Customer reviews for the Copthorne Effingham

West Park Road, Copthorne, West Sussex, RH10 3EU

Book The Copthorne Effingham Hotel

Don't know your flight number? (Help me find my flight)

Help & support

Our Kent-based support team are friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help with a new or existing booking.

Exclusive email offers

Sign up for special offers direct to your inbox

Sign up now

We treat your privacy very seriously!

Customers' rating: Rated 'Great' by 1060 guests

Families with young children:
Families with teenagers:
With friends:
Mature couples:
Young couples:

(4 star hotel)
 
£38.00*
room-only
3 miles
from the airport
8/10
customer rating

See what other holidaymakers thought

Our customers rated Copthorne Effingham, on average, 8/10 (1060 reviews).

Viewing reviews 151 - 200 of 1060

Yes very helpful, thankyou, lovely nights sleep before embarking on good transfers to and from the hotel.

Mrs Bird, 18 Oct 2017

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

All great. Second time staying prior to flying from Gatwick and it won't be our last.

Mr Andrews, 17 Oct 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

We keep coming back as the service is flawless as usual. Cannot suggest anyways you could improve. Thank you

Mrs Gage, 16 Oct 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

All went smoothly, car picked up with no hassle after Holliday, hotel staff friendly and professional, hotel adequate for the price paid

Mr Gardener, 15 Oct 2017

Copthorne Effingham
3 out of 5

1. I couldn't push my suitcase across the room because the carpet was so worn out it bunched up under the wheels. 2. We couldn't turn the heating in the room off because apparently the boiler had broken. 3. The fire alarm kept going off because it was faulty. 4. We couldn't sleep because our room was above the front door and taxis would pull up and leave their engines running while they waited for air port passengers. 5. We booked a table in the restaurant where there were four other tables in use and it took the staff an hour and three quarters to serve us a one course meal.

Mr Janesolley, 13 Oct 2017

Copthorne Effingham
1 out of 5

Staff were helpful and facilities were suitable. One thing which was not made clear was that I could only have a meal from the fixed price menu if I had booked prior to arrival.

Mrs Zakrzewski, 10 Oct 2017


5 out of 5

Everything went very smoothly

Mr Martin, 10 Oct 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Parking and room all good just a little too far out for us

Mrs Horwell, 08 Oct 2017

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Took 15mins to check in at 2am in the morning as they were running manager reports, eventhough they knew 2 weeks earlier what time we were checking in. Could not get a drink as told bar was closed, not told if we could get room service.

Mr Drew, 08 Oct 2017

Copthorne Effingham
1 out of 5

The hotel is in a nice position and the evening meal was excellent. However the rooms are tired and the carpets are thread bear.It needs some TLC.It was ok for one night. The staff were help ful. Travel to the airport and return were excellent no problems

Mr Wyche, 07 Oct 2017

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Yes very good

Mrs Goldstein, 06 Oct 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Everything was as expected - I have used this horel several times and always a consistent quality offer for the price.

Mrs Taylor, 02 Oct 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

All went very well

Mr Longley, 27 Sep 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Everything went smoothly, even though we arrived at 2 am. No issues parking, found a space by the reception. Lovely room with large bathroom, comfy bed and even a fridge. Just a pity we had to get up at 5.30 for our flight so no time to enjoy it really. On return took a taxi to the hotel, car was parked by reception and ready to go. Would definitely book again.

Ms Blair, 27 Sep 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

This was a great hotel stay prior to flying from Gatwick. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpfull. We had a lovely room with a balcony and great views. The evening meal was very good and waiter/waitress staff were very attentive and friendly. The room was very clean and bed comfortable. Parking was easy and collection of our car after 3 weeks was fast and efficient. Our car had been moved but was fine with no damage. An overall great experience with no problems encountered at all. We would definitely stay here again without hesitation and use the parking facilities.

Mr Keegan, 27 Sep 2017


5 out of 5

Very poor parking

Mr Sharps, 27 Sep 2017


3 out of 5

Everything was% clean and very comfortable staff very pleasant they could not do enough for us

Mr Guihen, 26 Sep 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

We booked the 3 course meal which was diabolical, the staff were near useless. The room was to hot with no air con and only a fan in the cupboard which you could only place on the floor which was useless. When we arrived back to the hotel they had police cars everywhere as they had booked a boxing show which had escalated to everyone fighting it was very intimidating come back to that with no warning that this would disrupt our return. Will not book this hotel again

Mrs Cook, 25 Sep 2017

Copthorne Effingham
1 out of 5

Everything was very smooth. Facilities good but getting a bit old! Staff very helpful

Mr Binns, 23 Sep 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Fantastic room staff was so friendly and helpful would definitely stay again

Mrs Tansleys, 21 Sep 2017


5 out of 5

Only thing is there is not enough disabled bays as I find it hard to get in & out of my car.

Mrs Obrien, 21 Sep 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Everything ran extremely well, we were very pleased with our room and the hotel. We will certainly do this again as it is so convenient to park at the hotel and then have only a 15 minute transfer to the airport.

Mrs Williams, 22 Sep 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

every thing when very smoothly?

Mr Desai, 21 Sep 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

As regular guests with parking packages we found everything very satisfactory,comfy beds,rooms clean and tidy.The taxi service provided by united taxis was marred on the return journey as the driver went to the wrong terminal (north instead of south)and when we eventially arrived back at the hotel he charged us extra for his mistake.Which I was not happy about.

