Customer reviews for the Copthorne Effingham

West Park Road, Copthorne, West Sussex, RH10 3EU

Book The Copthorne Effingham Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 1060 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:

(4 star hotel)
 
£38.00*
room-only
3 miles
from the airport
8/10
customer rating

See what other holidaymakers thought

Our customers rated Copthorne Effingham, on average, 8/10 (1060 reviews).

Viewing reviews 101 - 150 of 1060

Lovely hotel who went out of their way to ensure we had a good night's sleep and got to the airport comfortably :)

Mrs Humby, 21 May 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

My room booked had been occupied by an inconsiderate smoker who left a stench and after being refused a change was agreed by the manager

Mr Patel, 21 May 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Excellent service

Mr Gale, 18 May 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Well organised parking good room and helpful staff

Mrs Etheridge, 17 May 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Lovely room , excellent breakfast, good customer service.

Mrs Ott, 10 May 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Booked to stay for one night plus one week's parking

Mrs Darch, 10 May 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

The facilities were good as was the food we had although drinks were expensive. Staff were helpful and the shuttle and taxi worked well both ends of our holiday. Generally satisfied.

Mr Coombes, 10 May 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

This is a well located and good value for money hotel with a large car park. It is tired as a destination visit, but provides a very good pre-holiday service. Shuttle bus is easy, or a taxi is £13.50 to either Terminal. Local pubs for better food are plentiful.

Miss Smith, 10 May 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Hotel quite dated and in need of upgrading. Restaurant was fine and staff very good.

Mr Simpson, 04 May 2018

Copthorne Effingham
3 out of 5

We have stayed with Copthorn many times . We are always very pleased with the Hotel and Staff.

Mrs Colman, 03 May 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

So convenient and such good value for money for an overnight stay and car parking when flying from Gatwick airport.

Mr James, 04 May 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Many thanks holiday extras for making hotel/parking easy. Hotel good (but in need of updating) this we were informed was in progress. Staff excellent and breakfast (you couldn't fault it) was very tasty. Unbelievable the amount you could those from. Thank you once again

Mrs Allen, 02 May 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Hotel good . Staff good Ideal for night before flight, taxi service good both ways

Mr Drane, 01 May 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Everything went to plan,stayed many times at this hotel and always very pleased.

Mr Martin, 30 Apr 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Great stop over and parking for car . Second visit here !!

Mrs Fisher, 26 Apr 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Nice hotel and staff were very friendly

Mr Flynn, 24 Apr 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

After you turn into the hotel grounds the drive to the car park has very large and deep potholes which you have to dodge. Check in was painless except instructions regarding the car were missed, however very pleasant reception staff. The room was lovely, spacious and comfortable. The restaurant on the ground floor was empty, a pity as it looked lovely, the sports bar had more atmosphere and as you would expect with a sports bar tv screens everywhere it would have been nice to have an alternative area to eat and have a drink. Not to sound a killjoy but the seating in parts of the bar were very close to the pool table and table football being a nuisance for both people playing and diners/drinkers. However other that these point raised we would use this hotel again

Mr Sullivan, 20 Apr 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

After you turn into the hotel grounds the drive to the car park has very large and deep potholes which you have to dodge. Check in was painless except instructions regarding the car were missed, however very pleasant reception staff. The room was lovely, spacious and comfortable. The restaurant on the ground floor was empty, a pity as it looked lovely, the sports bar had more atmosphere and as you would expect with a sports bar tv screens everywhere it would have been nice to have an alternative area to eat and have a drink. Not to sound a killjoy but the seating in parts of the bar were very close to the pool table and table football being a nuisance for both people playing and diners/drinkers. However other that these point raised we would use this hotel again

Mr Sullivan, 19 Apr 2018

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Hotel and staff were very helpful. Facilities as described. Please note, you need to update the taxi costing from the airport to the Copthorne , Effingham, as paperwork shows £11 and it is now £13 with United Taxis.

