mr Regan, 14 Jul 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Very noisy prom night outside our room not told at reception no sleep may as well of stayed at home in Colchester

Mr Paley, 15 Jul 2018

Copthorne Effingham
2 out of 5

Check in was quick and easy. Hotel was easy to find. Facilities at the hotel where brilliant and got the holiday off to a great start. Car was easy to find on return

Miss Farrall, 11 Jul 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Everything was just as it should. We only stayed the night to go to the airport in the morning and all went smoothly.

Mr Huxter, 10 Jul 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Excellent hotel and parking combined, the hotel food the night before was really good. Would recommend for sure.

Mr Moss, 09 Jul 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

All good

Mr Keegan, 07 Jul 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

The hotel was conveniently located with helpful staff. I had a lovely room and the surroundings were quiet. I eat in the sports bar where I found the menu varied and the food of good quality. The only negative was that you had to get a taxi back from the airport to the hotel as no shuttle bus was provided and this was rather expensive.

Ms Thompson, 30 Jun 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

All good - easy no hassle - happy

Mr Potter, 30 Jun 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Staff and room at Copthorn Effinghm was brilliant and the Evening meal was superb .. Thank You !!

Mr Hill, 22 Jun 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Average food and overpriced for both food and drink. Hotel bar closed until 6pm, reception bar dirty and staff indifferent. No atmosphere in any bars. Whole building very uncomfortable as too hot and air con not on. Not as good as other Copthorne a mile up the road. We’re told taxi back was £11 but taxi driver demanded £13.50. Will not stay at this one again.

Mrs Cleary, 17 Jun 2018

Copthorne Effingham
3 out of 5

Good service excellent value

Mr Wroblewski, 16 Jun 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

The choice in the restaurant was quite limited but the men loved the liver and bacon option. The staff were helpful throughout.

Mrs Holt, 15 Jun 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Hotel and parking went smoothly despite a last minute change of hetel which was not a problem and possibly a better hotel. Contact with staff member to agree the change was very courteous and helpful

Mr Crompton, 12 Jun 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Good all round experience

Mr Atkins, 07 Jun 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Straightforward and efficient check in. Ample parking available. Comfortable room. Good value.

Mr Smith, 03 Jun 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

When we arrived at the hotel (The Copthorne) at 1:30am after a4.5hr flight we were told the hotel was full! I had booked & paid for the room weeks before. NOT happy!!

Mrs Shaw, 03 Jun 2018

Copthorne Effingham
1 out of 5

Very nice hotel. Room was comfy and the restaurant was very good.

Mrs Kingstone, 31 May 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Hotel was as described, staff were friendly and we got upgraded to a larger room for free. Bus was £5 each instead of the £3 stated on the website and a taxi cost us £18 when coming back from the airport. Would recommend and use again if have an early flight from Gatwick.

Miss Antonelli, 28 May 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Great value for money as always

Mrs Yates, 22 May 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Viewing reviews 51 - 100 of 1060

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 16-02-2020, valid as of 15-12-2019