Mr Coles, 20 Sep 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

A far more pleasant way of starting your holiday and parking your car someone safe and secure for the duration. Friendly staff, very comfortable rooms and a great deal on dinner too.

Mr Cullen, 20 Sep 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Staff very helpful and hotel perfect for an over night stay. On arrival to pick up car one staff member told me he'd actually washed bird poo off my car!

Mrs Cunliffe, 20 Sep 2017

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

The hotel told us we had cancelled our booking and they were fully booked. Then they found us a room which was a small double. Went back to reception and they found us a twin which we booked. Food in restaurant was awful.

Mr Plant, 19 Sep 2017

Copthorne Effingham
1 out of 5

Insufficient car parking spaces. Difficult to get parked up. I had to part on uneven waste land. Very uneven. I hit the underside of my car. Luckily no damage. Hotel pleasant good value.

Mr Jones, 18 Sep 2017

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

We found the hotel easy to get to, taxi transfer was quick and easy. On return at 1 am the staff were pleasant and the room was comfortable. Car was close by and breakfast was tasty. Will use again.

Mr Hornby, 17 Sep 2017


5 out of 5

Better signage to show where to park the car would have helped. Otherwise staff were helpful and room comfortable.

Mrs Phillips, 17 Sep 2017


4 out of 5

The food in the resteraunt was very poor, followed by cold coffee, even after 3 attempts. The room, although large, had threadbear carpet, was last decorated maybe in th early eighties. Whilst we were there, there was a wedding going on in the conference room that kept us awake until 1am.I think the only thing they got right was the transfer. Never will I stay there again!

Mr Fort, 17 Sep 2017

Copthorne Effingham
1 out of 5

Booking very easy. Price was great. Room unfortunately was dark and dingy due to being lower ground. Had much better rooms on previous stays. Meal in restaurant was superb although limited choice.

Mrs Randall, 16 Sep 2017


5 out of 5

Effingham park is a lovely hotel, well located for Gatwick. However, the rooms are desperately in need of refurbishment, with threadbare carpet and tired decor.

Mr Dunstan, 16 Sep 2017

Copthorne Effingham
3 out of 5

The room was tired and looked like something out of thes. The location was very bad as it is the wrong side of the M23 making the journey to Gatwick about-40 minutes at 8am!

Mr Hobson, 16 Sep 2017


1 out of 5

Everything worked brilliantly well for us. We were happy that we booked your facility

Mr Okuonghae, 14 Sep 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Everything as expected and worked well.

Miss Jones, 14 Sep 2017


5 out of 5

Hotel rate a little expensive but hotel staff friendly and parking handy

Mrs Arnold, 13 Sep 2017


4 out of 5

Everything ran smoothly, however the rooms were very dated.

Mrs Williams, 13 Sep 2017


3 out of 5

The hotel lost my car key so when I returned from my trip I was stuck at their hotel until a spare key was sent from my home back in bath

Mr Hayward, 13 Sep 2017

Copthorne Effingham
1 out of 5

Left my van at the hotel for their 'secure' parking! 6 days into my honeymoon I am informed my van has had 2 of its doors stolen whilst in their care! I was then met with terrible attitude over the phone by the manager who could not understand why I was upset by this then promised the hotel would make a gesture of good will towards the repairs which was reiterated by email then they emailed my mother who was dealing with the issue whilst I am away to say that they would do nothing and take no responsibility for my van! AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ALL COSTS

Mr Ackrill, 11 Sep 2017


1 out of 5

We used the Copthorne Effingham for one night stay and two weeks parking and were pleased with our choice. Parking was easy. Car left on grounds of hotel and was not moved, we were able to take our keys with us. Room was large and comfortable. Bathroom was large,modern and very clean.

Mrs Laker, 10 Sep 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Good room and excellent value with very good taxi back up.

Mr Symonds, 08 Sep 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Good value overall @ £85 for a nights hotels, 8 night sale parking plus full English buffet breakfast. reception were very helpful and efficient. Breakfast buffet was superb Room was a good size with free internet.... Slightly remote to other pubs but within minute drive Taxi to from Gatwick airport £13.50 each way. All good

Mr Normanton, 07 Sep 2017


4 out of 5

It was so busy when we arrived that had to park our car on the side of the road. When we came back the car was still there although had a few issues when driving home, someone had messed with the radio and phone connection inside. Rooms in the hotel were very dated. Will not be staying again.

Miss Newbold, 07 Sep 2017


1 out of 5

Everything was great, staff helpful and room was lovely.

Miss Glover, 06 Sep 2017


5 out of 5

Rooms fine.we stayed before and after our holiday The reception staff need to liaise with the reception regarding the need to book a table .

Mr Viccary, 05 Sep 2017

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

They were ok

Mrs Jenkins, 04 Sep 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

Yes. Everything went to plan and all aspects at Copthorne hotel were as described.

Mr Smith, 04 Sep 2017

Copthorne Effingham
5 out of 5

The staff were very helpful but most of the hotel decoration seemed a little tired and dated. There were some places that were a little untidy/dirty looking.

Mrs Irwin, 03 Sep 2017

Copthorne Effingham
4 out of 5

Very old and tired, bar area non existent. Dining room acceptable. Bedroom old and miserable certainly not a quality if a four star hotel. Helpful staff.

Mr Broomfield, 03 Sep 2017


3 out of 5

Viewing reviews 151 - 200 of 1060

* Prices quoted are for stays on the 16-02-2020, valid as of 14-12-2019