Miss Qualey, 21 Mar 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Bar extremely expensive and a long wait for food.

Mrs Porter, 19 Mar 2018


3 out of 5

the best!

Mr Macmillan, 13 Feb 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

the best

Mr Macmillan, 12 Feb 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Very good value would definitely stay for a 3rd time

Mr Le Prevost, 06 Feb 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

very satisfied thank you

Mr Knight, 30 Jan 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Yes it was fine

Mr Lehmann, 20 Jan 2018

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

every thing was perfect staff were polite and helpful and rooms were good car parking excellent e

Mr Sandison, 14 Dec 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Everything very smooth. Lovely hotel and people. The only tiny thing that went wrong was they had to move our car and forgot to tell us! All ok though.

Mrs Mills, 29 Nov 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

yes yes yes

Mr Joyce, 28 Nov 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Everything went smoothly. It was an excellent deal. The room was dated but clean and spacious. A shower cubicle would have been a welcome addition rather than a shower over the bath with a cold soggy shower curtain. However the breakfast was excellent, the staff welcoming and all in all a pleasant stay

Mrs Kurvits, 28 Nov 2017


4 out of 5

Have stated here several times. Good hotel,attentive staff,excellent food.

Mr Hart, 25 Nov 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Very pleasant stay, rooms and staff excellent value

Miss Clarke, 21 Nov 2017


5 out of 5

Refurb rooms - very dated

Mrs Mcdonagh, 20 Nov 2017

Copthorne Effingham
3 out of 5

Stress free parking process, shall definitely use again.

Mr Lindsay, 17 Nov 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

The flat was dirty I had to go out and buy cleaning things. But other wise NOT TOO BAD.I will not bed going to that flat a

Mr Parker, 17 Nov 2017

Copthorne Effingham
1 out of 5

My fiancée and I were due to arrive at the hotel late as I had to work beforehand. I made an error whilst booking and selected the day after. We only noticed or mistake whilst travelling to the hotel. The receptionist was extremely unhelpful and stated that nothing could be done and we would need to pay another £84. It was a genuine mistake and there was availability in the hotel. Absolutely disgustig customer service.

Mr Jenkins, 16 Nov 2017


1 out of 5

Facilities dated - some carpets needed replacing and decor updating. Not all bars/restaurants open. Convenient place to stay close to airport though, good gym. Parking and shuttle good

Ms Holland, 13 Nov 2017

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Everything went very well

Mr Martin, 09 Nov 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Staff helpful, clean and comfortable room.

Mr Oldroyd, 06 Nov 2017


4 out of 5

Service and staff were very ,very good

Mr Jim77, 04 Nov 2017


5 out of 5

nice hotel, dated but comfy room.

Mr Bone, 04 Nov 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Everything at the hotel was fine from check in to check out. Nice hotel to stay at before you fly out on yours holidays.

Mrs Lees, 04 Nov 2017


5 out of 5

Great value for money good location

Mr Lowe, 03 Nov 2017


5 out of 5

Everything was lovely. Especially the food.

Mrs Sula, 03 Nov 2017


5 out of 5

Great value for money good location

Mr Lowe, 03 Nov 2017


5 out of 5

Everything was lovely. Especially the food.

Mrs Sula, 03 Nov 2017


5 out of 5

All OK, except the condition of my car on our return. Obviously the car had been moved, but the person doing so looked as though he had used exceedingly muddy boots to do so. The driver's side of the interior carpets & door sill were all caked with mud. Disgraceful.

Mr Hill, 29 Oct 2017

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

As usual it all worked fine Hotel was good car parking good. No problems

Mr Gresham, 28 Oct 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Staff very pleasant. Hotel tired looking. Rooms big.

Mr Foley, 25 Oct 2017


5 out of 5

Everyone was great everything went very smoothly

Mr Chapman, 20 Oct 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Every thing went to plan

Mr Martin, 18 Oct 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Viewing reviews 101 - 150 of 1060

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 16-02-2020, valid as of 14-12-2019